January 21st, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
LAST STRANDLAST STRAND
Fresh Pick
CAPTIVE
CAPTIVE

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


New Year, Great reads for January 2021

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
To Joshua, Cadence is a mystery to unravel.


slideshow image
In war-torn Berlin, two lovers risk all to save endangered Jews.


slideshow image
The holidays are served up with some spice in this small-town romance featuring a woman who must maintain a secret identity and the man who begins falling for her.


slideshow image
Catching a kidnapper takes teamwork...and a St. Bernard.


slideshow image
PI Emma Djan investigates the death of Lady Araba, a Ghanaian fashion icon and social media celebrity


Empire City
Matt Gallagher

Washington Square Press
January 2021
On Sale: January 19, 2021
368 pages
ISBN: 150117780X
EAN: 9781501177804
Kindle: B07THD614P
Trade Size / e-Book (reprint)
Add to Wish List

Other Editions
Hardcover (May 2020)

Science Fiction

The author of the “urgent and deeply moving” (The New York Times) Youngblood returns with this bold and provocative novel following a group of super-powered soldiers and civilians as they navigate an imperial America on the precipice of a major upheaval—for fans of The Fortress of Solitude and The Plot Against America.

Thirty years after its great triumph in Vietnam, the United States has again become mired in an endless foreign war overseas. Stories of super soldiers known as the Volunteers tuck in little American boys and girls every night. Yet domestic politics are aflame. Violent protests erupt throughout the nation; an ex-military watchdog group clashes with police while radical terrorists threaten to expose government experiments within the veteran rehabilitation colonies.

Halfway between war and peace, the Volunteers find themselves waiting for orders in the vast American city-state, Empire City. There they encounter a small group of civilians who know the truth about their powers, including Sebastian Rios, a young bureaucrat wrestling with survivor guilt, and Mia Tucker, a wounded army pilot-turned-Wall Street banker. Meanwhile, Jean-Jacques Saint-Preux, a Haitian-American Volunteer from the International Legion, decides he’ll do whatever it takes to return to the front lines.

Through it all, a controversial retired general emerges as a frontrunner in the presidential campaign, promising to save the country from itself. Her election would mean unprecedented military control over the country, with promises of security and stability—but at what cost?

Featuring Gallagher’s “vital” (The Washington Post), “evocative” (The Wall Street Journal) prose, Empire City is a rousing vision of an alternate—yet all too familiar—America on the brink.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy