December 13th, 2017
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
THE BEAR WHO LOVED METHE BEAR WHO LOVED ME
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
A TEXAS CHRISTMAS REUNION

Holiday Giveaways

Reviewer Application

Readers & 'ritas


December brings fabulous reads!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Ex-NFL star + snarky single mom = a touchdown of a holiday romance


slideshow image
The vampires are coming... and this time, the lights won't stop them.


slideshow image
The owner of a delightful Southern café tastes the sharp sting of suspicion in this delectable comfort food mystery...


slideshow image
This holiday season, love is on the menu.


slideshow image
A Spartan heart can conquer anything, even myths, magic, and monsters.


slideshow image
There’s nothing like a firefighting cowboy to keep you toasty warm this Christmas...


Etched in Bone

Etched in Bone, March 2017
The Others #5
by Anne Bishop

Roc
ISBN: 045147449X
EAN: 9780451474490
Kindle: B01HCGYZ3W
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"ETCHED IN BONE is sure to be a win for readers!"

Fresh Fiction Review

Etched in Bone
Anne Bishop

Reviewed by Annie Tegelan
Posted March 30, 2017

Fantasy Urban | Fantasy

With five books in the Others series, Anne Bishop has been able to take readers on a magical ride filled with shifters and a blood prophet. ETCHED IN BONE is the latest installment and I would highly recommend reading this series in order. If you are new to Bishop's work, then keep in mind that although this is urban fantasy series, there is a touch of romance in it as well.

For me, the romance between Simon and Meg has been something that has captured my interest. Don't expect an epic love story because that's not the kind of stories that Anne Bishop writes. Instead, she tends to build her relationships slowly, and I know I'm not the only one who has been dying to see more from Simon and Meg.

The world that Bishop has created here is complex yet at the same time quite simple. There's a lot of politics and conflict, but the dynamics are surprisingly basic and I don't mean that in a bad way. Sometimes it's nice to stick to what is simple because what is what works the best. I do think Bishop has something great on her hands.

Fans of Patricia Briggs and Kim Harrison will enjoy this series. Rife with paranormal politics and a touch of romance, ETCHED IN BONE by Anne Bishop is sure to be a win for readers!

Learn more about Etched in Bone

SUMMARY

New York Times bestselling author Anne Bishop returns to her world of the Others, as humans struggle to survive in the shadow of shapeshifters and vampires far more powerful than themselves...

After a human uprising was brutally put down by the Elders—a primitive and lethal form of the Others—the few cities left under human control are far-flung. And the people within them now know to fear the no-man’s-land beyond their borders—and the darkness...

As some communities struggle to rebuild, Lakeside Courtyard has emerged relatively unscathed, though Simon Wolfgard, its wolf shifter leader, and blood prophet Meg Corbyn must work with the human pack to maintain the fragile peace. But all their efforts are threatened when Lieutenant Montgomery’s shady brother arrives, looking for a free ride and easy pickings.

With the humans on guard against one of their own, tensions rise, drawing the attention of the Elders, who are curious about the effect such an insignificant predator can have on a pack. But Meg knows the dangers, for she has seen in the cards how it will all end—with her standing beside a grave...


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

 

Fresh Fiction contests

© 2003-2017 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+