December 18th, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
BOUND TO THE BEARBOUND TO THE BEAR
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
SOMEONE TO TRUST

Reviewer Application

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Yule Tidings -- Great Reads for December!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
It's Christmastime, but not everyone is jolly...


slideshow image
Coming home has never felt so good.


slideshow image
A storm is brewing . . .


slideshow image
Small-town life in Hazel Rock becomes a Texas-size crime scene when murder takes a page from Charli Rae Warren’s book club’s latest mystery . . .


slideshow image
A new tale of terror and magic in a brand new world.


slideshow image
“A tasty cocktail of sweet and sexy” ~ Publisher’s Weekly


slideshow image
When those Jared loves are threatened, he calls on magic to survive.


slideshow image
A spellbinding murder investigation amidst crises of faith...


The Darkest Corners

The Darkest Corners, May 2017
by Kara Thomas

Ember
352 pages
ISBN: 0553521489
EAN: 9780553521481
Kindle: B012KJXHQW
Trade Size / e-Book (reprint)
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Dark thriller full of unexpected twists and turns"

Fresh Fiction Review

The Darkest Corners
Kara Thomas

Reviewed by Debbie Wiley
Posted May 28, 2017

Young Adult Suspense | Thriller

Tessa Lowell didn't want to return to Fayette, Pennsylvania, but the imminent death of her father has her flying back to a place she hasn't seen since she was nine years old. Tessa's final memories of Fayette are not pleasant, as she and her childhood best friend, Callie Greenwood, testified in a very public serial killer case. Their friendship didn't survive the trauma and Tessa is reluctantly staying with the Greenwood family once again. Unfortunately, the events of the past are coming back to haunt Tessa and Callie. They will have to unravel what really happened almost ten years ago if they hope to survive.

Tessa is a very likable character, willing to admit both her strengths and her weaknesses. She's a great narrator for the story, as her confusion and guilt over the past events shines through quite clearly. I love that she wants to uncover the truth of what happened that horrible summer. Her relationship with Callie is strained, even shattered, at the beginning of THE DARKEST CORNERS and initially I was quite angry over Callie's attitude towards Tessa. However, Kara Thomas gradually reveals details that made Callie's behavior understandable.

THE DARKEST CORNERS delves into the darkest places in people's hearts. Kara Thomas crafts a tale that is quite horrifying, even more so when you realize the scenarios are frightfully realistic. My only complaint is that we had almost too many twists and turns, almost negating the impact of some of the very clever plot twists Kara Thomas has created.

THE DARKEST CORNERS is dark, twisted, and full of unexpected surprises. And the ending, oh the ending completely shocked me! Kara Thomas takes a serial killer case and turns it completely upside down, throwing at her readers one of the most unusual plot twists I've ever read in a book. I'm still not sure I actually liked the startling disclosures, but boy did they catch me completely off-guard! If you like thrillers full of shocking revelations, then look no further than THE DARKEST CORNERS.

Learn more about The Darkest Corners

SUMMARY

For fans of Gillian Flynn and Pretty Little Liars, The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become.

There are secrets around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about what happened there that last summer.

She and her childhood best friend Callie never talked about what they saw. Not before the trial. And certainly not after.

But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to what really happened, the closer she gets to a killer—and this time, it won’t be so easy to run away.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+