December 15th, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
Sandra BrownSandra Brown
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
EGGS ON ICE

Reviewer Application

Holiday Fun

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Yule Tidings -- Great Reads for December!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
It's Christmastime, but not everyone is jolly...


slideshow image
Coming home has never felt so good.


slideshow image
A storm is brewing . . .


slideshow image
Small-town life in Hazel Rock becomes a Texas-size crime scene when murder takes a page from Charli Rae Warren’s book club’s latest mystery . . .


slideshow image
A new tale of terror and magic in a brand new world.


slideshow image
“A tasty cocktail of sweet and sexy” ~ Publisher’s Weekly


slideshow image
When those Jared loves are threatened, he calls on magic to survive.


slideshow image
A spellbinding murder investigation amidst crises of faith...


Unorthodox
Deborah Feldman

The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

Simon and Schuster
February 2012
On Sale: February 14, 2012
274 pages
ISBN: 1439187002
EAN: 9781439187005
Kindle: B005GG0M60
Hardcover / e-Book
$23.00
Add to Wish List

Non-Fiction Memoir

In the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, Unorthodox is a captivating story about a young woman determined to live her own life at any cost.

The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting memoir, Deborah Feldman reveals what life is like trapped within a religious tradition that values silence and suffering over individual freedoms.

The child of a mentally disabled father and a mother who abandoned the community while her daughter was still a toddler, Deborah was raised by her strictly religious grandparents, Bubby and Zeidy. Along with a rotating cast of aunts and uncles, they enforced customs with a relentless emphasis on rules that governed everything from what Deborah could wear and to whom she could speak, to what she was allowed to read. As she grew from an inquisitive little girl to an independent-minded young woman, stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. She had no idea how to seize this dream that seemed to beckon to her from the skyscrapers of Manhattan, but she was determined to find a way.

The tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until, at the age of seventeen, she found herself trapped in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she had met for only thirty minutes before they became engaged. As a result, she experienced debilitating anxiety that was exacerbated by the public shame of having failed to immediately consummate her marriage and thus serve her husband. But it wasn’t until she had a child at nineteen that Deborah realized more than just her own future was at stake, and that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path—for herself and her son—to happiness and freedom.

Media Buzz

The View - February 14, 2012

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+