May 27th, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
LUCIFERLUCIFER
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
IKE AND KAY

Reviewer Application

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Spring flowers, great May books to enjoy!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
What's a crown prince to do with time on his hands? Or better yet, who?


slideshow image
"A first-rate thriller," RT Book Reviews, Top Pick


slideshow image
Bound together by love and hate, Quinn and Eve will risk everything...


slideshow image
All work and no play make Jade a dull girl.


slideshow image
Sometimes it's the thing that scares us most, that ultimately saves us.


slideshow image
He's wagered and won her hand, but can he win her heart?


Her Last Breath

Her Last Breath, July 2013
Kate Burkholder #5
by Linda Castillo

Minotaur Books
Featuring: Kate Burkholder
320 pages
ISBN: 0312658575
EAN: 9780312658571
Kindle: B009LRWWCW
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"The Amish of Painters Mill, Ohio, are not immune to evil, tragedy or murder."

Fresh Fiction Review

Her Last Breath
Linda Castillo

Reviewed by Tanzey Cutter
Posted June 10, 2013

Suspense | Mystery | Inspirational Amish

On a dark and rainy night, Paul Borntrager is heading home from town with his three young children when their horse and buggy are broadsided by a speeding vehicle that leaves the scene and never calls for help. The horse, Paul and two of his children do not survive while the third youngster, David, is in serious condition when the local police arrive at the accident site. Police Chief Kate Burkholder is shocked to learn that her best friend from childhood, Mattie, is married to Paul and the mother of these three children. Now, it's Kate's task to inform Mattie of this devastating tragedy.

As the investigation proceeds, Kate uncovers evidence that the wreck was not an accident, but intentional. Who could possibly want to hurt this humble Amish family? It soon becomes apparent Kate is dealing with a devious murderer, but what is the motive? The deeper she delves into the lives of those involved, the more questions she has about the Amish way of life she rejected 15 years ago.

While investigating this case, Kate must also deal with the discovery of skeletal remains of a man found in an abandoned grain mill. After 17 years, will secrets from the past emerge to destroy Kate's peace of mind? Also at stake is Kate's shaky relationship with John Tomasetti, an agent with the Ohio BCI. The choices Kate makes concerning the elements at play in her life are some of the hardest she's ever faced.

HER LAST BREATH, Linda Castillo's fifth Kate Burkholder novel, is an intelligently written thriller with a deeply emotional plotline and believable characters. The action is fast-paced and gripping as the investigation progresses. Don't miss reading HER LAST BREATH, as well as all the other books in this fascinating series set in Ohio's Amish community.

Learn more about Her Last Breath

SUMMARY

An extraordinarily beautiful Amish woman, a dangerous femme fatale, is the central figure in a story that reveals a dark side of Painters Mill and its seemingly perfect Amish world

A rainy night, an Amish father returning home with his three children, a speeding car hurtling toward them out of nowhere.

What at first seems like a tragic, but routine car accident †suddenly takes on a more sinister cast as evidence emerges that nothing about the crash is accidental.† But who would want to kill an Amish deacon and two of his children? He leaves behind a grieving widow and a young boy who clings to life in the intensive care wing of a hospital, unable to communicate.† He may be the only one who knows what happened that night.

Desperate to find out who killed her best friendís husband and why, Kate begins to suspect she is not looking for a reckless drunk, but instead is on the trail of a cold blooded killer amid the residents of Painterís Mill.† It is a search that takes her on a† chilling journey into the darkest reaches of the human heart and makes her question everything she has ever believed about the Amish culture into which she was born.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

49 comments posted.

Re: The Amish of Painters Mill, Ohio, are not immune to evil, tragedy or murder.

