December 13th, 2017
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
Rebecca ZannettiRebecca Zannetti
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
A TEXAS CHRISTMAS REUNION

Holiday Giveaways

Reviewer Application

Readers & 'ritas


December brings fabulous reads!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Ex-NFL star + snarky single mom = a touchdown of a holiday romance


slideshow image
The vampires are coming... and this time, the lights won't stop them.


slideshow image
The owner of a delightful Southern café tastes the sharp sting of suspicion in this delectable comfort food mystery...


slideshow image
This holiday season, love is on the menu.


slideshow image
A Spartan heart can conquer anything, even myths, magic, and monsters.


slideshow image
There’s nothing like a firefighting cowboy to keep you toasty warm this Christmas...


The Ark Plan

The Ark Plan, May 2016
Age of Extinction
by Laura Martin

HarperCollins
368 pages
ISBN: 0062416227
EAN: 9780062416223
Kindle: B0141646VW
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Exciting start to a dinosaur series for middle grade readers"

Fresh Fiction Review

The Ark Plan
Laura Martin

Reviewed by Debbie Wiley
Posted June 25, 2016

Childrens

What if dinosaurs walked the earth once again?

Years ago, humans once inhabited the world topside with the sun shining down on them, but that was before the THE ARK PLAN was implemented to save the human race from the dinosaur threat. Dinosaurs were brought back from extinction by scientific engineering but unfortunately the dinosaurs took over, almost wiping out the human race. Now, humans live underground in compounds where the Noah oversees them and helps keep them safe.

Sky Mundy has survived as an outcast, keeping her head low while trying to unravel exactly what happened to make her dad disappear without a word five years ago. Life in the North Compound hasn't been easy for her, but Sky has one good friend she can trust- Shawn Reilly. However, an unexpected find sends Sky and Shawn on a quest, one that Sky hopes will help her find her father again. Can they survive topside in a world populated mainly by dinosaurs?

THE ARK PLAN is the first book in the Edge of Extinction series and boy, am I happy this is a series! Laura Martin has built a world with dinosaurs galore and who doesn't love a good dinosaur book or movie? I can easily envision this world where dinosaurs stalk the topside in the lush environment left behind after so many humans moved underground. We get hints of the power structure and I can't wait to learn more about this mysterious Noah.

Sky and Shawn are great main characters, although I have to admit that Todd is my favorite. Sky and Shawn are both a bit sheltered by their time in the compound, which leads to some scary as well as amusing moments. Todd, on the other hand, is well used to coping in a world with dinosaurs. I love his loyalty and determination even in the face of unthinkable circumstances.

THE ARK PLAN is an exciting start to the Edge of Extinction series! While intended for middle grade readers, THE ARK PLAN will appeal to older readers as well. Full of action and with great world building, THE ARK PLAN is a fun story that I can't wait to read to my nieces!

Learn more about The Ark Plan

SUMMARY

Jurassic World meets Dawn of the Planet of the Apes in this epic new middle grade series full of heart-pounding action and breathtaking chills!

One hundred and fifty years ago, the first dinosaurs were cloned. Soon after, they replaced humans at the top of the food chain. The only way to survive was to move into underground compounds. . . .

Five years ago, Sky Mundy’s father vanished from North Compound without a trace. Now she has just stumbled on a clue that not only suggests his disappearance is just the tip of an even larger mystery, but also points directly to the surface. To find her dad—and possibly even save the world—Sky and her best friend, Shawn, must break out of their underground home and venture topside to a land reclaimed by nature and ruled by dinosaurs.

Perfect for fans of Brandon Mull, Lisa McMann, and Rick Riordan, this exhilarating debut novel follows two courageous friends who must survive in a lost world that’s as dangerous as they’ve always feared but also unlike anything they could ever have imagined.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

 

Fresh Fiction contests

© 2003-2017 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+