March 19th, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick

Reviewer Application

March gives us books to "roar" over

Slideshow image

Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Theodosia Browning investigates a Charleston steeped in tradition and treachery

slideshow image
How far would you go to get justice for the one you love?

slideshow image
The trick is to marry for loveóa task easier said than done!

slideshow image
They are part of an elite unit. On task. Off grid.

slideshow image
True love deserves a second chance . . . .

slideshow image
Shocking evidence hits close to home...

Marcia Muller

Photo Credit: Tom Graves

A native of the Detroit area, Marcia Muller grew up in a house full of books and self-published three copies of her first novel at age twelve, a tale about her dog complete with primitive illustrations. The "reviews" were generally positive.

Her literary aspirations were put on hold, however, in her third year at the University of Michigan, when her creative writing instructor told her she would never be a writer because she had nothing to say. Instead she turned to journalism, earning a master's degree, but various editors for whom she freelanced noticed her unfortunate tendency to embellish the facts in order to make the pieces more interesting.

In the early 1970s, having moved to California, Muller found herself unemployable and began experimenting with mystery novels, because they were what she liked to read. After three manuscripts and five years of rejection, EDWIN OF THE IRON SHOES, the first novel featuring San Francisco private investigator Sharon McCone, was published by David McKay Company, who then cancelled their mystery list. Four more years passed before St. Martin's Press accepted the second McCone novel, ASK THE CARDS A QUESTION.

In the ensuing thirty-some years, Muller has authored over 35 novels--three of them in collaboration with husband Bill Pronzini--seven short-story collections, and numerous nonfiction articles. Together she and Pronzini have edited a dozen anthologies and a nonfiction book on the mystery genre. In 2005 Muller was named a Grand Master by Mystery Writers of America, the organizationís highest award. Pronzini was named Grand Master in 2008, making them the only living couple to share the award (the other being Margaret Millar ad Ross Macdonald). The Mulzinis, as friends call them, live in Sonoma County, California, in yet another house full of books.




Someone Always Knows, August 2017
Mass Market Paperback
The Dangerous Ladies Affair, January 2017
Looking For Yesterday, November 2012
Coming Back, November 2010
Sharon McCone #27
Locked In, October 2010
Sharon McCone #26
Mass Market Paperback (reprint)
Cape Perdido, July 2006
Paperback (reprint)
Vanishing Point, July 2006
Sharon McCone Series, #24
The Dangerous Hour, June 2005
Sharon McCone Series, #23
Paperback (reprint)
Cyanide Wells, July 2004
Paperback (reprint)
Dead Midnight, July 2003
Sharon McCone Series, #22
Paperback (reprint)
Point Deception, May 2002
Paperback (reprint)
Listen to the Silence, July 2000
Sharon McCone Series, #21
A Walk Through the Fire, July 2000
Sharon McCone Series, #20
Paperback (reprint)
While Other People Sleep, May 1999
Sharon McCone Series, #19
Paperback (reprint)
Both Ends of the Night, June 1998
Sharon McCone Series, #18
Paperback (reprint)
The Broken Promise Land, June 1997
Sharon McCone Series, #17
Paperback (reprint)
A Wild and Lonely Place, July 1996
Sharon McCone Series, #16
Paperback (reprint)
Double, September 1995
Sharon McCone Series, #6
Paperback (reprint)
Trophies and Dead Things, August 1995
Sharon McCone Series, #11
Paperback (reprint)
Till the Butchers Cut Him Down, August 1995
Sharon McCone Series, #15
Paperback (reprint)
Games to Keep the Dark Away, July 1995
Sharon McCone Series, #4
Paperback (reprint)
Wolf in the Shadows, July 1994
Sharon McCone Series, #14
Paperback (reprint)
Pennies on a Dead Woman's Eyes, July 1993
Sharon McCone Series, #13
Paperback (reprint)
Where Echoes Live, July 1992
Sharon McCone Series, #12
Paperback (reprint)
There's Nothing to Be Afraid Of, October 1990
Sharon McCone Series, #7
Paperback (reprint)
The Shape of Dread, October 1990
Sharon McCone Series, #10
Paperback (reprint)
Leave a Message for Willie, October 1990
Sharon McCone Series, #5
Paperback (reprint)
Edwin of the Iron Shoes, April 1990
Sharon McCone Series, #1
Paperback (reprint)
The Cheshire Cat's Eye, April 1990
Sharon McCone Series, #3
Paperback (reprint)
There's Something in a Sunday, April 1990
Sharon McCone Series, #9
Paperback (reprint)
Ask the Cards a Question, April 1990
Sharon McCone Series, #2
Paperback (reprint)
Eye of the Storm, March 1989
Sharon McCone Series, #8
Paperback (reprint)


Barnes & Noble









© 2003-2018
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+