December 10th, 2019
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Vanessa RileyVanessa Riley
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
AN ALASKAN CHRISTMAS

Reviewer Application

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Finish off the year with great December reads

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
New York Times bestseller Cleo Coyle's "delightfully twisty" new Coffeehouse Mystery.


slideshow image
She’s hiding from killers. Can she find a safe haven in Amish country?


slideshow image
With a heart torn between two men and two cities, what’s a girl to do?


slideshow image
Goode girls don’t lie…


slideshow image
Will an abandoned child bring them together? Or tear them apart?


slideshow image
This SEAL turned sheriff realizes there’s no rule or regulation he won’t break to keep his love safe.


slideshow image
He’s Hollywood’s hottest heartthrob…and her son’s secret father.


The Invisibles
Cecilia Galante

William Morrow
August 2015
On Sale: August 4, 2015
400 pages
ISBN: 0062363514
EAN: 9780062363510
Kindle: B00PFXIGHQ
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Fiction Women's Fiction | Women's Fiction

In the vein of Meg Donohue and Jennifer Close, comes Cecilia Galante’s adult debut about the complicated and powerful bonds of female friendship—a compelling, moving novel that is told in both the present and the past.

Thrown together by chance as teenagers at Turning Winds Home for Girls, Nora, Ozzie, Monica, and Grace quickly bond over their troubled pasts and form their own family which they dub The Invisibles. But when tragedy strikes after graduation, Nora is left to deal with the horrifying aftermath alone as the other three girls leave home and don’t look back.

Fourteen years later, Nora is living a quiet, single life working in the local library. She is content to focus on her collection of “first lines” (her favorite opening lines from novels) and her dog, Alice Walker, when out-of-the-blue Ozzie calls her on her thirty-second birthday. But after all these years, Ozzie hasn’t called her to wish a happy birthday. Instead, she tells Nora that Grace attempted suicide and is pleading for The Invisibles to convene again. Nora is torn: she is thrilled at the thought of being in touch with her friends, and yet she is hesitant at seeing these women after such a long and silent period of time. Bolstered by her friends at the library, Nora joins The Invisibles in Chicago for a reunion that sets off an extraordinary chain of events that will change each of their lives forever.

The Invisibles is an unforgettable novel that asks the questions: How much of our pasts define our present selves? And what does it take to let go of some of our most painful wounds and move on? 

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy