August 24th, 2019
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
PROTECT THE PRINCEPROTECT THE PRINCE
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
THE BOOKSHOP ON THE SHORE

Reviewer Application

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Sizzling August Reads

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A blue-blood grandmother and her black-sheep granddaughter discover they are truly two sides of the same coin.


slideshow image
on Sale for 99Ę


slideshow image
Responsibility isnít just a word. Itís his Code of Honor. But she's a challenge!


slideshow image
Coming of Age is tough


slideshow image
It only takes one night


slideshow image
Can she forgive him?


How We Disappeared
Jing-Jing Lee

Hanover Square Press
May 2019
On Sale: May 7, 2019
352 pages
ISBN: 1335953752
EAN: 9781335953759
Kindle: B07JY5R4FY
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Historical | Literature and Fiction

A beautiful, stunningly ambitious novel set in World War II Singapore about a woman who survived the Japanese occupation and a man who thought he had lost everything‚ÄĒfor fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky Ones

Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child.

In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a ‚Äúcomfort woman.‚ÄĚ After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her.

In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen.

Weaving together two time lines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family’s experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy