December 9th, 2016
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
CASKET GIRLCASKET GIRL
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
GOD BLESS US EVERY ONE

Fresh Fiction Awards Finalists

Reviewer Application


Holidays and great reads in December

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
It’s for her protection that he keeps the secret, but inside he’s dying to tell her.


slideshow image
He'll challenge the ultimate evil--for the woman he loves.


slideshow image
A second chance...to steal her heart.


slideshow image
The Marquis of Wythebury is expecting an ordinary Christmas—until he meets the mischievous Miss Prim


slideshow image
A crippling fear of the future is rooted in the past.


slideshow image
Their beautiful love and marriage will be tested to the limits through twists and turns before the dramatic final outcome readers will love.


Hand Me Down
Melanie Thorne


April 2012
On Sale: April 12, 2012
Featuring: Elizabeth Reid; Jaime
320 pages
ISBN: 0525952683
EAN: 9780525952688
Kindle: B005GSYYD0
Hardcover / e-Book
$26.95
Add to Wish List

Women's Fiction Contemporary

A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, Hand Me Down is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all.

Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents' cruel mistakes. Their father, who'd rather work the system than a job, pours every dollar into his many vices, denying his daughters the shoes and clothing they need. Their mother, once a loving parent, is going through a post-post-adolescent rebellious streak and finds love with a dangerous ex-con. When she chooses starting a new family over raising her first-born girls, Elizabeth and Jaime are separated and forced to rely on the begrudging kindness of increasingly distant relatives.

A string of broken promises that begins with Liz's mother swearing, "I would never hurt you, Liz. You're family," propels her between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult: to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances will cost her the ability to shelter Jaime. As Liz spirals into the abyss of fear and shame that haunts her sleepless nights, can she break free from her bonds in time to fight for her life?

Thorne writes with a command of language that is at once affecting and enticing. Her debut is the kind of voice-driven reading experience fiction lovers crave

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2016 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+