February 25th, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
SAY YOU'RE SORRYSAY YOU'RE SORRY
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
THE DRY WELL

Reviewer Application


Hearts and Love, great reads in February

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
THE DELANEYS OF SANDPIPER BEACH: A family business with room to grow.


slideshow image
So many frogs. So few princes.


slideshow image
Eloisa loves a Cinderella twist in her stories, and three short stories with this theme are digitally publishing in one volume!


slideshow image
Marie Bostwick weaves together the unforgettable story of four very different women whose paths cross, changing their lives forever…


slideshow image
When someone attempts to assassinate a Saudi Prince on U.S. soil, FBI Agent Kord Davidson and CIA Operative Monica Alden head up a task force to keep the Prince safe and find those responsible to avoid an international incident that could have devastating consequences.


slideshow image
Working late has its rewards


A Night In With Marilyn Monroe

A Night In With Marilyn Monroe, August 2016
by Lucy Holliday

Harper360
Featuring: Libby Lomax
400 pages
ISBN: 0008163332
EAN: 9780008163334
Kindle: B01BK7IOQI
Trade Size / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"In your dreams, you could have Marilyn Monroe give you relationship advice!"

Fresh Fiction Review

A Night In With Marilyn Monroe
Lucy Holliday

Reviewed by Sharon Salituro
Posted January 4, 2017

Humor | Women's Fiction

A NIGHT WITH MARILYN MONROE -- August

Libby was in a relationship until she found out the truth about the man so now she is going to stay away from all men, but then, of course, she meets someone new. Libby thought that she and Adam were the real deal but little did she know his big secret.

Libby also has this little problem: she sees movie stars. Marilyn Monroe has come to Libby's house, and even though Libby really can't believe this, sitting on her couch is Marilyn in all of her glory. So what else is she to do but carry on a conversation with Marilyn even though she knows no one is going to believe it.

Libby's best friend Ollie is in the process of opening a new restaurant and Libby is trying to do everything she can to help him. Ollie has always cared about Libby as they have known each other their whole life. Since, Libby doesn't seem to think of Ollie in the same way, Ollie sets his sights on Tash. While this is all going on, Libby's old boyfriend has come back into the pictures.

Every time Libby returns to her apartment there is Marilyn. Marilyn gives Libby tips on how to dress and how to act when she is with a man. Libby decides to take her advice and, boy, do things change.

A NIGHT WITH MARILYN MONROE was both funny and entertaining. I can't even image coming home and finding a movie star in my house. Much less having a conversation with them. This is the kind of book that Lucy Holliday writes, imaginative and yet real. I loved how Lucy gets so wrapped up in her conversations, that she even follows her advice. The story line was at times a little hard to believe but isn't this exactly what books are supposed to do, take you away from your everyday life.

This is what A NIGHT WITH MARILYN MONROE did for me. I could forget about what is going on in my life. I just sat and read it and put myself in Libby's life. Pretty funny. So if you want to read a book that really gets your imagination going, A NIGHT WITH MARILYN MONROE is the one for you.

Learn more about A Night In With Marilyn Monroe

SUMMARY

The hilarious follow-up to A NIGHT IN WITH AUDREY HEPBURN from your favourite new author. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Sophie Kinsella.

After dating the hottest man on the planet, Dillon O’Hara, Libby Lomax has come back down to earth with a bump. Now she’s throwing herself into a new relationship and is determined to be a better friend to best pal, Ollie, as he launches his new restaurant.

Despite good intentions, Libby is hugely distracted when a newly reformed Dillon arrives back on the scene, more irresistible than ever. And when another unwelcome guest turns up on her battered sofa in the form of Marilyn Monroe, Libby would willingly bite her own arm off for a return to normality.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

 

Fresh Fiction contests

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+