November 23rd, 2014
Home | Log in! or Register

Fresh Fiction
Good Morning Texas
We Connect On
Todays_Pick
Fresh Pick
Tim Cratchit's Christmas Carol
Jade LeeJade Lee
On Top Shelf
Sign up for Fresh Fiction News

Touching stories for the shorter days of November

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Balancing a new relationship with the growing demands of financial success.


slideshow image
Will they have a second chance at love? A new romantic comedy series, The Sweet Spot


slideshow image
What does it take to win the heart of a duke?


slideshow image
A gripping, emotional tale about real life magic that touches us all during the holiday season


slideshow image
Welcomes to Haven Point, a small town full of big surprises that are both merry and bright


slideshow image
When he begins the mating dance, her first instinct is to run.




Purchase

Kindle
Buy at WalMart.com

Add to Wish List


Also by Melanie Thorne:

Hand Me Down, April 2012
Hardcover

Hand Me Down
Melanie Thorne


April 2012
On Sale: April 12, 2012
Featuring: Elizabeth Reid; Jaime
320 pages
ISBN: 0525952683
EAN: 9780525952688
Kindle: B005GSYYD0
Hardcover / e-Book
$26.95
Add to Wish List

Women's Fiction Contemporary

A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, Hand Me Down is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all.

Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents' cruel mistakes. Their father, who'd rather work the system than a job, pours every dollar into his many vices, denying his daughters the shoes and clothing they need. Their mother, once a loving parent, is going through a post-post-adolescent rebellious streak and finds love with a dangerous ex-con. When she chooses starting a new family over raising her first-born girls, Elizabeth and Jaime are separated and forced to rely on the begrudging kindness of increasingly distant relatives.

A string of broken promises that begins with Liz's mother swearing, "I would never hurt you, Liz. You're family," propels her between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult: to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances will cost her the ability to shelter Jaime. As Liz spirals into the abyss of fear and shame that haunts her sleepless nights, can she break free from her bonds in time to fight for her life?

Thorne writes with a command of language that is at once affecting and enticing. Her debut is the kind of voice-driven reading experience fiction lovers crave

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2014 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+