July 27th, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
WHERE THERES A WILLWHERE THERES A WILL
Fresh Pick
EXPOSED
EXPOSED

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Reviewer Application


Summer reading in July you need to start

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Can a fairy garden shop owner and her sleuth fairy sidekick solve this murder?


slideshow image
Someone in London is cooking up murder …


slideshow image
Sometimes the biggest emotional risk reaps the best romantic reward…


slideshow image
A riveting new novel about family, secrets, and a woman ready to embrace who she really is by facing down her past.


slideshow image
Now in paperback! New York Times bestseller Cleo Coyle's "delightfully twisty" Coffeehouse Mystery


slideshow image
The Demon Hunters are about to face their biggest test, and they’ll need a lady to make the grade…


The Coming Storm

The Coming Storm, June 2021
by Regina M. Hansen

Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Featuring: Beet MacNeill; Marina Shaw
288 pages
ISBN: 153448244X
EAN: 9781534482449
Kindle: B08LDXSBZJ
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Intriguing Read for the Young (and even the not so young)"

Fresh Fiction Review

The Coming Storm
Regina M. Hansen

Reviewed by Carol Pennington
Posted June 2, 2021

Young Adult Fantasy | Young Adult Historical

If you like Scottish folklore, you will want to read THE COMING STORM. Beatrice MacNeill (Beet) is a Scottish Canadian teenager who lives on Prince Edward Island. Just before they were notified of her cousin Gerry’s death, she had a vision of Gerry playing a movingly beautiful, but sad, tune on his fiddle. She knew then that Gerry had died and she was seeing his spirit. The tune has haunted her ever since and she can’t seem to reproduce it no matter how hard she tries. A year later when her Aunt Sarah (Gerry’s mother) dies she experiences another otherworldly event upon meeting Marina Shaw, a woman who claims to be Sarah’s niece. Sarah was a strange woman, but Marina is even more strange. Beet enlists the help of her friends to unravel the mystery behind these strange occurrences and the strange woman.

This is a very interesting (and even a little creepy) tale. I love the use of Scottish folklore in the story. I also love the role music plays in the story. I thought the author did a great job with character development. The descriptions of scenes and events were also very well done. The only negative I have to give about the book is that it is a bit slow at the beginning. I was very confused about where the story was going. However, once it picked up, it never slowed again and I found it very intriguing.

Though this book is intended for younger readers, it is plenty of interest and complex enough to satisfy the adult reader. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a bit of mystery, fantasy and Scottish folklore.

Learn more about The Coming Storm

SUMMARY

Music, myth, and horror blend in this romantic, atmospheric fantasy debut about a teen girl who must fight a powerful evil that’s invaded her Prince Edward Island home—perfect for fans of An Enchantment of Ravens.

There’s a certain wild magic in the salt air and the thrum of the sea. Beet MacNeill has known this all her life. It added spice to her childhood adventures with her older cousin, Gerry, the two of them thick as thieves as they explored their Prince Edward Island home. So when Gerry comes up the path one early spring morning, Beet thinks nothing of it at first. But he is soaking wet and silent, and he plays a haunting tune on his fiddle that chills Beet to the bone. Something is very, very wrong.

Things only get worse when Marina Shaw saunters into town and takes an unsettling interest in Gerry’s new baby. Local lore is filled with tales of a vicious shape-shifting sea creature and the cold, beautiful woman who controls him—a woman who bears a striking resemblance to Marina. Beet is determined to find out what happened to her beloved cousin, and to prevent the same fate from befalling the handsome new boy in town who is winning her heart, whether she wants him to or not. Yet the sea always exacts a price...


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy