July 20th, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
RANDOM IN DEATHRANDOM IN DEATH
Fresh Pick
THE LAST DRAGON KING
THE LAST DRAGON KING

New Books This Week

Reader Games

Video Book Club

Latest Articles


July's Best Reads: Dive into Summer's Hottest Page-Turners!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Movie costumer Joey Jessop discovers a Hollywood diva's deadly secrets.


slideshow image
Intelligent. Kind. Must like children. Passable looks. A man of means. Must make us laugh . . .


slideshow image
She won�t quit until she gets justice.
He won�t stop until she�s safe.


slideshow image
Julia Vargas is a cop with a mission.


slideshow image
Every romance needs a bit of mischief. . .


slideshow image
Passion has its own demands...and love, its wondrous possibilities...


Kill or Bee Killed

Kill or Bee Killed, June 2024
Bee Keeping Mystery
by Jennie Marts

Crooked Lane Books
336 pages
ISBN: 1639106588
EAN: 9781639106585
Kindle: B0CH9HTM1S
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"An Enjoyable & Buzz-Worthy Mystery"

Fresh Fiction Review

Kill or Bee Killed
Jennie Marts

Reviewed by Sandra Martin
Posted June 1, 2024

Mystery Cozy

The upcoming Bee Festival is all the buzz around Humble Hills, Colorado. Mystery writer Bailey Briggs and her family have coordinated many bee-inspired events, and celebrity Rex Rafferty will be hosting the Bee Festival Bake-Off.  All the locals are excited, but when Rex turns out to be a jerk and is knocked dead with a KitchenAid appliance, Bailey knows she better start investigating because her best friend and bake-off contestant Evie Delgado is the prime suspect in book 2 of the Bee Keeping Mysteries, KILL OR BEE KILLED by Jennie Marts.

Bailey is enjoying being home again at Honeybuzz Mountain Ranch, surrounded by Granny Bee and her aunts Marigold and Aster. It’s the perfect place for her daughter Daisy to grow up, and the rekindling of an old romance with Sheriff Sawyer Dunn sounds pretty good to Bailey too. When Rex is murdered at the Bee Festival and Evie and the other bake-off contestants become suspects, Bailey knows she and Evie have to find the real killer quickly. From the disgruntled camera crew, Rex’s unappreciated personal assistant, old bullies, a secret identity, a missing pie, a spiked water bottle, and another dead body, Evie and Bailey have their job cut out for them. Will they uncover the real killer before the festival falls apart and Bailey gets stung by a real bullet?

KILL OR BEE KILLED is a fun, fast-paced cozy that will keep readers laughing and guessing to the end. Bailey is a lively character who jumps right in and takes no prisoners during her investigation. There are plenty of humorous moments where Evie and Bailey get themselves into precarious situations, and the car trunk scene at the end is pretty darn funny. The story is filled with wonderfully eclectic characters and centered around family, making readers root for Bailey and her group. The mystery is well-plotted, includes several plausible suspects, and contains a few surprising twists and turns. When all the pieces fall together, and Bailey finds herself in a harrowing situation, readers will be on the edge of their seats to see how she makes it out of this mess alive. The ending also includes a nice cliffhanger to entice readers to look out for the next book in the series. KILL OR BEE KILLED is definitely an enjoyable and buzz-worthy read!  Recipes included! 

Learn more about Kill or Bee Killed

SUMMARY

Perfect for fans of Laura Childs and Amanda Flower, this second Bee Keeping mystery takes Bailey Briggs to the brink as murders threaten the future of her granny’s Bee Festival.

The small town of Humble Hills, Colorado, is abuzz with excitement over the upcoming annual Bee Festival, sponsored by Bailey’s Granny Bee and the Honeybuzz Mountain Ranch. The long weekend of festivities includes a beauty pageant, beekeeping demonstrations, a local restaurant bake-off, and a 3K Bear Run where all the participants are dressed as bears. The bake-off brings in a television crew from California to film, so it’s the most drama-filled part of the weekend, especially when the famous celebrity host winds up dead.

Because the celebrity was holding her bracelet and had been witnessed having an altercation with Bailey’s best friend Evie shortly before his death, everyone suspects Evie of the murder–and Bailey is quickly on the hunt for clues to clear Evie’s name, alongside Granny Bee and her bunch of geriatric misfit friends. Bailey’s potential new honey, Sheriff Sawyer Dunn, is none too pleased to have Bailey buzzing around the investigation, but Bailey’s determined to uncover the truth, rescue her grannie’s beloved Bee Festival, and save her bestie.

They say you get more flies with honey, but in this case, more honey may mean you end up dead. And a little competition never hurt anyone—unless it ends up killing you.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy