April 28th, 2017
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
THE BEAR WHO LOVED METHE BEAR WHO LOVED ME
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
ECHO OF DANGER

Meet Us in Atlanta

Reviewer Application


Read some great books in April...you'll be blooming!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
If this shy electrician finds his spark, he might just be the man she’s always needed.


slideshow image
The only way he can save her is to help her save herself.


slideshow image
A new hope…


slideshow image
...will the secrets they’re keeping from each other tear them apart?


slideshow image
If only life were as simple as smiling for the camera.


slideshow image
Silver Springs...where even the hardest hearts can learn to love again.


slideshow image
You can't run from love...


Hand Me Down
Melanie Thorne


April 2012
On Sale: April 12, 2012
Featuring: Elizabeth Reid; Jaime
320 pages
ISBN: 0525952683
EAN: 9780525952688
Kindle: B005GSYYD0
Hardcover / e-Book
$26.95
Add to Wish List

Women's Fiction Contemporary

A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, Hand Me Down is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all.

Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents' cruel mistakes. Their father, who'd rather work the system than a job, pours every dollar into his many vices, denying his daughters the shoes and clothing they need. Their mother, once a loving parent, is going through a post-post-adolescent rebellious streak and finds love with a dangerous ex-con. When she chooses starting a new family over raising her first-born girls, Elizabeth and Jaime are separated and forced to rely on the begrudging kindness of increasingly distant relatives.

A string of broken promises that begins with Liz's mother swearing, "I would never hurt you, Liz. You're family," propels her between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult: to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances will cost her the ability to shelter Jaime. As Liz spirals into the abyss of fear and shame that haunts her sleepless nights, can she break free from her bonds in time to fight for her life?

Thorne writes with a command of language that is at once affecting and enticing. Her debut is the kind of voice-driven reading experience fiction lovers crave

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2017 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+