January 23rd, 2020
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
LACHLANLACHLAN
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
WOLF UNLEASHED

Reviewer Application

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


New Year, Great Reads for January

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Staying hidden has kept her alive…But now she’s been found.


slideshow image
It's never too late for love in the small Texas ranch town of Silverlake.


slideshow image
Laura Joh Rowland is back the case of a mutilated "Sleeping Beauty" washed ashore in London.


slideshow image
Once she got away, but this time it's a dead end


slideshow image
Grim Reaper Charley Davidson is back in the final installment of Darynda Jones’ New York Times bestselling paranormal series


slideshow image
Sin may find the Saint she never knew she needed.


Painter Of Silence
Georgina Harding

Bloomsbury
September 2012
On Sale: September 18, 2012
320 pages
ISBN: 1608197700
EAN: 9781608197705
Kindle: B008AW5M9Y
Hardcover / e-Book
$26.99
Add to Wish List

Historical | Fiction

It is the early 1950s. A nameless man is found on the steps of the hospital in Iasi, Romania. He is deaf and mute, but a young nurse named Safta recognizes him from the past and brings him paper and pencils so that he might draw. Gradually, memories appear on the page: the man is Augustin, the cook’s son at the manor house at Poiana, where Safta was the privileged daughter. Born six months apart, they had a connection that bypassed words, but while Augustin’s world stayed the same size, Safta’s expanded to embrace languages, society, and a fleeting love one long, hot summer. But then came war, and in its wake a brutal Stalinist regime, and nothing would remain the same.

Georgina Harding’s kaleidoscopic new novel will appeal to readers of Anne Michaels, Michael Ondaatje, and Sandor Marai. It is as intense and submerging as rain, as steeped in the horrors of our recent history as it is in the intimate passions of the human heart.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy