May 30th, 2020
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
HUDSONHUDSON
Fresh Pick
DANGER IN THE DEEP
DANGER IN THE DEEP

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Summer Kick-Off

Reviewer Application


May Books to Delight

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
He's a kidnapper for hire...and he's just caught her.


slideshow image
For all no-mercy heroines over forty. It’s Not Too Late.


slideshow image
Read the Wild, Wild Regency everyone is talking about.


slideshow image
Garrett had an irresistible charm and Julia knew she was headed for trouble.


slideshow image
A perfect Mother’s Day story - free on KindleUnlimited


slideshow image
When missing turns to murdered, one woman’s search for answers will take her to a place she never wanted to go…


slideshow image
Opposites resist—and attract—under the Cancún sun


Rabid by Bill Wasik

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Bill Wasik:

Rabid, July 2012
Hardcover
And Then There's This, June 2009
Hardcover

Also by Monica Murphy:

Holidate, November 2019
e-Book
Fake Date, September 2019
e-Book
Save The Date, July 2019
e-Book
Pretty Dead Girls, January 2018
Hardcover
Saving It, November 2017
Paperback
Daring the Bad Boy, September 2016
Paperback
Never Let You Go, May 2016
Paperback
Never Tear Us Apart, January 2016
Paperback
Taming Lily, July 2015
Paperback
Fair Game, May 2015
e-Book
Stealing Rose, March 2015
Paperback
Owning Violet, December 2014
Paperback
His Reverie, August 2014
Paperback
Four Years Later, March 2014
Paperback
Savor, February 2014
e-Book
Three Broken Promises, January 2014
Paperback
Drew + Fable Forever, January 2014
e-Book
Second Chance Boyfriend, November 2013
Paperback (reprint)
Torn, November 2013
e-Book
One Week Girlfriend, September 2013
Paperback (reprint)
Crave, August 2013
Paperback
Second Chance Boyfriend, April 2013
e-Book
One Week Girlfriend, January 2013
e-Book
Rabid, July 2012
Hardcover

Rabid
Bill Wasik, Monica Murphy

A Cultural History of the World's Most Diabolical Virus

Viking Adult
July 2012
On Sale: July 19, 2012
240 pages
ISBN: 0670023736
EAN: 9780670023738
Kindle: B0072NWKG0
Hardcover / e-Book
$25.95
Add to Wish List

Non-Fiction

An engrossing and lively history of the fearsome and mythologized virus

In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Great Influenza, journalist Bill Wasik and veterinarian Monica Murphy chart the history, science, and cultural mythology of rabies. In the absence of vaccination— as was true for thousands of years, until the late nineteenth century—the rabies virus caused brain infections with a nearly 100 percent fatality rate, both in animals and humans, and the suffering it inflicted became the stuff of legend.

The transmission of the virus—often from rabid dog to man—reawakened a primal fear of wild animals, and the illness’s violent symptoms spoke directly to mankind’s fear of the beast within. The cultural response was to create fictional embodiments of those anxieties—ravenous wolfmen, bloodsucking vampires, and armies of mindless zombies.

From the myth of Actaeon to Saint Hubert, from the laboratories of the heroic and pioneering Louis Pasteur to a journalistic investigation into the madness that has gripped modern Bali, Rabid is a fresh, fascinating, and often wildly entertaining look at one of the world’s most misunderstood viruses.

Media Buzz

Studio 360 - March 9, 2013
All Things Considered - July 19, 2012

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy