October 20th, 2017
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
HER LAST GOODBYEHER LAST GOODBYE
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
EMERALD COAST

Schedule Call

Readers & 'ritas

Reviewer Application


Suspense, thrills and love in October Best Reads

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
If only life came with instructions.


slideshow image
There is nothing in the universe the cursed dragon, Falcyn, hates more than humanity . . . except Greek humans.


slideshow image
No bodices were harmed in this historical romance.


slideshow image
Together we'll save the world...Unless we kill each other first.


slideshow image
“The Wrath Is Coming.” But They Don’T Know Where—Or When.


slideshow image
PREORDER this sexy & emotional story about a single dad wild with grief and the strong survivor he hires as his nanny!


Stupid and Contagious

Stupid and Contagious, May 2006
by Caprice Crane

5 Spot
Featuring: Heaven Albright; Brady Gilbert
336 pages
ISBN: 0446695726
Trade Size
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Coming-of-age was never so funny..."

Fresh Fiction Review

Stupid and Contagious
Caprice Crane

Reviewed by Lissa Staley
Posted April 5, 2006

Contemporary Chick Lit

Heaven lost her job at a PR firm, so she's working as a waitress at a trendy New York City restaurant while she figures out what to do next. She's between boyfriends, although she plans to get married before she turns 27, due to her morbid obsession with celebrities who die young. She's trying to prepare herself for anything that might come up in life, but isn't looking for something in particular.

Brady just walked away from a rent-controlled apartment and a psycho ex-girlfriend. He meets his perky and pesky neighbor when Heaven brings over his mail, which she received by mistake but opened and read quite intentionally. Brady's small record label is struggling to compete in the major markets, but Brady is more concerned with his fabulous ideas for practical inventions, which other people keep stealing. Brady decides to track down the owner of Starbucks coffee to convince him to market Cinnamilk, a beverage flavored like the leftover milk from a bowl of Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal. When Heaven sees Brady's plane ticket in her mailbox, she decides to tag along on a cross-country trip that might just change everything.

Heaven and Brady are honest and hilarious characters who take turns sharing their version of this 20-something coming-of-age story. If you recognize the title of the book as song lyrics from Nirvana's Smells like Teen Spirit, you'll definitely get a kick out of this book. Written in he-said/she-said format, this novel includes many movie quotes and music references that reflect the best of Gen-X culture. Caprice Crane plays off of her celebrity parentage -- her mother is actress Tina Louise, who played Ginger on Gilligan's Island, and her father is Les Crane, who hosted a 1960s evening TV talk show -- and her own insider status as a head writer at MTV. Her enjoyable debut novel takes a hilarious snapshot of a generation through the lives, voices and romances of two new neighbors.

Learn more about Stupid and Contagious

SUMMARY

Twenty-six-year-old Heaven Albright is a failed PR executive turned embittered waitress. Twenty-nine-year-old Brady Gilbert is a struggling independent music producer with no bands and a get-rich quick product idea: "Cinnamilk"--a delicious beverage derived from leaving cereal in the bowl too long. What do these two people have in common? Not much--except for a shared dislike for one another as neighbors. You see, Heaven has an annoying habit of opening Brady's mail. The tide turns, however, when she rescues Brady from an awkward encounter with his psycho ex-girlfriend, sparking an unlikely friendship and a united quest to pitch Cinnamilk to the founder of America's biggest coffee chain. But will Brady and Heaven's fortune-seeking adventures also brew romance?


What do you think about this review?

Comments

53 comments posted.

Re: Coming-of-age was never so funny...

A very awesome blog post. We are really grateful for your
blog post. You will find a lot of approaches after
visiting your post. I was exactly searching for. Thanks
for such post and please keep it up. Great work href="http://livingimpressive.com/2016/05/take-care-
indoor-fountains/">how to take care of indoor
fountains

(Muneer Ahmed 9:07am December 27)

I've been contemplating composing an extremely tantamount
post in the course of the last couple of weeks, I'll most
likely keep it straightforward and connection to this
rather if thats cool. Much obliged href="http://www.mybreezylife.com/6-ways-to-create-the-
best-meditation-space-at-home/">meditation space

(
Muneer Ahmed 9:47am January 1)

