February 23rd, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
LADY SCOTLADY SCOT
Fresh Pick
WELCOME TO THE HYUNAM-DONG BOOKSHOP
WELCOME TO THE HYUNAM-DONG BOOKSHOP

New Books This Week

Fresh Fiction Box

Video Book Club

Leap Year Giveaways


Sweet Reads in February

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Rumors aren't the only thing that will stir when Abigail returns to Boone County, Texas.


slideshow image
From Loss to Love: A Pilot and an Artist's Colliding Worlds


slideshow image
Caffeine and Commitments: Stirring Up Love in San Francisco


slideshow image
"Her biggest fan �has a fatal obsession."


slideshow image
Bloodlines and Boardrooms: A Paranormal Romance of Power and Passion


slideshow image
A new, action-packed adventure that blends science-fiction technology and magical fantasy elements with a touch of historical romance.


His Wicked Seduction

His Wicked Seduction, November 2014
League of Rogues
by Lauren Smith

Samhain Publishing
Featuring: Horatia Sheridan; Lucien
421 pages
ISBN: 1619228238
EAN: 9781619223783
Kindle: B00NQSZF4Y
e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"A thrilling tale of danger, honor, and, of course, seduction."

Fresh Fiction Review

His Wicked Seduction
Lauren Smith

Reviewed by Christina Fashant
Posted October 28, 2014

Romance Historical

At the tender age of fourteen, Horatia Sheridan fell in love. Two years later he broke her heart...but she never stopped loving him. Now, at the age of twenty, and facing the life of a spinster after two failed London Seasons, Horatia is determined that if she cannot have marriage to the man she loves, then she at least wants one chance at passion with him. But will her heart recover if she discovers that one taste is just not enough?

Lucien Russell, Marquess of Rochester, has always understood that the League of Rogues has rules. And Rule Number Two is non-negotiable: No member shall seduce the sister of another member. This rule has typically been enough to keep him from pursuing Horatia Sheridan, his best friend's younger sister, but when an old enemy resurfaces with threats against the Sheridan Family, Lucien is forced into the role of host and protector of the only woman he desires...the one he can never make his own.

This is a very character based story. The League of Rouges, in and of themselves, seem to exist as a single entity first and separate characters second. While this book revolves around Lucien and Horatia, readers learn more about Cedric, Charles, and Ashton as the story unfolds. The camaraderie between all of them (Godric and Jonathan, included) truly remains the heart of the over-arching story line as danger from the League's past rears its VERY nefarious head, calling for them to make decisions they would rather not.

The true delight of this story is Lucien's wild and unpredictable family. Particularly his colorful and meddlesome mother. Lady Rochester is every bit the strong literary matriarch. I would even go so far as to call her the "Mrs. Weasley" of Regency Romance. She rules over her five children with a firm, yet loving hand, but readily admits that they have too much of her in them to be truly controlled.

HIS WICKED SEDUCTION does also live up to its name by containing some very enticing love scenes that both thrill and intrigue. There is also an abundance of adventure, mystery, danger...and quite a few wounded heroes. Bottom Line: Fans of Julia Quinn and Eloisa James will truly love HIS WICKED SEDUCTION. Full of sly wit and smart comebacks, Lauren Smith has crafted truly captivating world.

Learn more about His Wicked Seduction

SUMMARY

Can the League’s most wicked rakehell be tamed? Or has this Rogue fallen too far? The League of Rogues, Book 2 Horatia Sheridan has been hopelessly in love with Lucien, her brother’s best friend, ever since he rescued her from the broken remains of her parents’ wrecked carriage. His reputation as London’s most notorious rakehell doesn’t frighten her, for under his veneer of cool authority she has glimpsed a man whose wicked desires inspire her own. Lucien, Marquess of Rochester, has deliberately nurtured a reputation for debauchery that makes every matchmaking mother of the ton quake with fear. His one secret: he is torn between soul-ripping lust for Horatia, and the loyalty he owes her brother. That loyalty is put to the test when an old enemy of the League threatens Horatia’s life. With Christmas drawing near, he sweeps her away to his country estate, where he can’t resist granting her one wish—to share his bed and his heart. But sinister forces are lurking, awaiting the perfect moment to exact their revenge by destroying not only whatever happiness Lucien might find in Horatia’s arms, but the lives of those they love. Warning: This book contains an intelligent lady who is determined to seduce her brother’s friend, a brooding rake whose toy of choice in bed is a little bit of bondage with a piece of red silk, a loyal band of merry rogues and a Christmas love so scorching you’ll need fresh snow to extinguish it.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy