September 20th, 2017
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
Sandra BrownSandra Brown
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
TOUGHER IN TEXAS

Schedule Call

Reviewer Application


New beginnings, new season to read in September

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
In an emotionally rich and captivating new novel, New York Times bestselling author Marie Bostwick reunites three sisters whose deep bond is rooted in an unconventional past.


slideshow image
"You aren’t going to like me very much."


slideshow image
A final battle looms and Emberly will need to command all her powers—or watch the world turn to ash….


slideshow image
He agreed to give her his genes...but didn't expect to lose his heart.


slideshow image
Meet your new royal obsession in this addictive novel from New York Times bestselling author Tracy Wolff.


A Momentary Marriage

A Momentary Marriage, August 2017
by Candace Camp

Pocket Books
Featuring: James de Vere; Laura
416 pages
ISBN: 1501141627
EAN: 9781501141621
Kindle: B01M3X666U
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"A MARRIAGE OF CONVENIENCE THAT TOUCHES YOUR HEART"

Fresh Fiction Review

A Momentary Marriage
Candace Camp

Reviewed by Pat Pascale
Posted September 9, 2017

Romance Historical

After many doctors and many diagnoses there is no hope. Sir James de Ville is dying. He is in his London apartment tying up loose ends before returning to his home, Grace Gardens. There, along with his faithful companion, a huge Mastiff, named Demosthenes, (the Seeker of Truth), aka "Dem".

He plans to enjoy his final days enjoying his beautiful gardens and countryside. He has just written a farewell note to his mistress and sent her a parting gift. His cousin Graeme is astonished at his coldness. He remarks on how ill James appears and encourages him to see Dr. Hinsdale, one of the brightest and up-to-date doctors in the area. His daughter, Laura, was once Graeme's love interest but James broke them up as he felt a doctor's daughter was not worthy of marrying Graeme. Instead, James introduced him to Abigail, a beautiful heiress and now his wife.

When James calls on the Hinsdale residence, Laura tells him her father died two weeks ago. Now in debt and homeless, James proposes a marriage arrangement of mutual benefit to both and Laura accepts. She will be a wealthy widow and he knows she will take care of his estate and treat his grasping and selfish family fairly.

Candace Camp is a sterling story teller. Her characters are so endearing especially handsome and charming, James de Ville, who has a dry sense of humor that will keep you laughing. A marriage of convenience, becomes a platonic relationship, that turns into a sweet friendship. Soon their physical attraction begins to sizzle and James introduces his bride to the art of making love. Laura is a caring wife and discovers why James is so ill and nurses him back to health.

A touch of mystery that this super sleuth did not solve is deftly woven into this regency romance that is five stars. With witty dialogue, sweet intimacy, this is a page turner that will have you reading into the night to the smashing climax. "Dem" is truly a pet hero that added to this thrilling tale of lies, betrayals, and second chances. A MOMENTARY MARRIAGE is one not to miss. It will touch your heart. It touched mine and I adored it!

Learn more about A Momentary Marriage

SUMMARY

New York Times bestselling author Candace Camp offers a delicious marriage-of-convenience story in this passionate historical romance, featuring her signature “clever and witty banter, sharp attention to detail, and utterly likable characters” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

James de Vere has always insisted on being perfectly pragmatic and rational in all things. It seemed the only way to deal with his overdramatic, greedy family. When he falls ill and no doctor in London can diagnose him, he returns home to Grace Hill in search of a physician who can—or to set his affairs in order.

Arriving at the doctor’s home, he’s surprised to encounter his daughter Laura, a young woman he last saw when he was warning her off an attachment with his cousin Graeme. Alas, the doctor is recently deceased and Laura is closing up the estate, which must be sold off, leaving her penniless. At this, James has an inspiration: why not marry the damsel in distress? If his last hope for a cure is gone, at least he’ll have some companionship in his final days, and she’ll inherit his fortune instead of his grasping relatives, leaving her a wealthy widow with plenty of prospects.

Laura is far from swept off her feet, but she’s as pragmatic as James, so she accepts his unusual proposal. But as the two of them brave the onslaught of shocked and suspicious family members, they find themselves growing closer. They vowed, “until death do us part”...but now both are longing for their marriage to be more than momentary in this evocative romance, perfect for fans of Sabrina Jeffries and Mary Balogh.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

 

Fresh Fiction contests

© 2003-2017 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+