Interesting post. I Have Been wondering about this issue.
so thanks for posting. Pretty cool post.It 's really very
nice and Useful post.Thanks href="http://paddleboardingtips.yolasite.com">Click for
more

(
Muneer Ahmed 9:54am January 1)

Grand Gangsters 3D Gold Hack is new TOOL created to make
the game easier for you. This generator work online and
NO need to install or download any software or programs.
href="http://www.journalhome.com/omegacientzit73">omega
juicer reviews

(
Muneer Ahmed 10:30am January 3)

I would really like to appreciate your appropriately
written article it's useful and your writing design helped
me to the idea without the difficulty. Thank you href="http://bit.ly/1Nm0DM2">Jual Amazon Plus
(
Toko Herbal Tradisional Veherba 2:24am January 24)

Nice post and keep always update, i like your blog href="http://obataborsiampuh.info/cara-menggugurkan-
kandungan" sl-processed="1">cara menggugurkan kandungan

(
Dini Sanjaya 4:09am January 24)

Your article had provided me with another point of view
on
this topic. I had simply no notion that things may work
with this way as well. Thank you for sharing your
perspective.
href="http://www.unionspringsal.gov/UserProfile/tabid/61/
userId/6832/Default.aspx">how to earn money on
instagram

(
Muneer Ahmed 6:02am January 25)

I think I have really come on the right place for getting
the perfect info, i have little info related about href="http://www.pakprogram.com/most-beautiful-black-frock-
dresses-embroidery.html">Black Frock Embroidery Dress

(
Samreen Arain 12:40pm March 6)

I think I have never seen such blogs ever before that has complete things with all details which I want. http://www.east-eldmam.com/2015/10/06/sofas-cleaning-company-in-dammam/ شركة تنظيف بالدمام
http://www.east-eldmam.com/2015/06/26/شركة-تنظيف-منازل-بالدمام-0548923301 شركة تنظيف منازل بالدمام
http://www.east-eldmam.com/2015/06/26/شركة-تنظيف-منازل-بالدمام-0548923301 شركة تنظيف شقق بالدمام
(
Hanaa Samir 9:12am May 5)

This is the kind of data I've long been attempting to discover. Much thanks to you for composing this data.http://www.east-eldmam.com/2015/10/06/sofas-cleaning-company-in-dammam/ شركة تنظيف بالدمام
http://www.east-eldmam.com/2015/06/26/شركة-تنظيف-منازل-بالدمام-0548923301 شركة تنظيف منازل بالدمام
http://www.east-eldmam.com/2015/06/26/شركة-تنظيف-منازل-بالدمام-0548923301 شركة تنظيف شقق بالدمام
(
Hanaa Samir 9:14am May 5)

I think it is the most interesting blog i have ever seen.http://www.east-eldmam.com/2015/10/06/sofas-cleaning-company-in-dammam/ شركة تنظيف بالدمام
http://www.east-eldmam.com/2015/06/26/شركة-تنظيف-منازل-بالدمام-0548923301 شركة تنظيف منازل بالدمام
http://www.east-eldmam.com/2015/06/26/شركة-تنظيف-منازل-بالدمام-0548923301 شركة تنظيف شقق بالدمام
(
Hanaa Samir 9:16am May 5)

If you've got been trying around for a fairly priced
building campaign to skyrocket your rankings within the
search engines, then we've the most effective answer for
you! With our Blogcomments packages we tend to develop an
extremely effective link building campaign! href="https://www.fiverr.com/martina99/do-manual-100-
high-authority-blog-comments-100-percent-do-follow">High
DA PA Backlinks

(
s Jaden 7:02am May 20)

Particular interviews furnish firsthand message on mart
size, industry trends, ontogeny trends, capitalist
landscape and outlook, etc. href="https://ostatus.org">Injustice 2 Hack
(
Muneer Ahmed 4:23am May 21)

Very good written article. It will be supportive to anyone
who utilizes it, including me. Keep doing what you are
doing – can’r wait to read more posts.href="https://chess4schools.co.uk/">chess sets
(
s Jaden 1:11pm May 25)

