February 28th, 2020
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Kathy LyonsKathy Lyons
Fresh Pick
AN UNLIKELY AMISH MATCH
AN UNLIKELY AMISH MATCH

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Sweet Romance + Thrilling Intrigue = February Best Reads

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Night time can be frightening, especially when you’re all alone.


slideshow image
He wanted revenge but found love instead.


slideshow image
Some promises are meant to be broken, Some vows are forever…


slideshow image
Can the course that they’ve set for the future handle a slight detour...?


slideshow image
The famous bells are ringing a hero’s welcome when a former army captain returns home...


slideshow image
"A cracker of a read—her best yet!"—B. A. Paris


slideshow image
Trading favors, battling wills, and winning love


slideshow image
Bound by love. . .torn apart by secrets.


slideshow image
Will a blackout change everything for these unlikely lovers?


Ranger Defender

Ranger Defender, February 2018
Texas Brothers of Company B #2
by Angi Morgan

Harlequin Intrigue
256 pages
ISBN: 1335526196
EAN: 9781335526199
Kindle: B073P6WX6C
e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Angi Morgan's perfect book!"

Fresh Fiction Review

Ranger Defender
Angi Morgan

Reviewed by Monique Daoust
Posted January 16, 2018

Romance Suspense

Vivian Watts' brother Victor has been accused of a murder Vivian knows he didn't commit; she has only one week until Victor goes to trial. She appeals to the local Texas Rangers to look into the case one last time, and it doesn't take long for Wade Hamilton to notice that something is definitely not right. Wade asks his partner Slate Thompson to do the leg work because Wade can't because he's being punished and must mind the desks. Slate believes in Vivian's case, and it's soon obvious that someone wants Vivian out of the way permanently.

With RANGER DEFENDER, Angi Morgan proves that she is one of the giants of romantic suspense, emphasis on suspense because this is one of the strongest thrillers I have recently read, with the romance functioning as an organic part of the whole. While believable is a key word when thinking about RANGER DEFENDER, flawless is another: the plot is hermetically woven, very fast- paced, and the story is exciting from the very first page until the very last. The villain is as masterful a creation as they come: Ms. Morgan has crafted a disturbing psychopath with crippling OCD, and the author must have done a considerable amount of research to come up with such a villain who didn't induce one single eye-roll, but rather felt so real, it had me wondering how many of those people might be hiding among us.

Riveting doesn't even come close to how I felt about RANGER DEFENDER: I couldn't read quickly enough, yet I didn't want the book to end. Both Vivian and Slate are fabulous characters: they are normal, charming, rational, open-minded people, they work superbly as a team, and are ideally matched; I loved them both from the get-go. The secondary characters are also superbly fleshed-out, and the dialogues are simply outstanding. The romance angle is exploited to perfection by Ms. Morgan, from the romantic interludes to the pacing; everything is just right. The writing is eloquent, witty, and transparent; Angi Morgan has no ego: she lets her characters tell their story, and it is a wonderful thing to watch.

I have been a fan of Angi Morgan's for several years, and RANGER DEFENDER is without a doubt the best book she has ever written. RANGER DEFENDER is a must-read for fans of Robert Ludlum and Len Deighton. I still cannot believe what a fantastic book this is, try as I might, I wouldn't be able to find a single thing wrong with it. Angi Morgan's RANGER DEFENDER should be in the hands of everyone who enjoys thrillers of any type, because this is one of the finest ever written.

Learn more about Ranger Defender

SUMMARY

She needed a miracle.

She got a Texas Ranger.

Vivian Watts’s mission to prove her brother’s innocence has left her destitute and desperate. So when Texas Ranger Slate Thompson arrives with his knock-me-out blue eyes and belief in her case, she dares to hope again…until her apartment is burned to the ground. Slate offers refuge at his ranch, but when evidence suggests police corruption is at play, can he face down his own to protect her?


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy