April 28th, 2017
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
THE BEAR WHO LOVED METHE BEAR WHO LOVED ME
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
ECHO OF DANGER

Meet Us in Atlanta

Reviewer Application


Read some great books in April...you'll be blooming!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
If this shy electrician finds his spark, he might just be the man she’s always needed.


slideshow image
The only way he can save her is to help her save herself.


slideshow image
A new hope…


slideshow image
...will the secrets they’re keeping from each other tear them apart?


slideshow image
If only life were as simple as smiling for the camera.


slideshow image
Silver Springs...where even the hardest hearts can learn to love again.


slideshow image
You can't run from love...


Sisi
Allison Pataki

Empress on Her Own

Dial
March 2016
On Sale: March 8, 2016
Featuring: Empress Elisabeth of Austria-Hungary
464 pages
ISBN: 0812989058
EAN: 9780812989052
Kindle: B00Z3FYSAK
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Historical

For readers of Philippa Gregory, Paula McLain, and Daisy Goodwin comes a sweeping and powerful novel by New York Times bestselling author Allison Pataki. Sisi tells the little-known story of Empress Elisabeth of Austria-Hungary, the Princess Diana of her time, in an enthralling work of historical fiction that is also a gripping page-turner.

Married to Emperor Franz Joseph, Elisabeth—fondly known as Sisi—captures the hearts of her people as their “fairy queen,” but beneath that dazzling persona lives a far more complex figure. In mid-nineteenth-century Vienna, the halls of the Hofburg Palace buzz not only with imperial waltzes and champagne but with temptations, rivals, and cutthroat intrigue. Feeling stifled by strict protocols and a turbulent marriage, Sisi grows restless. A free-spirited wanderer, she finds solace at her estate outside Budapest. There she rides her beloved horses and enjoys visits from the Hungarian statesman Count Andrássy, the man with whom she’s unwittingly fallen in love. But tragic news brings Sisi out of her fragile seclusion, forcing her to return to her capital and a world of gossip, envy, and sorrow where a dangerous fate lurks in the shadows.

Through love affairs and loss, dedication and defiance, Sisi struggles against conflicting desires: to keep her family together, or to flee amid the collapse of her suffocating marriage and the gathering tumult of the First World War. In an age of crumbling monarchies, Sisi fights to assert her right to the throne beside her husband, to win the love of her people and the world, and to save an empire. But in the end, can she save herself?

Featuring larger-than-life historic figures such as Bavaria’s “Mad King Ludwig” and the tragic Crown Prince Rudolf, and set against many of Europe’s grandest sites—from Germany’s storied Neuschwanstein Castle to England’s lush shires—Sisi brings to life an extraordinary woman and the romantic, volatile era over which she presided.

Media Buzz

Today - March 15, 2016

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2017 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+