One of the worst things that can happen to people is the
fact they don't follow instructions. One of the bet
things you can do to protect people from the wrath of
other people is to make it difficult for them to creep in
your secrets and then worry about the problems they face.
(
Bethany Waytt 5:15am June 13)

One of the worst things that can happen to people is
the fact they don't follow instructions. href="http://www.essayinc.co.uk/" >essay writing
serrvice
.One of the best things you can do to
protect people from the wrath of other people is to
make it difficult for them to creep in your secrets
and then worry about the problems they face.
(
Bethany Waytt 5:17am June 13)

One of the worst things that can happen to people is
the fact they don't follow instructions. href="http://www.essayinc.co.uk/" >essay writing
service
.One of the best things you can do to
protect people from the wrath of other people is to
make it difficult for them to creep in your secrets
and then worry about the problems they face.
(
Bethany Waytt 5:19am June 13)

One of the worst things that can happen to people is
the fact they don't follow instructions
[url=http://www.essayinc.co.uk/]essay writing service[/url] .One
of the best things you can do to protect people from the wrath of
other people is to make it difficult for them to creep in your
secrets and then worry about the problems they face.
(
Bethany Waytt 5:22am June 13)

One of the worst things that can happen to people is
the fact they don't follow instructions
href="http://www.essayinc.co.uk/">essay writing
service

.One
of the best things you can do to protect people from
the wrath of
other people is to make it difficult for them to creep
in your
secrets and then worry about the problems they face.
(
Bethany Waytt 5:24am June 13)

One of the worst things that can happen to people is
the fact they don't follow instructions
of the best things you can do to protect people from
the wrath of other people is to make it difficult them
to creep in your secrets and then worry about the
problems they face. http://www.essayinc.co.uk/
(
Bethany Waytt 5:28am June 13)

I've been contemplating composing an extremely tantamount
post in the course of the last couple of weeks, I'll most
likely keep it straightforward and connection to this
rather if thats cool. Much obliged
http://sk.com.sg/
(
Muneer Ahmed 5:21am June 20)

3 Ways Technology Can Improve Education and Help People
Find Better Jobs
http://sloportal.net/3-ways-technology-can-improve-
education-and-help-people-find-better-jobs/
(
Muneer Ahmed 3:58am July 9)

K-Developedia (KDI) is an online database of resources on
Korea's socioeconomic development experiences.href="https://www.kdevelopedia.org/">kdi
(
Smart Khatri 1:43am July 20)

K-Developedia (KDI) is an online database of resources on
Korea's socioeconomic development experiences.
[url=https://www.kdevelopedia.org/]kdi[/url]
(
Smart Khatri 1:44am July 20)

K-Developedia (KDI) is an online database of resources on
Korea's socioeconomic development experiences.kdi
https://www.kdevelopedia.org/
(
Smart Khatri 1:45am July 20)

Great post i must say and thanks for the information.
Education is definitely a sticky subject. However, is
still among the leading topics of our time. I appreciate
your post and look forward to more. href="https://sites.google.com/view/home-
developer/builders-in-los-angeles">home builder los
angeles

(
Naeem Khatri 5:58am July 30)

Excellent Blog! I would like to thank for the efforts you
have made in writing this post. I am hoping the same best
work from you in the future as well. I wanted to thank
you for this websites! Thanks for sharing. Great
websites! [url=https://sites.google.com/view/home-
developer/builders-in-los-angeles]home builder los
angeles[/url]
(
Naeem Khatri 6:02am July 30)

I am really enjoying reading your well written articles.
It looks like you spend a lot of effort and time on your
blog. I have bookmarked it and I am looking forward to
reading new articles. Keep up the good work. href="https://nenitajwaleganxnd7.wixsite.com/home-
construction/custom-home-los-angeles">new home
builder

(
Naeem Khatri 8:21am July 30)

It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and
it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I
could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or
tips. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to
this article. I want to read more things about it! href="https://homeconstruction.yolasite.com/Home-Builder-
Los-Angeles.php">custom home los angeles

(
Naeem Khatri 8:45am July 30)

Many homework on the continual hunt along with offstage
on the road to winning. Definitely not attached, simple
to-fall as a result of wayside; And not investigation,
afterward into a path travel toward the black. href="https://coin-banks.com/">coin-banks exchange
(
Muneer Ahmed 3:52am August 1)