This was a great article and I really appreciate you taking
the time to write it. I love the quality information that I
receive from this blog on a daily basis.
(Schuyler g 6:28pm March 15, 2016)

I love this post is very important for me i'll visite more
and more article , freshfiction give me other information
this is why i'm loving it thank you admin we waiting other
article new article thank you again !!!
(
Streaming Vf 3:07pm April 28, 2016)


(
Streaming Vf 7:02pm May 29, 2016)

I really enjoy simply reading all of your weblogs. Simply
wanted to inform you that you have people like me who
appreciate your work. Definitely a great post. Hats off
to you! The information that you have provided is very
helpful
..
iGloo App Review
iGloo App Bonus
iGloo Review
(
Alas Nguyen 12:16pm June 6, 2016)

nice website
(
Akshay Patel 3:39am July 31, 2016)

العاب
(
Jeux Banat Banat Jeux 8:25am August 15, 2016)

dhai hdahdadhaod
(
Diwali News 12:42pm September 26, 2016)

fvbgjh
(
Danny Ings 1:04pm November 26, 2016)

Lifetime hosting black
(
Danny Ings 1:05pm November 26, 2016)

Great Review Yaar Also Checkout Best Deals on†href="https://gosfsale.in/beauty-personal-care/">Beauty &
Personal Care

(
Vinay Grover 11:09am December 13, 2016)

Great Review Yaar Also Checkout Best Deals on†href="https://gosfsale.in/beauty-personal-care/">Beauty &
Personal Care

(
Vinay Grover 11:10am December 13, 2016)

Awesome Review Also Checkout Best Deals on†
https://gosfsale.in/beauty-personal-care
(
Vinay Grover 11:11am December 13, 2016)

That you could additionally edit these promotions as you
go, tweaking the knowledge that you have provided to get
better conversions over time.
http://datadollarsproreview.com/exact-model-review
(
Slam Sko 6:21pm December 14, 2016)

I am extremely delighted in for this web journal. Its a
useful subject. It help me all that much to take care of
a few issues. Its chance are so awesome and working style
so rapid. href="http://headquartersnumbers.com/netzero-message-
center-email-customer-service-phone-
numbers/">Headquartersnumbers.com

(
Muneer Ahmed 12:33pm December 15, 2016)

Overweight and obese people know that they must lose weight drastically or be faced
with serious health implications. Fortunately for most of them, it is easy to lose
weight these days, since there are a lot of weight loss techniques that have been
proposed recently. Before, losing weight meant having to skip meals or reduce the
amount of food being taken. These days, a lot of researchers and experts have
suggested various ways in losing weight.

http://thehalfdaydietplanbookreview.com/

http://thehalfdaydietreviews.com/
(
Mukesh Kumar 7:49am December 19, 2016)

href="http://thehalfdaydietplanbookreview.com/">http://th
ehalfdaydietplanbookreview.com/


I used to make smoothies with fruit juice and various
kinds of frozen fruit. Because only frozen berries are
safe on the candida diet, I can still have my smoothies,
but I now use almond milk to thin it out. You can taste
the almond flavor.Back in college, my friend, Stela, got
me thinking about nutrition. I was a dancer all my life
(I started when I was 4 years old), and I grew up eating
healthy foods, so I never had to think much about what I
put in my mouth. Stela, on the other hand, had been
struggling with weight issues since she could remember.
Growing up on pizza, take out Chinese food, and donuts,
Stela had no idea what she was doing to her body, until,
after years of crash diets that did nothing but
negatively affect her energy, mood, and sleeping
patterns, she decided to take a nutrition course in
college.


href="http://thehalfdaydietreviews.com/">http://thehalfda
ydietreviews.com/

(
Mukesh Kumar 12:04pm December 20, 2016)

There are many substances you can use as an ear infection
home remedy. Two of the most common causes for ear
infection are swimmers ear and tooth ache, which both
require their own remedies.
(
Joys Priscilla 1:15am December 20, 2016)

http://quantumvisionsystemreview.com/the-flat-belly-
overnight-trick-review/
If you are trying to achieve a flat belly, you are
probably doing some of the right food-related things
already, like watching your portions and avoiding junk
food. However, there are some foods that can make your
job a lot easier and let you see results a lot quicker.
http://autobinarysignalssoftwarereviews.com/flat-belly-
overnight-review/
(
Julie Addis 2:19am December 22, 2016)

