January 22nd, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Janna MacgregorJanna Macgregor
Fresh Pick
THE LOST MANUSCRIPT
THE LOST MANUSCRIPT

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


New Year, Great reads for January 2021

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
To Joshua, Cadence is a mystery to unravel.


slideshow image
In war-torn Berlin, two lovers risk all to save endangered Jews.


slideshow image
The holidays are served up with some spice in this small-town romance featuring a woman who must maintain a secret identity and the man who begins falling for her.


slideshow image
Catching a kidnapper takes teamwork...and a St. Bernard.


slideshow image
PI Emma Djan investigates the death of Lady Araba, a Ghanaian fashion icon and social media celebrity


After All I've Done

After All I've Done, November 2020
by Mina Hardy

Crooked Lane Books
310 pages
ISBN: 1643854704
EAN: 9781643854700
Kindle: B084V82QLG
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"I never saw the final revelation coming. It was stunning."

Fresh Fiction Review

After All I've Done
Mina Hardy

Reviewed by Karen Siddall
Posted November 5, 2020

Thriller Psychological

One evening Diana Sparrow hits a deer while driving, totaling her beloved cherry-red Camaro, and breaking both her collarbones in the process. When she awakens in the hospital after surgery, she realizes she cannot remember the previous couple of months of her life and is diagnosed with short-term amnesia due to anesthesia. She also discovers that her husband, Jonathan, is having an affair with her best friend, Val.

With Jonathan always "working late" and helpless to do for herself, Diana relies heavily on her mother-in-law, Harriett, who lives in a garage apartment on the property. Diana has always loved Harriett, who was more of a mother to her than her own mother had ever been. But over the course of her recovery, and although grateful, she begins to feel smothered by Harriett’s constant attention.

The healing process is painful, slow, and uncertain; collarbones heal differently than other bone breaks, and Diana tries to tough her way through the pain rather than depend on the medication prescribed by her doctor. However, she continues to feel muddle-headed and out of focus, and the pill bottles seem to need refilling more and more often. A glass of her favorite wine appears to hit her much harder than it should, and the recycle bin has many more empty bottles in it than she remembers opening, drinking, or emptying. Figuratively cut off from the support of Val or Jonathan, Diana wonders if the memory loss is more than what she’d been told and that she’s losing her mind.

AFTER ALL I’VE DONE is the new domestic thriller by Mina Hardy (the pseudonym of author Megan Hart), and it’s an enthralling tale of betrayal. It is told in alternating points-of-view, switching among Diana, best friend, Val, and later in the story, Cole, a figure from Diana’s missing months. The story is slowly revealed in present time but is given weight and a whole different meaning through flashbacks. I never saw the final revelation coming nor the subsequent results. It was stunning.

I highly recommend AFTER ALL I’VE DONE to readers that enjoy domestic thrillers, family dramas, psychological thrillers, and amnesia-themed mysteries.

Learn more about After All I've Done

SUMMARY

Writing as Mina Hardy, New York Times bestselling author Megan Hart delivers a thrilling new psychological suspense for fans of The Woman in the Window and When the Lights Go Out.

She's lost her best friend, her husband--and possibly, her mind.

Five months ago, an accident left Diana Sparrow badly injured and missing a few months of her memory. As if that's not enough, she's started having recurring nightmares about the night of the accident. Dreams that feel so real, she's left questioning: maybe she didn't just slide off the road into a ditch. Maybe, just maybe, she hit something. Or someone.

She can't turn to her former best friend Val, who's been sleeping with Diana's husband Jonathan for months, but she might find some comfort in newcomer Cole Pelham. Yet the closer they become, the more Diana begins to wonder what really happened that night--and how Cole might be connected. Worse, it seems everyone else could be involved, too.

Who was with her that night? What really happened? As her life unravels thread by thread and the dreams become too real to ignore, Diana will have to face the unthinkable--and do the unforgivable.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy