October 23rd, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
THE SECRET SHE KEEPSTHE SECRET SHE KEEPS
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
GOOD GIRL'S BAD LESSONS

Reviewer Application

Boo-K Spectacular

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Jump into Autumn with these great books out in October!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A prim bookseller and a hard-boiled ghost team up to catch a cunning killer…


slideshow image
The perfect match may be closer than they imagine . . .


slideshow image
Fierce characters, steamy chemistry, and twists you won't see coming!


slideshow image
It all started with a wedding


slideshow image
The hotter the fire, the deeper the burn.


slideshow image
Elusive truth. Missing witness. Deadly trial.


slideshow image
She must become a fearsome gladiator . . . and kill the queen.


Heads In Beds
Jacob Tomsky

A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality

Doubleday
November 2012
On Sale: November 20, 2012
304 pages
ISBN: 0385535635
EAN: 9780385535632
Kindle: B0086MKQSU
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Non-Fiction Memoir

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in “hospitality” for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He’s checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. In Heads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry we think we know.

Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who’s seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department’s dirty little secrets—not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it’s like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.

Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle. This book (and a timely proffered twenty-dollar bill) will help you score late checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-per-view charge magically disappear. Thanks to him you’ll know how to get the very best service from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will keep the bellmen from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and bashing it against the wall repeatedly

Media Buzz

Today - January 21, 2016
CBS This Morning - October 21, 2013
Marketplace - PRI - December 20, 2012
Good Morning America - December 3, 2012

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+