November 11th, 2019
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Kathy LyonsKathy Lyons
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
DACHSHUND THROUGH THE SNOW

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Start your holiday reads in November

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Being naughty was nice, but now these friends-turned-lovers are in for an unforgettable Christmas...


slideshow image
Surviving the holidays will take a Christmas miracle...


slideshow image
Cozy animal mystery


slideshow image
She disappeared without a trace seven years ago, now he’s about to discover the secrets she’s guarded with her life…


slideshow image
Her holidays have never looked so promising...


slideshow image
A feel good romance that'll get you in the holiday spirit...


Rabid by Bill Wasik

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Bill Wasik:

Rabid, July 2012
Hardcover
And Then There's This, June 2009
Hardcover

Also by Monica Murphy:

Holidate, November 2019
e-Book
Fake Date, September 2019
e-Book
Save The Date, July 2019
e-Book
Pretty Dead Girls, January 2018
Hardcover
Saving It, November 2017
Paperback
Daring the Bad Boy, September 2016
Paperback
Never Let You Go, May 2016
Paperback
Never Tear Us Apart, January 2016
Paperback
Taming Lily, July 2015
Paperback
Fair Game, May 2015
e-Book
Stealing Rose, March 2015
Paperback
Owning Violet, December 2014
Paperback
His Reverie, August 2014
Paperback
Four Years Later, March 2014
Paperback
Savor, February 2014
e-Book
Drew + Fable Forever, January 2014
e-Book
Three Broken Promises, January 2014
Paperback
Second Chance Boyfriend, November 2013
Paperback (reprint)
Torn, November 2013
e-Book
One Week Girlfriend, September 2013
Paperback (reprint)
Crave, August 2013
Paperback
Second Chance Boyfriend, April 2013
e-Book
One Week Girlfriend, January 2013
e-Book
Rabid, July 2012
Hardcover

Rabid
Bill Wasik, Monica Murphy

A Cultural History of the World's Most Diabolical Virus

Viking Adult
July 2012
On Sale: July 19, 2012
240 pages
ISBN: 0670023736
EAN: 9780670023738
Kindle: B0072NWKG0
Hardcover / e-Book
$25.95
Add to Wish List

Non-Fiction

An engrossing and lively history of the fearsome and mythologized virus

In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Great Influenza, journalist Bill Wasik and veterinarian Monica Murphy chart the history, science, and cultural mythology of rabies. In the absence of vaccination— as was true for thousands of years, until the late nineteenth century—the rabies virus caused brain infections with a nearly 100 percent fatality rate, both in animals and humans, and the suffering it inflicted became the stuff of legend.

The transmission of the virus—often from rabid dog to man—reawakened a primal fear of wild animals, and the illness’s violent symptoms spoke directly to mankind’s fear of the beast within. The cultural response was to create fictional embodiments of those anxieties—ravenous wolfmen, bloodsucking vampires, and armies of mindless zombies.

From the myth of Actaeon to Saint Hubert, from the laboratories of the heroic and pioneering Louis Pasteur to a journalistic investigation into the madness that has gripped modern Bali, Rabid is a fresh, fascinating, and often wildly entertaining look at one of the world’s most misunderstood viruses.

Media Buzz

Studio 360 - March 9, 2013
All Things Considered - July 19, 2012

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy