January 24th, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Janna MacgregorJanna Macgregor
Fresh Pick
THE ORDER
THE ORDER

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


New Year, Great reads for January 2021

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
To Joshua, Cadence is a mystery to unravel.


slideshow image
In war-torn Berlin, two lovers risk all to save endangered Jews.


slideshow image
The holidays are served up with some spice in this small-town romance featuring a woman who must maintain a secret identity and the man who begins falling for her.


slideshow image
Catching a kidnapper takes teamwork...and a St. Bernard.


slideshow image
PI Emma Djan investigates the death of Lady Araba, a Ghanaian fashion icon and social media celebrity


The Words I Never Wrote by Jane Thynne

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Jane Thynne:

The Words I Never Wrote, January 2021
Trade Size / e-Book (reprint)
The Words I Never Wrote, February 2020
Hardcover / e-Book
The Pursuit of Pearls, May 2016
Paperback
The Scent of Secrets, September 2015
Paperback / e-Book

The Words I Never Wrote
Jane Thynne

Ballantine Books
January 2021
On Sale: January 12, 2021
416 pages
ISBN: 1524796611
EAN: 9781524796617
Kindle: B07QWH8SSN
Trade Size / e-Book (reprint)
Add to Wish List

Other Editions
Hardcover (February 2020)

Women's Fiction Historical | Women's Fiction Time Slip

A chance discovery inside a vintage typewriter case reveals the gripping story of two sisters on opposite sides of World War II in this captivating novel for readers of Lilac Girls and The Women in the Castle.

New York, present day: On a whim, Juno Lambert buys a 1931 Underwood typewriter that once belonged to celebrated journalist Cordelia Capel. Within its case she discovers an unfinished novel, igniting a transatlantic journey to fill the gaps in the story of Cordelia and her sister and the secret that lies between them.

Europe, 1936: Cordelia’s socialite sister Irene marries a German industrialist who whisks her away to Berlin. Cordelia, feistier and more intellectual than Irene, gets a job at a newspaper in Paris, pursuing the journalism career she cherishes. As politics begin to boil in Europe, the sisters exchange letters and Cordelia discovers that Irene’s husband is a Nazi sympathizer. With increasing desperation, Cordelia writes to her beloved sister, but as life in Nazi Germany darkens, Irene no longer dares admit what her existence is truly like. Knowing that their letters cannot tell the whole story, Cordelia decides to fill in the blanks by sitting down with her Underwood and writing the truth.

When Juno reads the unfinished novel, she resolves to uncover the secret that continued to divide the sisters amid the turmoil of love, espionage, and war. In this vivid portrait of Nazi Berlin, from its high society to its devastating fall, Jane Thynne examines the truths we sometimes dare not tell ourselves.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy