October 25th, 2016
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick

Schedule A Call

Reviewer Application

Spectacular Reads in October

Slideshow image

Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Psychiatrist Evelyn Talbot studies series killers... Her first mistake could be her last.

slideshow image
Finding Mr. Right means never breaking bending the rules.

slideshow image
Set in ancient Israel, DEBORAH RISING portrays the dramatic (and unlikely) rise of the first woman to lead a nation in recorded human history.

slideshow image
To be with the man of her dreams, she’ll have to face her worst nightmares…

slideshow image
Sometimes the only way through darkness is to return to where it began.

slideshow image
Sometimes the end is just the beginning...

Hand Me Down
Melanie Thorne

April 2012
On Sale: April 12, 2012
Featuring: Elizabeth Reid; Jaime
320 pages
ISBN: 0525952683
EAN: 9780525952688
Kindle: B005GSYYD0
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Women's Fiction Contemporary

A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, Hand Me Down is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all.

Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents' cruel mistakes. Their father, who'd rather work the system than a job, pours every dollar into his many vices, denying his daughters the shoes and clothing they need. Their mother, once a loving parent, is going through a post-post-adolescent rebellious streak and finds love with a dangerous ex-con. When she chooses starting a new family over raising her first-born girls, Elizabeth and Jaime are separated and forced to rely on the begrudging kindness of increasingly distant relatives.

A string of broken promises that begins with Liz's mother swearing, "I would never hurt you, Liz. You're family," propels her between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult: to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances will cost her the ability to shelter Jaime. As Liz spirals into the abyss of fear and shame that haunts her sleepless nights, can she break free from her bonds in time to fight for her life?

Thorne writes with a command of language that is at once affecting and enticing. Her debut is the kind of voice-driven reading experience fiction lovers crave


No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2016 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+