August 6th, 2020
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Jennifer EstepJennifer Estep
Fresh Pick
SPEAR'S SEARCH
SPEAR'S SEARCH

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Reviewer Application


Your August adventures in reading

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Buy all five books in the Great Library


slideshow image
Sometimes the smallest secret creates the biggest ripple of trouble.


slideshow image
When she holds the key to the one case he couldn’t solve, he must choose justice or love.


slideshow image
They must risk everything-- before it’s too late…


slideshow image
A meeting of minds…But a most unsuitable match!


slideshow image
He has nothing and everything to lose…


slideshow image
His former lover has returned with an explosive secret.


slideshow image
Buy all five books in the Great Library, now in paperback


Daughter Of The God-King by Anne Cleeland

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Anne Cleeland:

The Spanish Mask, June 2020
e-Book
Murder in Deep Regret, March 2020
Paperback / e-Book
Murder in the Blood, September 2019
e-Book
A Death in Sheffield, June 2019
e-Book
Murder in Just Cause, March 2019
Paperback / e-Book
Murder in Spite, September 2018
Paperback / e-Book
The True Pretender, June 2018
e-Book
Murder in Misdirection, March 2018
e-Book
Murder in Shadow, September 2017
e-Book
The Barbary Mark, June 2017
e-Book
Murder in All Honour, March 2017
Paperback / e-Book
Murder in Containment, September 2016
Paperback / e-Book
The Bengal Bridegift, June 2016
e-Book
Murder in Hindsight, April 2015
Hardcover / e-Book
Murder In Retribution, August 2014
Hardcover / e-Book
Daughter Of The God-King, December 2013
Paperback / e-Book
Murder In Thrall, August 2013
Hardcover / e-Book
Tainted Angel, June 2013
Paperback / e-Book

Daughter Of The God-King
Anne Cleeland

Sourcebooks
December 2013
On Sale: November 29, 2013
Featuring: Hattie Blackhouse
368 pages
ISBN: 140227985X
EAN: 9781402279850
Kindle: B00DZPNBB2
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Suspense Arcane | Romance

In the dark, mysterious tombs of Cairo, a thrilling puzzle awaits to be discovered

Hattie Blackhouse is the daughter of famous Egyptologists who've gone missing at their latest dig site in Thebes. When Hattie arrives to investigate, it becomes clear that something is definitely amiss in the tombs of Cairo. Here, Hattie discovers the tracks of a double agent, working for Napoleon, with secrets buried deeper than the Pharoahs. In a foreign place, where friends can just as easily be enemies, Hattie must find a way to pull the pieces back together—including herself. In the tradition of Lauren Willig and Deanna Raybourn, DAUGHTER OF THE GOD-KING offers up an engaging, intricate puzzle.

Comments

41 comments posted.

Re: Daughter Of The God-King

I love mysteries and this one sounds so interesting! Thanks for the chance to win this book!!!
(Bonnie Capuano 6:59am November 8, 2013)

A good story is a good story despite some discrepancies in fact. Not all of
us are history scholars reading these books, so we may not pick up an
inconsistency in the facts.
(
Chris Coulson 8:06am November 8, 2013)

You wrote about two of my favorite subjects - mystery and Egypt!!! This is going to be a great read for me this Fall, and it looks like I better pick up some extra Hot Chocolate to have on hand for this one!! I love your description, and can't wait to hunker down with your book in one hand, and my Hot Chocolate in the other, to see how the plot unfolds!! The cover of your book really shows the flavor of the story as well!! This will be time well-spent!!
(
Peggy Roberson 8:30am November 8, 2013)

Sounds really interesting. Great cover.
(
Sue Brandes 9:45am November 8, 2013)

Daughter of the God-King sounds captivating and wonderful.
Mysterious and compelling subject which interests me greatly.
(
Sharon Berger 10:04am November 8, 2013)

I love the Regency time period, looks like a great read
(
Margaret Branca 10:04am November 8, 2013)

Your book sounds like a GREAT read. Thanks for the chance to win. And best of luck with this book and all you do.
(
Nancy Reynolds 10:08am November 8, 2013)

I enjoy reading a story to make me dream of far away places and romantic characters, I don't really look for details! I would love to read and review your book Daughter of the God-King, seems interesting. tahnk you
(
Nicole Laverdure 10:50am November 8, 2013)

Thanks so much, everyone! My stories always have a twist, and this one has a doozy. Can't say or it would be a spoiler. Hope you enjoy!
(
Anne Cleeland 10:55am November 8, 2013)

Egyptology is always fascinating. This looks like it will be a great read. Thank you for this chance to win a copy.
(
Vennie Martinisi 11:24am November 8, 2013)

Thanks for your kind words, everyone. All of my books have a big twist, and this one has a doozy--I hope you enjoy it!
(
Anne Cleeland 12:21pm November 8, 2013)

This is really a great blog full of informative and relly like it very much. health products scam || Xtreme No Review || Provillus Review A Scam || The Jump Manual Review || Heartburn No More Review
(
Franklyun Frazer 12:38pm November 8, 2013)

That's why it's fiction! You're allowed artistic liberties when writing,
otherwise it would be real life.
(
Michelle Schafer 2:39pm November 8, 2013)

I've always been fascinated with archaeology - this sounds
wonderful!
(
Diane Sallans 4:26pm November 8, 2013)

Enjoyed your guest blog. Thanks for the giveaway!
(
Jana Burkhardt 6:23pm November 8, 2013)

