June 28th, 2022
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
YOU CAN RUNYOU CAN RUN
Fresh Pick
WEST SIDE LOVE STORY
WEST SIDE LOVE STORY

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Video Book Club


Summer reads begin in June!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Two determined souls plumb the dark depths of the past in order to forge a brighter future--together.


slideshow image
"He could see her face. And she couldn’t breathe…"


slideshow image
Can a chance meeting open a grieving heart to love?


slideshow image
When the going gets tough, the tough get their hands dirty.


slideshow image
RUN. HIDE. SEEK.


slideshow image
Channeling Indiana Jones, author Kat Martin pairs a woman in search of her family's truth with a hard-hitting professional treasure hunter!


A Bend in the Stars

A Bend in the Stars, May 2019
by Rachel Barenbaum

Grand Central Publishing
464 pages
ISBN: 1538746263
EAN: 9781538746264
Kindle: B07H288HLX
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Perfect for fans of romance and science!"

Fresh Fiction Review

A Bend in the Stars
Rachel Barenbaum

Reviewed by Magdalena Johansson
Posted June 6, 2019

Historical | Literature and Fiction

Russia, 1914. Miri Abramov and her brother Vanya have been raised by their grandmother after their parents' death years before. There is unrest in the country and the Jewish communities are especially at risk. Miri Abramov is now one of few female surgeons, while Vanya is a physicist who dreams of solving the final puzzle concerning Einstein's theory of relativity. Now an eclipse is coming and this could be the answer to solving the puzzle. However, with Russia at war, it is unsure if Vanya will be able to take the photographs he needs to confirm his theory. But, he will not give up and together with Miri's fiance he sneaks away from the army in hopes of taking photographs of the eclipse...

A BEND IN THE STARS is perfect for readers who like to read about both romance and science. I must say that science isn't my strongest subject nor am I a big fan of romance. However, I do find reading historical novels about scientists and their discoveries fascinating. As for the romance, it was easy to see how Miri's life would turn on its head when she saved a soldier that had deserted. Yes, she's engaged and her fiance is a great man. However, you can't control one's heart. The more time she spends with the soldier, Sasha, the more Miri struggles to stay true to her fiance... How does it all end? You have to read the book to find out!

A BEND IN THE STARS is a long book, and the pacing went up and down throughout the book. Personally, I found the romance aspects to hinder the book and would have preferred Vanya's story taking center stage rather than Miri's love life. But to each their own, and I bet romance lovers will love Miri's part.

Learn more about A Bend in the Stars

SUMMARY

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve one of the greatest mysteries of the universe.

In Russia, in the summer of 1914, as war with Germany looms and the Czar's army tightens its grip on the local Jewish community, Miri Abramov and her brilliant physicist brother, Vanya, are facing an impossible decision. Since their parents drowned fleeing to America, Miri and Vanya have been raised by their babushka, a famous matchmaker who has taught them to protect themselves at all costs: to fight, to kill if necessary, and always to have an escape plan. But now, with fierce, headstrong Miri on the verge of becoming one of Russia's only female surgeons, and Vanya hoping to solve the final puzzles of Einstein's elusive theory of relativity, can they bear to leave the homeland that has given them so much?

Before they have time to make their choice, war is declared and Vanya goes missing, along with Miri's fiancé. Miri braves the firing squad to go looking for them both. As the eclipse that will change history darkens skies across Russia, not only the safety of Miri's own family but the future of science itself hangs in the balance.

Grounded in real history -- and inspired by the solar eclipse of 1914 -- A Bend in the Stars offers a heartstopping account of modern science's greatest race amidst the chaos of World War I, and a love story as epic as the railways crossing Russia.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2022 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy