April 25th, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
SPARTAN HEARTSPARTAN HEART
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
THE BRIDE TAKES A GROOM

Reviewer Application


Read some great books in April...you'll be blooming!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Not every match is made in the marriage mart...Some happen when you least expect it.


slideshow image
Contemporary romance set in Seattle's Pioneer Square.


slideshow image
MYSTERY PICK OF THE MONTH! –Library Journal (Starred Review)


slideshow image
Journey to an irresistible town you’ll want to return to over and over again.


slideshow image
She was the last woman he wanted in his life. . .and the one he needed the most.


slideshow image
Romantic Times says The Bride Next Door “is a laugh out-loud, play-on-words dramathon…”


slideshow image
Pursued by a dangerous terrorist, U.S. Deputy Marshal Casey Sloane, along with two other Marshals, put their lives on the line to deliver a federal witness to the FBI.


Heads In Beds
Jacob Tomsky

A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality

Doubleday
November 2012
On Sale: November 20, 2012
304 pages
ISBN: 0385535635
EAN: 9780385535632
Kindle: B0086MKQSU
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Non-Fiction Memoir

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in “hospitality” for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He’s checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. In Heads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry we think we know.

Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who’s seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department’s dirty little secrets—not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it’s like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.

Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle. This book (and a timely proffered twenty-dollar bill) will help you score late checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-per-view charge magically disappear. Thanks to him you’ll know how to get the very best service from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will keep the bellmen from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and bashing it against the wall repeatedly

Media Buzz

Today - January 21, 2016
CBS This Morning - October 21, 2013
Marketplace - PRI - December 20, 2012
Good Morning America - December 3, 2012

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+