Many homework on the continual hunt along with offstage
on the road to winning. Definitely not attached, simple
to-fall as a result of wayside; And not investigation,
afterward into a path travel toward the black.
http://coin-banks.com/
(
Muneer Ahmed 3:52am August 1)

Much obliged to you so much Love your web journal.. ukrainian brides dating
(
Peter Jhon 7:23am August 4)

Much thanks to you a cluster for offering this to every one of us you really acknowledge what you are discussing! Bookmarked. It would be ideal if you additionally look for exhortation from my site =). We could have a hyperlink change contract between us! Rezi 35 49% KSH Holdings
(
Jack Man 12:50pm August 16)

I haven't any word to welcome this post.....Really i am inspired from this post....the individual who make this post it was an awesome human..thanks for imparted this to us. Tessensohn Residence Perumal Road
(
Peter Jhon 4:54pm August 17)

cool post and i like your post and your blog and i have
more information if you guys want cheap essays then hit
this link Visit
essaybox.co.uk

(
Essay Writng Help 5:21am August 19)

I just couldn't leave your website before telling you that I truly enjoyed the top quality info you present to your visitors? Will be back again frequently to check up on new posts. Tom
(
Jack Man 11:04am August 19)

Much thanks for the sharing! COOL.. Robert
(
Peter Jhon 11:47am August 19)

Exceptionally fascinating web journal. Alot of websites I see nowadays don't generally give anything that I'm occupied with, however I'm most definately keen on this one. Recently believed that I would post and let you know. Rivercove Residences Hoi Hup Realty
(
Peter Jhon 5:22pm August 24)

Your music is astounding. You have some extremely skilled craftsmen. I wish you the best of accomplishment. buy a star
(
Peter Jhon 2:19pm August 26)

Its an incredible joy perusing your post.Its brimming with data I am searching for and I want to post a remark that "The substance of your post is amazing" Great work. ukrainian brides online
(
Peter Jhon 4:13am September 2)

Superb article, a debt of gratitude is in order for assembling this! This is clearly one awesome post. Much obliged for the profitable data and bits of knowledge you have so given here. legacyarmour
(
Peter Jhon 9:31am September 23)

I have bookmarked your website, the articles are route superior to anything other comparative web journals.. a debt of gratitude is in order for an awesome site! hier klicken
(
Peter Jhon 6:39pm September 28)

I got what you mean , much obliged for posting .Woh I am upbeat to discover this site through google. http://wastedfett.com
(
Jack Man 2:36pm October 4)

This substance is composed exceptionally well. Your utilization of organizing when mentioning your focuses makes your objective facts clear and straightforward. Much obliged to you. mortgage calculator with balloon
(
Jack Man 12:56pm October 7)

href="https://uitvaartgeregeld24.nl/">coin-banks exchange
(
Geert De Jong 9:26am October 12)

HREF="https://uitvaartgeregeld24.nl/">uitvaartverzekeringA>
(
Geert De Jong 9:30am October 12)

href="http://uitvaartgeregeld24.nl/">Uitvaartverzekering>
(
Geert De Jong 9:36am October 12)

Most people have their own plans and expectations for
their life and they are always concerned with the same.
It has been the case of this woman also. Some really
crazy thoughts have been shared here. keep sharing more
interesting articles like this.
href="http://www.parisguidedtour.com">www.parisguidedtour
.com

(
Lionel John 7:01am October 13)

I am unable to read articles online very often, but I’m glad I did today. This is very well written and your points are well-expressed. Please, don’t ever stop writing. Buy subwoofer
(
Jack Man 6:22am Sunday)

Thank you very much for this amazing article! Internetagentur Frankfurt
(
Erik Roj 7:13am Sunday)

Thank you very much for this amazing article! Webdesign Offenbach
(
Erik Roj 7:15am Sunday)

thanks for reviewing
dragon ball
super

(
Kolbeinn Wojciech 11:23pm Monday)

Companion, this site may be fabolous, i simply like it. will writer
(
Jack Man 11:08am Tuesday)

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

 

Fresh Fiction contests

© 2003-2017 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+