June 19th, 2019
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Jennifer EstepJennifer Estep
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
HER ROYAL HIGHNESS

Reviewer Application

2019 Award Winners

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Celebrate June with Great Books!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
What does a fiercely independent young widow really want?


slideshow image
Some demons refuse to stay buried.


slideshow image
A trio of fun-seeking octogenarians on a bachelorette party in Las Vegas Ė What could possibly go wrong?


slideshow image
Protecting her is his jobÖfalling for her is unexpected.


slideshow image
Can a summer of love make up for a lifetime of secrets?


The Night Tiger
Yangsze Choo

Flatiron Books
February 2019
On Sale: February 12, 2019
384 pages
ISBN: 1250175453
EAN: 9781250175458
Kindle: B07FSHDT88
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Historical

From New York Times bestselling author Yangsze Choo, an utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee

Smart, vivacious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her motherís Mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin may finally get the adventure she has been hoping for.

Across town, 11-year-old houseboy Ren is on a mission of his own, racing to fulfill his former masterís dying wish: that Ren find the manís severed finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his masterís soul will wander the earth forever.

As the days tick by, a series of unexplained deaths wreak havoc on the town, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren are pulled together in ways they couldnít have imagined, as their increasingly dangerous paths lead them from lush plantations, to hospital storage rooms, to a ghostly dreamscape.

The Night Tiger draws us into a world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern ambition, sibling rivalry and forbidden love. But anchoring this dazzlingly ambitious, propulsive novel is the intimate coming of age of a boy and a girl, each searching for their place in a society that would rather they stay invisible.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+