December 15th, 2017
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
STINGSTING
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
THE GIFT

Holiday Giveaways

Reviewer Application

Readers & 'ritas


December brings fabulous reads!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Ex-NFL star + snarky single mom = a touchdown of a holiday romance


slideshow image
The vampires are coming... and this time, the lights won't stop them.


slideshow image
The owner of a delightful Southern café tastes the sharp sting of suspicion in this delectable comfort food mystery...


slideshow image
This holiday season, love is on the menu.


slideshow image
A Spartan heart can conquer anything, even myths, magic, and monsters.


slideshow image
There’s nothing like a firefighting cowboy to keep you toasty warm this Christmas...


The Darkest Corners

The Darkest Corners, May 2017
by Kara Thomas

Ember
352 pages
ISBN: 0553521489
EAN: 9780553521481
Kindle: B012KJXHQW
Trade Size / e-Book (reprint)
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Thrilling, Edge of Your Seat Suspense"

Fresh Fiction Review

The Darkest Corners
Kara Thomas

Reviewed by Samantha Randolph
Posted May 17, 2017

Young Adult Suspense | Thriller

Tessa isn't looking forward to returning to her hometown where the ghosts of her past are everywhere. Her father is dying in a jail cell, and her friend, Callie, only sees her as a reminder of their testimonies against Wyatt Stokes, the man they believed killed Callie's cousin and many others. Questions that were never answered start to resurface, and Tessa's journey to the truth might put everyone in danger.

THE DARKEST CORNERS is a rich, suspenseful story that grabs the reader from the first page. Kara Thomas does a marvelous job of balancing complex issues, from Tessa's relationship with her incarcerated father to being in a town where an infamous murderer lives, and to simply experiencing so much darkness that light is almost unrecognizable. The protagonist, Tessa, is relatable, sharp, and has plenty of baggage to work through. The secondary characters go beyond simply being labeled as suspects from day one, and instead, most of them are fascinating and intriguing in their own rights, especially Callie.

The plotlines are brilliantly connected, spanning several different families, and weaving together mysteries that don't seem crucial but later will stun the reader. Some of the twists were visible early on, but many are gasp-worthy. As the secrets deepen and more clues only lead to more questions, THE DARKEST CORNERS is made for sucking readers in.

While the riveting mystery will appeal to suspense readers, the emotional complexity, family and friend relationships, and jaw-dropping ending will win readers of all kinds over. Kara Thomas writes an exciting and dark story where the pasts that haunt hold more ghosts than ever imagined.

Learn more about The Darkest Corners

SUMMARY

For fans of Gillian Flynn and Pretty Little Liars, The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become.

There are secrets around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about what happened there that last summer.

She and her childhood best friend Callie never talked about what they saw. Not before the trial. And certainly not after.

But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to what really happened, the closer she gets to a killer—and this time, it won’t be so easy to run away.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

 

Fresh Fiction contests

© 2003-2017 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+