Ahhhh.....an attorney as author.....who better suited to parse reality and detail from fantasy and vagary?  The mystery of Egyptology set in the acquisitive and tricky Napoleonic era provides tension in an active, albeit licensed setting! Surely all these elements automatically conspire to deliver a captivating read propelled by the only real variable--a decent vocabulary, which every skilled attorney possesses. Thus, all in all, the promise of a GOOD read is certain here--even without a rigid British schedule of events and detail! An author frames a story in any viable manner to captivate a reader and, as an Egyptophile with period preferences, I very much look forward to this novel.
(
Carla Schuller 7:08pm November 8, 2013)

Don't be worried about what you write or whether your readers would be creeped out by a 15-year old heroine/romantic figure. That's what poetic license or creative writing is....and in those days, it wasn't uncommon for a 12-15 year old to be married off or sent to live with a much older man.
(
Susan Coster 7:13pm November 8, 2013)

Wow, Congrats on your new book: DAUGHTER OF THE GOD-KING. I
like the book cover too! Your new book sounds like a
fascinating read and very mysterious also. I appreciate you
explaining all the great details of making a fantastic book
like this come to Life. I would love to win and read it this
Fall. Thank You very much. Cecilia CECE
(
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez 7:46pm November 8, 2013)

Lovely cover art!
(
Callie Stuck 10:06pm November 8, 2013)

Telling a great story is a wonderful thing. How to
incorporate details to show time period and setting in an
acceptable manner must be tough.
(
G. Bisbjerg 10:07pm November 8, 2013)

I love a good mystery, but one that is also a thriller is just what the "book doctor" ordered for a relaxing winter weekend. A good book, a nice cuppa tea, a few little calorie free cookies (not really, but some tasty ones are ok) a nice comfy chair, and let your imagination flow! Thank you for writing a book that piques my attention.
(
C Culp 7:40am November 9, 2013)

I enjoy a story as long as it feels believable to me.
(
Maureen Emmons 10:59am November 9, 2013)

This sounds like a great story. Can't wait to read it.
(
Pam Howell 11:59am November 9, 2013)

I always learn more from historical fiction and mysteries.
Basing locations on facts of time, place and world events
offers the reader a chance to experience life as if one was
going back in time. It's a nice escape that I look forward
to with my hands ready to turn the pages and feel the
characters come to life.
(
Alyson Widen 12:10pm November 9, 2013)

Congratulations on your new book, Daughter of the God-King. This sounds like a very captivating mystery, and I like that it takes place in Egypt with archaeology as the story unfolds. Can't wait to read it and experience the journey!
(
Rich Cook 4:30pm November 9, 2013)

I love reading stories with the Egyptian background. Egypt is mysterious and ancient. This book is going on my TBR List.
(
Kai Wong 5:13pm November 9, 2013)

I haven't read a good mystery set in Egypt in years---I'd really like to read this one.
(
Sue Farrell 6:17pm November 9, 2013)

Congrats on your book! Sounds terrific! Love reading about Egypt especially!
(
May Pau 9:37pm November 9, 2013)

Sounds like an interesting read. I've always wondered how much research a writer does before setting words to paper.
(
Marcia Berbeza 2:03am November 10, 2013)

I think one thing that makes accuracy difficult is the fact
that books are written for today's readers who have real
difficulties dealing with the social realities of the past.
We want strong heroines placed in a time when few women had
the freedom to express their opinions let alone act on them.
We want considerate heroes willing to accept women of
strength. And the social realities of religion, class,
ethnicity, etc, don't always translate to those of today--
I'm with you! Do the best you can, but keep some of it
vague! Book sounds wonderful!
(
Janet Martin 7:59am November 10, 2013)

I've never read a book in which the storyline is in Egypt. It sounds very interesting. Thanks so much!
(
Bonnie Capuano 9:05am November 10, 2013)

I love mysteries and this one sounds like a great read. As far as accuracy goes, it's OK to be change history in some small way, but, to have huge, glaring discrepancies is really not acceptable in my opinion. Things like clothing that doesn't match the era, or items that weren't invented for another century (and I have come across many of those, ridiculous as it may seem) when it's that bad I won't read that author's books again.
(
Vennie Martinisi 10:04am November 10, 2013)

The storyline sounds very exciting. Thanks for the chance to read.
(
Lin Berda 11:49am November 10, 2013)

I love mystery stories . Enjoy reading how the detectives follow to get the bad guys.
(
Barbara Wells 3:24pm November 10, 2013)

Sounds like a great book. Love the cover. Thanks for a chance to win your book.
(
Linda Hall 5:04pm November 10, 2013)

This sounds like a very interesting suspenseful mystery. I would love to read this book as my sister took a trip to Egypt and came back with beautiful photos and stories. This is one I can't overlook reading!!
(
Linda Luinstra 5:46pm November 10, 2013)

True! I guess that's why reading is the ultimate escape-- it takes you very far away from the real world! I love it! :-)
(
Chelsea Brooks 6:29pm November 10, 2013)

What a fabulous story this promises to be.
(
Mary Preston 8:33pm November 10, 2013)

That's why I enjoy fiction. The details don't have to be exact. I hated the history tests that expected me to remember exact dates for anything besides July 4, 1776. They all blend together after a while.
(
Laura Gullickson 10:06pm November 10, 2013)

I don't feel that the details have to be exactly right. Most
of us will not pick up on them if we are engrossed in the
book. I love to read the story not nitpick it!
(
Debra Wright 11:27pm November 10, 2013)

no details don't have to be exact but not far apart either
(
Patricia Lambert 3:17pm November 11, 2013)

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy