June 3rd, 2020
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
INTO THE LYONS DENINTO THE LYONS DEN
Fresh Pick
CLAIMED BY A STEELE
CLAIMED BY A STEELE

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Summer Kick-Off

Reviewer Application


June blooms with love and intrigue

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
He's DANGEROUS. She's DETERMINED. Their relationship is COMPLICATED


slideshow image
They give a whole new meaning to attorney-client privilege.


slideshow image
Sometimes you have to break a family to fix it.


slideshow image
When a child god goes missing, can two enemies unite to find her?


slideshow image
In the land of goblins, humans are a fairy tale…


slideshow image
Sparks fly between an L.A. career woman and a former Army Ranger in this delightful enemies-to-lovers romance


slideshow image
How secrets and differences can break—or bind—a family.


Chaos Reigning

Chaos Reigning, May 2020
Consortium Rebellion #3
by Jessie Mihalik

Harper Voyager
416 pages
ISBN: 0062802429
EAN: 9780062802422
Kindle: B07WCPKG1M
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"A party girl turned super spy saves the universe and finds love while doing so..."

Fresh Fiction Review

Chaos Reigning
Jessie Mihalik

Reviewed by Make Kay
Posted May 21, 2020

Science Fiction Space Opera | Science Fiction Romance | Romance Science Fiction

All hail the glorious finale in the Consortium Rebellion series by Jessie Mihalik, CHAOS REIGNING! This series has been absolutely delightful, and Mihalik has catapulted to become one of my favorite authors. This is a sci fi romance cum space opera, and every book has packed its own super punch.  Fans of Sandy Williams’ Anomaly series or Rachel Bach’s Paradox series will gobble this gem up with glee.

I’m a sucker for competence porn.  Each of the siblings of the von Hasenberg house, one of the High Houses of the Consortium, is wildly competent in their own other-worldly way. They manage to pull off feats as unlikely as the Mission Impossible team, and it’s such glorious fun to follow each as they tumble through the intrigue and chaos that the current inter-House war entails. Catarina von Hasenberg is the baby of her High House with five uber-impressive siblings. A sickly child growing up, as well as the youngest, she is used to being overlooked and dismissed. But Catarina uses her flighty and bubbly persona as a shield for her spying activities and as a cover for her Super Soldier attributes. You go, girl!

When a hostile takeover of the Consortium leaves Catarina in charge of her House, she sheds her "fun girl" persona and steps up to attempt to save the universe.  At her side are two soldiers hired by her older sister Bianca, who have their own freaky secrets to protect whilst they protect Cat. There’s plenty of intrigue and lots of guerrilla warfare. Unfortunately, book 3 is not nearly as strong in the romance as AURORA BLAZING or POLARIS RISING, but the rollicking pace of the book keeps things moving happily along, and I was captivated nonetheless.

CHAOS REIGNING is fast-moving, with a roiling and twisty plot, plenty of blaster fire, and edge-of-your-seat danger. I’m extremely sorry to see this series close, so I was thrilled to see a new space series will be coming in 2022 from Mihalik.  She’s proven her sci-fi romance moxie to me in spades, and I’m Mihalik's loyal reading servant now.

 

Learn more about Chaos Reigning

SUMMARY

Interplanetary intrigue and romance combine in this electrifying finale to the Consortium Rebellion series.

As the youngest member of her High House, Catarina von Hasenberg is used to being underestimated, but her youth and flighty, bubbly personality mask a clever mind and stubborn determination. Her enemies, blind to her true strength, do not suspect that Cat is a spy—which makes her the perfect candidate to go undercover at a rival House’s summer retreat to gather intelligence on their recent treachery.

Cat’s overprotective older sister reluctantly agrees, but on one condition: Cat cannot go alone. Alexander Sterling, a quiet, gorgeous bodyguard, will accompany her, posing as her lover. After Cat tries, and fails, to ditch Alex, she grudgingly agrees, confident in her ability to manage him. After all, she’s never found a person she can’t manipulate.

But Alex proves more difficult—and more desirable—than Cat anticipated. When she’s attacked and nearly killed, she and Alex are forced to work together to figure out how deep the treason goes. With rumors of widespread assaults on Serenity raging, communications down, and the rest of her family trapped off-planet, Catarina must persuade Alex to return to Earth to expose the truth and finish this deadly battle once and for all.

But Cat can’t explain why she’s the perfect person to infiltrate hostile territory without revealing secrets she’d rather keep buried. . . .


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy