July 25th, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Rhys BowenRhys Bowen
Fresh Pick
PRIMAL MIRROR
PRIMAL MIRROR

New Books This Week

Reader Games

Video Book Club

Latest Articles


July's Best Reads: Dive into Summer's Hottest Page-Turners!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Movie costumer Joey Jessop discovers a Hollywood diva's deadly secrets.


slideshow image
Intelligent. Kind. Must like children. Passable looks. A man of means. Must make us laugh . . .


slideshow image
She won�t quit until she gets justice.
He won�t stop until she�s safe.


slideshow image
Julia Vargas is a cop with a mission.


slideshow image
Every romance needs a bit of mischief. . .


slideshow image
Passion has its own demands...and love, its wondrous possibilities...


Raw Edges

Raw Edges, September 2013
Quilts of Love #10
by Sandra D. Bricker

Abingdon Press
Featuring: Annabelle Curtis; Grayson McDonough
240 pages
ISBN: 142675275X
EAN: 9781426752759
Kindle: B00E0TNCW0
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"A Powerful Story About Love, Loss and Healing"

Fresh Fiction Review

Raw Edges
Sandra D. Bricker

Reviewed by Sharon Salituro
Posted September 28, 2013

Inspirational Romance

Grayson McDonough is dealing with the death of his wife Jenna, from ovarian cancer. Not only is he dealing with this, but also raising his 9 year old daughter Sadie. Sadie decides that she would like to go to a support group for ovarian cancer. Grayson is not at all interested in this, but does it for his daughter. Annabelle is an ovarian cancer survivor. Due to this illness she lost her fiancé Peter who could not deal with the fact that she would never have children. Annabelle volunteers for the support group. The group is going to trying to raise money and decides to make a quilt and raffle it off. Grayson and Sadie attend a meeting and are swept into helping with the quilt. They meet Annabelle and Sadie is the one that really pushes to help with the quilt. Grayson learns that Jenna had attended this group several times and more than anything, she wanted them to join it. Grayson and Annabelle form a friendship while making this quilt. Neither one knows what to do with the feelings that they have for each other. Sandra Bricker's book is very inspirational. I lost my sister last year to ovarian cancer so this book is very near and dear to my heart. Sandra's writing makes you feel the pain and frustration that women go though with this horrible disease. Sandra also makes you realize what the men in their lives also have to go though. The quilt is in honor of those that have lost their battle and for women who are still fighting this disease. I am sure that there are groups that do this and it is a wonderful way to honor people. If you have known someone who is going though ovarian cancer and even if you don't, RAW EDGES is a very good book and one I recommend.

Learn more about Raw Edges

SUMMARY

Grayson McDonough has no use for teal ribbons, 5k runs, or ovarian cancer support groups now that his beautiful wife Jenna is gone. But their nine-year-old daughter Sadie seems to need the connection. When Annabelle Curtis, the beautiful cancer survivor organizing the memory quilt project for the Ovacome support group, begins to bring out the silly and fun side of his precious daughter again, Gray must set aside his own grief to support the healing of Sadie’s young heart. But is there hope for Gray’s heart too along the way?


What do you think about this review?

Comments

5 comments posted.

Re: A Powerful Story About Love, Loss and Healing

I have read the book and it is a wonderful read. It is the best book I've ever read about Cancer survival and those left to deal with life in the aftermath. There are funny parts and parts that make you grab a box of tissues. Do yourself a favor and read it.
(Shelly Tilley 5:20pm September 30, 2013)

It is a really a great book and so carefully and beautifully written!
(
Mrs. Lopez 5:47pm September 30, 2013)

I've read this book myself. It's a lovely book, written with
love. This review nailed it!
(
Diana Austin 6:08pm September 30, 2013)

Such a sweet book! This review was awesome, described the book
perfectly :)
(
Erica Hughes 8:14pm September 30, 2013)

I loved this book. Never before has a booked touched me so deeply. I highly recommend this book. You won't be sorry, however have your kleenex handy.
(
Shannon Foster 1:19am October 1, 2013)

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy