February 17th, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
HER LAST GOODBYEHER LAST GOODBYE
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
THE LIGHTKEEPER'S DAUGHTERS

Reviewer Application


Hearts and Love, great reads in February

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
THE DELANEYS OF SANDPIPER BEACH: A family business with room to grow.


slideshow image
So many frogs. So few princes.


slideshow image
Eloisa loves a Cinderella twist in her stories, and three short stories with this theme are digitally publishing in one volume!


slideshow image
Marie Bostwick weaves together the unforgettable story of four very different women whose paths cross, changing their lives forever…


slideshow image
When someone attempts to assassinate a Saudi Prince on U.S. soil, FBI Agent Kord Davidson and CIA Operative Monica Alden head up a task force to keep the Prince safe and find those responsible to avoid an international incident that could have devastating consequences.


slideshow image
Working late has its rewards


Etched in Bone

Etched in Bone, March 2017
The Others #5
by Anne Bishop

Roc
ISBN: 045147449X
EAN: 9780451474490
Kindle: B01HCGYZ3W
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"ETCHED IN BONE is sure to be a win for readers!"

Fresh Fiction Review

Etched in Bone
Anne Bishop

Reviewed by Annie Tegelan
Posted March 30, 2017

Fantasy Urban | Fantasy

With five books in the Others series, Anne Bishop has been able to take readers on a magical ride filled with shifters and a blood prophet. ETCHED IN BONE is the latest installment and I would highly recommend reading this series in order. If you are new to Bishop's work, then keep in mind that although this is urban fantasy series, there is a touch of romance in it as well.

For me, the romance between Simon and Meg has been something that has captured my interest. Don't expect an epic love story because that's not the kind of stories that Anne Bishop writes. Instead, she tends to build her relationships slowly, and I know I'm not the only one who has been dying to see more from Simon and Meg.

The world that Bishop has created here is complex yet at the same time quite simple. There's a lot of politics and conflict, but the dynamics are surprisingly basic and I don't mean that in a bad way. Sometimes it's nice to stick to what is simple because what is what works the best. I do think Bishop has something great on her hands.

Fans of Patricia Briggs and Kim Harrison will enjoy this series. Rife with paranormal politics and a touch of romance, ETCHED IN BONE by Anne Bishop is sure to be a win for readers!

Learn more about Etched in Bone

SUMMARY

New York Times bestselling author Anne Bishop returns to her world of the Others, as humans struggle to survive in the shadow of shapeshifters and vampires far more powerful than themselves...

After a human uprising was brutally put down by the Elders—a primitive and lethal form of the Others—the few cities left under human control are far-flung. And the people within them now know to fear the no-man’s-land beyond their borders—and the darkness...

As some communities struggle to rebuild, Lakeside Courtyard has emerged relatively unscathed, though Simon Wolfgard, its wolf shifter leader, and blood prophet Meg Corbyn must work with the human pack to maintain the fragile peace. But all their efforts are threatened when Lieutenant Montgomery’s shady brother arrives, looking for a free ride and easy pickings.

With the humans on guard against one of their own, tensions rise, drawing the attention of the Elders, who are curious about the effect such an insignificant predator can have on a pack. But Meg knows the dangers, for she has seen in the cards how it will all end—with her standing beside a grave...


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

 

Fresh Fiction contests

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+