In most cases, before making an arrest a police
officer must read this list of rights to the
suspect. It is called the Miranda warning because of the
1966 Supreme Court decision, Miranda v. Arizona. When
Ernesto Miranda was href="http://www.klekner.co.il/mamon/">הסכם
ממון
 arrested and questioned by the  police,
the information he gave them  was used against him
at his trial. This  was a direct violation of the
Fifth Amendment of the Bill of Rights. Miranda appealed,
claiming that his rights were violated


(
Steve Pet 5:40pm December 24, 2016)

href="http://lottodestroyersystemreview.com/">http://lottod
estroyersystemreview.com/

(
Julie Addis 6:47am December 26, 2016)

http://lottodestroyersystemreview.com/
(
Julie Addis 6:48am December 26, 2016)

http://lott
odestroyersystemreview.com/
(
Julie Addis 6:48am December 26, 2016)

href="https://sites.google.com/site/dannyreviewaz/targetr
-
review"target="_blank"title="Clicktojoinwhiteboard">targe
tr review

In order better to get acquainted with Latvian culture,
tours will be organized for students, as well as various
thematic events in the organization of which self-
government of Turiba Students will be involved.
(
Danny Ings 10:37am December 26, 2016)

-review">targetr reviewas well as various
thematic events in the organization of which self-
government of Turiba Students will be involved.
(
Danny Ings 10:38am December 26, 2016)

href="https://sites.google.com/site/dannyreviewaz/targetr
-review">targetr reviewmore people become concerned about health, food choices
are important in order to maintain a good and healthy
lifestyle. For
people who want to lose extra pounds, c
(
Danny Ings 10:39am December 26, 2016)

i read a considerable measure of stuff and i found that
the method for composing to clearifing that precisely
need to say was great so i am inspired and ilike to come
back again in future..
href="http://www.gizmoeditor.com/2016/10/gist-fountains-
mix-water-and-art.html">Gist Fountains Mix Water And
Art

(
Muneer Ahmed 12:37pm December 27, 2016)

href="http://eatstopeatbookreview.com">http://eatstopeatb
ookreview.com


Remember, a relationship is not necessarily about two
people always looking at each other, but about looking at
the same direction.The Trivedi Effect can play a vital
role in addressing and solving with relationship issues.
It has been known to transform the lives of thousands all
around the world by providing deep insight and valuable
perspective about relationships. Grace yourself with the
Trivedi Effect by Mahendra Trivedi and experience
transformation.



href="http://thelanguageofdesirebookreview.com">http://th
elanguageofdesirebookreview.com

(
Mukesh Kumar 4:45am December 28, 2016)

href="http://thelanguageofdesirebookreview.com">http://thel
anguageofdesirebookreview.com

(
Mukesh Kumar 4:46am December 28, 2016)

These worked in a unique way and pulled several thousands
from individuals whom were too ashamed at the thought of
cheating the lottery to come forward, but police have
been on the trail. How does it happen? Well, it's a con
job like many others. A person asks the victim to cash in
a winning lottery ticket because the holder cannot do so
for a variety of reasons. In order to cash it in though,
first the victim must pay a nominal fee and from there
cash in the ticket and split the money with the original
holder.

http://rapidrefluxreliefreview.io/

http://thelottocrushersystemreview.com/
(
Joys Priscilla 7:02am December 28, 2016)

This is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for
sharing this great article! That is very interesting
Smile I love reading and I am always searching for
informative information like this! href="http://www.blufftontoday.com/blog-
post/alisiawatson/2016-09-11/four-benefits-adding-
outdoor-fountain-your-pond-or-lake#.V9Z895grKUk">benefits
of adding outdoor fountain

(
Muneer Ahmed 3:36am January 2, 2017)

It has been shown to surely preclude the progression of Alzheimerís
and simply helped to lessen one of the crucial minor signs of the
disorder.

