April 2nd, 2020
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Jennifer EstepJennifer Estep
Fresh Pick
FURY UNLEASHED
FURY UNLEASHED

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


April showers us with great reads! Stay safe!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Who is the unconscious stranger who looks like her?


slideshow image
Chocolate: Earth’s only hope in a romantic scifi adventure.


slideshow image
A Civil War reenactment, a missing body, an ex-CIA agent and her renegade Girl Scout troop – what could go wrong?


slideshow image
He'll risk everything to save her


slideshow image
As girls, they bonded over broken homes and growing up in foster care.
As women, they're fighting for their lives, and loves, once more…


slideshow image
Revisit Harmony Harbor


slideshow image
Welcome to Blessings, Georgia, the best small town in the South!


If I Never Met You

If I Never Met You, April 2020
by Mhairi McFarlane

William Morrow Paperbacks
432 pages
ISBN: 006295850X
EAN: 9780062958501
Kindle: B07TD5CV8S
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Love in modern times"

Fresh Fiction Review

If I Never Met You
Mhairi McFarlane

Reviewed by Bharti C
Posted March 19, 2020

Romance Comedy

IF I NEVER MET YOU by Mhairi McFarlane is Laurie’s story, how she finds love after almost losing faith in it. Since she was 18 years old, Laurie has been in a loving relationship with Dan Price, who she met in college. Fast forward 18 years and she believes theirs is still a loving, happy relationship, but Dan has other ideas. Laurie is in a shock when Dan suddenly announces he wants to break up to find himself, feeding Laurie excuses about not being ready for marriage or having kids. The funny thing, however, is when Laurie discovers Dan is on the fast track to commitment and has a baby on the way with someone else. And so begins Laurie’s journey to come to terms with Dan’s betrayal, moving on from the breakup and finding love again, but not without some drama and revenge thrown in the mix. Will Laurie succeed is moving on and wishing that she had never met Dan or be a clichéd old cat lady? Grab a copy and find out for yourself - this book makes for a great read if you have been through the rigmarole of romantic relationship issues.

Overall, I enjoyed IF I NEVER MET YOU, but at times it felt the story could have been tighter and not quite so lengthy. This story addressed racial issues as part of the daily life narrative and did not create unexpected drama, which I appreciated. The characters were realistic and relatable. I especially liked Laurie and Jamie. Laurie is a strong heroine and I think she represents a version of today’s women many of us can accept and relate to as ourselves or someone we know. Jamie is the anti-hero who is villainous on the outside and a hero on the inside; the kind of hero who is extremely popular nowadays, in my opinion, as they are more themselves – confident and owning who they are fully. If you are on the lookout for a modern-day relationship story and do not mind a slow-burn romance, grab a copy soon.

Learn more about If I Never Met You

SUMMARY

Internationally bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane returns with another heartful romantic comedy perfect for fans of Josie Silver, Sophie Kinsella, or Sally Thorne.

If faking love is this easy... how do you know when it’s real?

When her partner of over a decade suddenly ends things, Laurie is left reeling—not only because they work at the same law firm and she has to see him every day. Her once perfect life is in shambles and the thought of dating again in the age of Tinder is nothing short of horrifying. When news of her ex’s pregnant girlfriend hits the office grapevine, taking the humiliation lying down is not an option. Then a chance encounter in a broken-down elevator with the office playboy opens up a new possibility.

Jamie Carter doesn’t believe in love, but he needs a respectable, steady girlfriend to impress their bosses. Laurie wants a hot new man to give the rumor mill something else to talk about. It’s the perfect proposition: a fauxmance played out on social media, with strategically staged photographs and a specific end date in mind. With the plan hatched, Laurie and Jamie begin to flaunt their new couple status, to the astonishment—and jealousy—of their friends and colleagues. But there’s a fine line between pretending to be in love and actually falling for your charming, handsome fake boyfriend...


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy