June 19th, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
SEARCH AND DETECTSEARCH AND DETECT
Fresh Pick
HONEY CUT
HONEY CUT

New Books This Week

Fresh Fiction Box

Video Book Club

Latest Articles


Kick off your summer Reads in June!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Neighborly Secrets. Deadly Desires.


slideshow image
A summer of friendship, forgiveness, and fresh starts.


slideshow image
Can a desire for revenge lead to redemption? Free!


slideshow image
Danger, wealth, revenge, power, and fear were all a part of his life.


slideshow image
How can they stay rivals when they're falling in love?


slideshow image
Wedding season includes searching for a missing bride´┐Żand a killer . . .


A Wealth of Deception

A Wealth of Deception, April 2023
Scandal Mountain Antiques #2
by Trish Esden

Crooked Lane Books
Featuring: Edie Brown
336 pages
ISBN: 163910254X
EAN: 9781639102549
Kindle: B0B6Z76QTK
Hardcover / e-Book / audiobook
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Art, Scandal, and Danger Combine to Create this Highly Recommended Mystery"

Fresh Fiction Review

A Wealth of Deception
Trish Esden

Reviewed by Sandra Martin
Posted May 15, 2023

Mystery

Edie Brown knows when something doesn’t look right and she’s determined to find out the truth behind an elaborate art scheme in A WEALTH OF DECEPTION. This second novel in the Scandal Mountain Antiques mystery series by Trish Esden is sure to please with its vivid descriptions of artworks, colorful characters, and intriguing scandal.

Edie Brown is busy keeping her family’s Vermont business, Scandal Mountain Fine Arts and Antiques, afloat.  Edie’s mother is incarcerated for art forgery and the bills are piling up while the septic system is overflowing. When Edie and Uncle Tuck visit Anna Gorin to appraise a few items after Anna’s mother’s passing, Edie comes across a startling collage with dark undertones. The collage is similar to the work of famed outsider artist Vespa, who burst onto the art scene a few years earlier. Anna informs Edie that her brother made the collage and that he currently lives in an assisted living facility after suffering a traumatic brain injury in a car accident. Edie has a bad feeling, and the more she studies the collage, the more she believes something nefarious is going on.  With multiple players involved and several layers to unravel, Edie has her hands full. Can she stay safe while uncovering the truth?

A WEALTH OF DECEPTION is a fascinating and complex mystery dealing with a scandal in the art world. The story is well-plotted and paced and Edie is an intelligent and logical sleuth who is fearless when uncovering the truth. The villains in the novel are heinous and wide-ranging, and Edie becomes the champion for an artist who is unaware of their unscrupulous deeds. Uncle Tuck and Kala are perfect crime-solving companions. Kala adds a little toughness and Uncle Tuck adds understated charm. The details regarding art and the art world are engrossing and the author does a good job of creating the atmosphere. The romance is light and adds depth to Edie's character. The story has action, drama, intrigue, twists, and surprising revelations with all the loose ends wrapped up nicely in the end. Overall, A WEALTH OF DECEPTION is a highly entertaining and enlightening mystery making it a welcome addition to the genre.

Learn more about A Wealth of Deception

SUMMARY

Danger, art, and a touch of romance collide in Trish Esden’s second exquisitely crafted Scandal Mountain Antiques mystery, perfect for fans of Jane K. Cleland and Connie Berry.

Some people are willing to die for their art. Others are willing to kill for it.

When Vermont antique and art dealer Edie Brown discovers an unsettlingly dark collage by the famed reclusive “outsider” artist known only as Vespa, she opens a Pandora’s Box of deception and danger.

Edie teams up with Uncle Tuck and Kala to investigate the background of the collage but only uncover secrets that are more disturbing than the artwork itself. As Edie tracks down the validity of the piece, she stumbles into an art underground where some people are willing to kill to keep their schemes a secret.  

Esden expertly crafts a complex cast of characters, a breathtakingly gorgeous setting, and a twisty plot that often poses more questions than answers.

Excerpt

“When I was seventeen, my grandparents died in a plane crash. A single-engine plane. Within sight of our house. The therapist suggested I create a memory box dedicated to them. I didn’t tell her I’d already declared the field where they went down a living memorial, at least in my mind. Instead of opening my heart, I bristled and did as she asked, gluing photographs, newspaper articles, and other odds and ends into the craft store box she provided. Then I closed the box’s lid and scrawled orange and red flames on the outside, crayons snapping under the ferocity of my grip. 

Satisfied, the therapist smiled. 

That afternoon, I buried the box in the field. It felt like a hollow tribute compared to my living memorial. Still, the act of creating had left its mark. A few years later, when I was working on my degrees and interning at auction houses, I found my chest tightening when I saw or handled certain pieces, outsider art most often. Art created from pure intentions, emotion without the hindrance that can come with formal training. Sure, the neurons at the back of my brain always went crazy when I crossed paths with any genuine, quality piece of art or antique. But outsider art hit me the hardest. 

Love and loss. Pain and secrets. Emotions made manifest.” 

—Edie Brown 

 

Chapter One 


“Whoa, check this out!”
It was late afternoon on June twenty-fifth. Kala and I were sitting in the shade of the front porch, sipping citrus vodka on the rocks while we sorted through a mountain of vintage jewelry, pricing what was sellable and setting the rest aside. 

I looked up in time to see her pluck a glittering monkey-shaped brooch out of the pile. I studied the creature, hands raised to cover its eyes. “Is that one of the three wise monkeys?”

“See No Evil. Isn’t he wonderful?” She pinned the brooch onto the bandana that held back her curly afro. “Take him off my paycheck. He’s mine—and I claim the other two monkeys if they surface.” 

I laughed. “You can have them all. Call it a bonus for cruel and unusual punishment.” I slid plastic pearls off a broken necklace string, letting them dribble between my fingers and patter into a shoebox already half full of odds and ends. “I swear if I look at another piece of junk, I’m going to scream.” 

“You’re nuts, Edie. This is the best job ever.” Kala nudged the vodka bottle my way. I took it but only poured a finger of liquid into my glass. “I just wish there were a few nicer pieces mixed in, like some Victorian mourning jewelry.” 

She gave me a sidelong glance. “The stuff made of human hair?” 

“Exactly. Those are real antiques—folk art.”

“You mean they’re worth more money,” she said.

“Well, that too.”

As Kala resituated the brooch, I thought back to the first time I’d seen her. About a month ago, I’d come home to help with the family antique business after my mom went to prison for art forgery. I was supposed to meet up with my uncle Tuck at an Antiques Roadshow sort of event and do some appraisals with him. But when I arrived, I found our table staffed by an unfamiliar black woman in her early twenties—aka: Kala. She was a good six years younger than me, and a fair amount shorter. She’d had on overalls and a sleeveless purple T-shirt and was valuing vintage trolls. 

The whole situation had taken me aback. I mean, I’m all for comfy clothing, but an appraisal event calls for a certain level of professionalism. And trolls? Our family business—Scandal Mountain Fine Arts and Antiques—had a reputation for dealing in upper-end pieces, not collectables, though that had somewhat fallen by the wayside thanks to my mom’s lack of business acumen. Frankly, the largest surprise was that Mom had taken on an employee when she was headed to prison and the business was all but bankrupt. But I'd been wrong to criticize her decision. Kala was fabulous. She worked for room and board, and commission on the stuff she sold. She also came with an intriguing, though rather dubious, set of skills, including lockpicking and a familiarity with the darknet—not to mention that a bartender at the Jumping Café recently declared her ID a fake. 

The buzz of my phone pulled me from my thoughts. I glanced at the caller ID. 


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy