June 3rd, 2020
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
PIVOTPIVOT
Fresh Pick
CLAIMED BY A STEELE
CLAIMED BY A STEELE

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Summer Kick-Off

Reviewer Application


June blooms with love and intrigue

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
He's DANGEROUS. She's DETERMINED. Their relationship is COMPLICATED


slideshow image
They give a whole new meaning to attorney-client privilege.


slideshow image
Sometimes you have to break a family to fix it.


slideshow image
When a child god goes missing, can two enemies unite to find her?


slideshow image
In the land of goblins, humans are a fairy tale…


slideshow image
Sparks fly between an L.A. career woman and a former Army Ranger in this delightful enemies-to-lovers romance


slideshow image
How secrets and differences can break—or bind—a family.


Anna of Kleve, The Princess in the Portrait by Alison Weir

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Alison Weir:

Katheryn Howard, The Scandalous Queen, May 2020
Hardcover
Anna of Kleve, The Princess in the Portrait, May 2020
Paperback (reprint)
Queens of the Conquest, September 2018
Trade Size (reprint)
Queens of the Conquest, October 2017
Hardcover
Elizabeth of York, December 2013
Paperback
Mary Boleyn, October 2011
Hardcover
Captive Queen, July 2010
Hardcover
The Lady in the Tower, January 2010
Hardcover
The Lady Elizabeth, November 2008
Paperback
Innocent Traitor, January 2008
Trade Size (reprint)
The Wars Of The Roses, July 1996
Paperback (reprint)

Anna of Kleve, The Princess in the Portrait
Alison Weir

Six Tudor Queens #4
Ballantine Books
May 2020
On Sale: May 5, 2020
Featuring: Anne
544 pages
ISBN: 1101966599
EAN: 9781101966594
Kindle: B07GMW5RT4
Paperback / e-Book (reprint)
Add to Wish List

Historical

The surprising and dramatic life of the least known of King Henry VIII’s wives is illuminated in the fourth volume in the Six Tudor Queens series—for fans of Philippa Gregory, Hilary Mantel, and The Crown.

Newly widowed and the father of an infant son, Henry VIII realizes he must marry again to ensure the royal succession. Forty-six, overweight, and suffering from gout, Henry is soundly rejected by some of Europe's most eligible princesses. Anna of Kleve, from a small German duchy, is twenty-four, and has a secret she is desperate to keep hidden. Henry commissions her portrait from his court painter, who depicts her from the most flattering perspective. Entranced by the lovely image, Henry is bitterly surprised when Anna arrives in England and he sees her in the flesh. Some think her attractive, but Henry knows he can never love her.

What follows is the fascinating story of an awkward royal union that somehow had to be terminated. Even as Henry begins to warm to his new wife and share her bed, his attention is captivated by one of her maids-of-honor. Will he accuse Anna of adultery as he did Queen Anne Boleyn, and send her to the scaffold? Or will he divorce her and send her home in disgrace? Alison Weir takes a fresh and astonishing look at this remarkable royal marriage by describing it from the point of view of Queen Anna, a young woman with hopes and dreams of her own, alone and fearing for her life in a royal court that rejected her almost from the day she set foot on England’s shore.

Six Tudor Queens

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy