February 26th, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
THE HANGMANTHE HANGMAN
Fresh Pick
THE MURDER CLUB
THE MURDER CLUB

New Books This Week

Fresh Fiction Box

Video Book Club

Leap Year Giveaways


Sweet Reads in February

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Rumors aren't the only thing that will stir when Abigail returns to Boone County, Texas.


slideshow image
From Loss to Love: A Pilot and an Artist's Colliding Worlds


slideshow image
Caffeine and Commitments: Stirring Up Love in San Francisco


slideshow image
"Her biggest fan �has a fatal obsession."


slideshow image
Bloodlines and Boardrooms: A Paranormal Romance of Power and Passion


slideshow image
A new, action-packed adventure that blends science-fiction technology and magical fantasy elements with a touch of historical romance.


Twenty-Seven Minutes

Twenty-Seven Minutes, February 2024
by Ashley Tate

Poisoned Pen Press
Featuring: Grant Dean; Phoebe
384 pages
ISBN: 1728278147
EAN: 9781728278148
Kindle: B0BZ9L7FGG
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"What really happened that night ten years ago?"

Fresh Fiction Review

Twenty-Seven Minutes
Ashley Tate

Reviewed by Evie Harris
Posted January 30, 2024

Thriller Psychological

It shouldn't be difficult to remember what happened during twenty-seven minutes. However, ten years ago Grant Dean was in an accident. His sister, Phoebe, died as a result of her injuries, but not immediately. She was badly injured, but alive. It was twenty-seven minutes after the crash before Grant called for help. Why the delay? Becca, another passenger, survived the crash. She didn't have total recall of what led up to the accident, nor the aftermath, but was so in love with Dean she believed his accounting of the events. There was another loss that night. June's brother walked away from their home and had not been heard from for ten years. Now, on the tenth anniversary of Phoebe's death a memorial service is scheduled. This will be an event no one will ever forget.
TWENTY-SEVEN MINUTES, a novel by Ashley Tate, is told in the voices of Dean, Becca and June. They are vividly and expertly brought to life. Having lived on the edge for the past ten years, they begin to unravel as the memorial approaches. The relationship between Dean and Becca verges on terrifying. June has suffered much loss and it has weakened her, but begins to gain strength from an unlikely source. 
Masterfully crafted, TWENTY-SEVEN MINUTES is an intense story whose characters have exploding emotions and symbiotic relationships. Present throughout the narrative is the impact of the horrible events of one shocking night. Just as important, however, is the history of the characters and as their secrets are revealed the story races to a shocking conclusion. 
I found this book to be gripping and provocative. Highly recommended.

Learn more about Twenty-Seven Minutes

SUMMARY

A must-read debut that marks Ashley Tate as a brilliant new voice in literary suspense." —Ashley Audrain, New York Times bestselling author of The Push

In this stunning and propulsive debut, a town grieves the loss of a young girl—but some fight to keep the truth about her death a secret. For fans of Jane Harper, Ashley Flowers, and Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng.

The question

For the last ten years, the small, claustrophobic town of West Wilmer has been struggling to understand one thing: Why did it take young Grant Dean twenty-seven minutes to call for help on the fateful night of the car accident that took the life of his beloved sister, Phoebe? If he'd called sooner, she might still be alive.

The secret

As the anniversary of Phoebe's death approaches, Grant is consumed by memories of that night on the bridge and everything he lost: his future, his reputation, his little sister. And the secret he's been keeping all these years is suffocating him. But he and Phoebe weren't the only ones in the car that night. Becca was there. She knows what happened—and she will do anything to help Grant keep his secret.

The truth

Everyone in West Wilmer remembers Phoebe, but only June remembers that another person was lost that night. Her brother Wyatt has been missing for ten years and now June is alone—no family, no friends. Until someone appears at her door. Someone who may know where Wyatt went all those years ago. Someone who knows what really happened on the bridge that night. Someone who is ready to tell the truth.

Taking place over three days and culminating in a shocking twist that will leave you breathless, Twenty-Seven Minutes is a gripping story about what happens when grief becomes unbearable, dark secrets are unearthed, and the horrifying truth is revealed.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy