June 18th, 2019
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
BEACH WEDDING WEEKENDBEACH WEDDING WEEKEND
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
THE DETERMINED LORD HADLEIGH

Reviewer Application

2019 Award Winners

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Celebrate June with Great Books!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
What does a fiercely independent young widow really want?


slideshow image
Some demons refuse to stay buried.


slideshow image
A trio of fun-seeking octogenarians on a bachelorette party in Las Vegas – What could possibly go wrong?


slideshow image
Protecting her is his job…falling for her is unexpected.


slideshow image
Can a summer of love make up for a lifetime of secrets?


Above the Ether
Eric Barnes

Arcade
June 2019
On Sale: June 11, 2019
240 pages
ISBN: 1628729988
EAN: 9781628729986
Kindle: B07FWB2598
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Action | Thriller | Suspense

A mesmerizing novel of unfolding dystopia amid the effects of climate change in a world very like our own, for readers of Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven and Margaret Atwood's The Year of the Flood.

In this prequel to Eric Barnes's acclaimed cli-fi novel The City Where We Once Lived, six sets of characters move through a landscape and a country just beginning to show the signs of cataclysmic change. A father and his young children fleeing a tsunami after a massive earthquake in the Gulf. A woman and her husband punishing themselves without relent for the loss of both their sons to addiction, while wildfires slowly burn closer to their family home. A brilliant investor, assessing opportunity in the risk to crops, homes, cities, industries, and infrastructure, working in the silent comfort of her office sixty floors up in the scorching air. A doctor and his wife stuck in a refugee camp for immigrants somewhere in a southern desert. Two young men working the rides for a roadside carnival, one escaping a brutal past, the other a racist present. The manager of a chain of nondescript fast-food restaurants in a city ravaged by the relentless wind..

While every night the news alternates images of tsunami destruction with the baseball scores, the characters converge on a city where the forces of change have already broken—a city half abandoned, with one part left to be scavenged as the levee system protecting it slowly fails—until, in their vehicles on the highway that runs through it, they witness the approach of what looks to be just one more violent storm.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+