http://www.g1313g.com/toon-cup-game-2017/

http://www.g1313g.com/fire-and-water-games/

http://www.g1313g.com/saif-almarefa-game/

http://www.g1313g.com/subway-game/

http://www.g1313g.com/games-250/

http://www.g1313g.com/auto-theft-game/

http://www.g1313g.com/tag/ttt4/
(
Brayan Break 7:19am January 12, 2017)

http://rebuildhairprogramreviews.com/

No matter what your hair type or color, you could be the
victim of baldness. Men and women suffer from this often-
embarrassing condition. Many theories exist as to how
this can be combated. Diet, lotions and drugs alike are
touted as cures. One treatment that few are aware of is
minoxidil pills.

http://thesurviveinbedreview.com/
(
Joys Priscilla 7:14am January 13, 2017)

href="http://rebuildhairprogramreviews.com/">Rebuild Hair
Program


Men's hair loss affects millions of men, and you may be
one of them. By the time men are 35, about 75% will see a
noticeable reduction on their head. When you reach 50,
this number jumps to nearly 85%. If you are one of these
men, then there are things that you can do to keep it on
your head, and try to make sure that you don't lose any
more.

href="http://thesurviveinbedreview.com/">http://thesurviv
einbedreview.com/

(
Joys Priscilla 7:15am January 13, 2017)

this is a wonderful product to lose weight

http://4de789v7ibo4dw9-rkowvc39oy.hop.clickbank.net/
(
Aseel Abu Al-rub 8:51pm January 13, 2017)

nice post thank for shareing visit href="http://quaytrom.net/">my website†
(
Phim Vn 9:07am January 22, 2017)

nice post thank for sharing visit my website :
http://quaytrom.net/
(
Phim Vn 9:07am January 22, 2017)

maybe i should read this href="http://obataborsiampuh.info/jual-obat-aborsi">jual
obat aborsi

(
Dini Sanjaya 3:58am January 24, 2017)

maybe i should read this
jual
obat aborsi
(
Dini Sanjaya 4:04am January 24, 2017)

Nice post and keep always update, i like your blog href="http://obataborsiampuh.info/cara-menggugurkan-
kandungan" rel="nofollow">cara menggugurkan kandungan

(
Dini Sanjaya 4:11am January 24, 2017)

http://digitechcenter.com/easy-bonus-builder-review/
(
David Hessen 12:15pm May 2, 2017)

href="http://www.obatsakitpinggangtradisional.web.id/obat-
bronkitis-di-apotik/">obat bronkitis di apotik
href="http://glucolifeherbal.com/obat-pilek-menahun-di-
apotik/">obat pilek menahun di apotik

(
Hasbi Assidiq 2:05am May 3, 2017)

https://goo.gl/SjFBhQ https://goo.gl/VmqrMZ
(
Hasbi Assidiq 2:06am May 3, 2017)

href="https://sites.google.com/site/agbjvzooreview/jvzoo-
academy-review">JVZoo Academy Review Demo

(
Trung Tinh 2:20pm May 3, 2017)

href="https://sites.google.com/site/agbjvzooreview/decinema
-review">Decinema Review

(
Trung Tinh 2:21pm May 3, 2017)

https://sites.google.com/site/agbjvzooreview/decinema-
review
https://sites.google.com/site/agbjvzooreview/jvzoo-
academy-review
(
Trung Tinh 2:22pm May 3, 2017)

Admiring the time and effort you put into your blog and
detailed information you offer! Thank you. href="http://acuheal.co.in">best acupuncture clinic in
chennai

(
Kevin Alex 1:52am May 5, 2017)

Agbreview will help your site have the best href="http://agbreview.com/review/">Review
, people will easily find your site by the attraction
that agbreview make your site, in addition to products on
agbreview you choose will. It can help you get rid of
your complex issues as well as the difficulties and grow
your business smoothly. And a huge amount of awesome
bonuses. Follow "Agbreview" and follow "Agbreview" to be
able to update new articles and application information,
tools, software and training courses in Agbreview.
(
Trung Tinh 8:17am June 18)

http://obatbenjolandileher-25.blogspot.co.id/2017/07/obat-
penghancur-batu-empedu-tanpa-operasi.html
(
Yuni Maryani 12:08pm July 29)

Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. Iíd prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you donít mind. Natually Iíll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing ...
(
Toni Antonio 3:42am March 3)

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+