April 16th, 2014
Home | Log in! or Register

Fresh Fiction

Watch Us On

Good Morning Texas
We Connect On
Todays_Pick
Fresh Pick
Hard Time
THE GROOMs GAMBLETHE GROOMs GAMBLE
On Top Shelf
Sign up for Fresh Fiction News

April showers = Book Reading time!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Can he come home again to the Plain life?


slideshow image
Is sacrificing herself the only way to stop this evil?


slideshow image
Is Homecoming turns out more than new dresses…murdersacrificing herself the only way to stop this evil?


slideshow image
Vampires aren't real...or are they?


slideshow image
Is your first love worth a second chance?


slideshow image
Win it all, or lose it all




Purchase

Kindle
Buy at Barnes&Noble.com
Buy at Powells
Buy at Independent Bookstore


Add to Wish List


Also by Melanie Thorne:

Hand Me Down, April 2012
Hardcover

Hand Me Down
Melanie Thorne


April 2012
On Sale: April 12, 2012
Featuring: Elizabeth Reid; Jaime
320 pages
ISBN: 0525952683
EAN: 9780525952688
Kindle: B005GSYYD0
Hardcover / e-Book
$26.95
Add to Wish List

Women's Fiction Contemporary

A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, Hand Me Down is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all.

Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents' cruel mistakes. Their father, who'd rather work the system than a job, pours every dollar into his many vices, denying his daughters the shoes and clothing they need. Their mother, once a loving parent, is going through a post-post-adolescent rebellious streak and finds love with a dangerous ex-con. When she chooses starting a new family over raising her first-born girls, Elizabeth and Jaime are separated and forced to rely on the begrudging kindness of increasingly distant relatives.

A string of broken promises that begins with Liz's mother swearing, "I would never hurt you, Liz. You're family," propels her between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult: to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances will cost her the ability to shelter Jaime. As Liz spirals into the abyss of fear and shame that haunts her sleepless nights, can she break free from her bonds in time to fight for her life?

Thorne writes with a command of language that is at once affecting and enticing. Her debut is the kind of voice-driven reading experience fiction lovers crave

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2014 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Book Reviews Blog Directory Google+