August 2nd, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
NEAR YOUNEAR YOU
Fresh Pick
MURDER, SHE EDITED
MURDER, SHE EDITED

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Reviewer Application


August reads to excite you

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Sunshine Vicram is back!


slideshow image
He can’t resist a puzzle…


slideshow image
She lives for thrills. He’s tasked with keeping her safe…


slideshow image
The acclaimed Martha’s Vineyard series returns for more romance, drama, and intrigue!


slideshow image
The USA Today bestselling author of When We Believed in Mermaids returns with a tale of two generations of women reconciling family secrets and past regrets.


slideshow image
Two sets of lives, Coded messages, will history repeat itself?


The Vanishing Sky
L. Annette Binder

Bloomsbury Publishing
June 2020
On Sale: June 9, 2020
288 pages
ISBN: 1635574676
EAN: 9781635574678
Kindle: B082HYFX5M
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Other Editions
Trade Size (June 2021)

Historical


For readers of Warlight and The Invisible Bridge, an intimate, harrowing story about a family of German citizens during World War II.

"There was no shelter without her sons."

In 1945, as the war in Germany nears its violent end, the Huber family is not yet free of its dangers or its insidious demands. Etta, a mother from a small, rural town, has two sons serving their home country: her elder, Max, on the Eastern front, and her younger, Georg, at a school for Hitler Youth. When Max returns from the front, Etta quickly realizes that something is not right-he is thin, almost ghostly, and behaving very strangely. Etta strives to protect him from the Nazi rule, even as her husband, Josef, becomes more nationalistic and impervious to Max's condition. Meanwhile, miles away, her younger son Georg has taken his fate into his own hands, deserting his young class of battle-bound soldiers to set off on a long and perilous journey home.

The Vanishing Sky is a World War II novel as seen through a German lens, a story of the irreparable damage of war on the home front, and one family's participation-involuntary, unseen, or direct-in a dangerous regime. Drawing inspiration from her own father's time in the Hitler Youth, L. Annette Binder has crafted a spellbinding novel about the choices we make for country and for family.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy