October 29th, 2020
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
THICK AS THIEVESTHICK AS THIEVES
Fresh Pick
WERE-GEEKS SAVE LAKE WACKA WACKA
WERE-GEEKS SAVE LAKE WACKA WACKA

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Reviewer Application


Get a great read for October

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Publishers Weekly called Misleading A Duke "high-octane" and said, "This immersive, fast-paced novel will have readers on the edges of their seats."


slideshow image
Welcome to Bushwhack, New Mexico: home to tourists, the great outdoors, and murder…


slideshow image
High-Octane Action Packed Ride


slideshow image
Desire as volatile as theirs has consequences that could last a lifetime…


slideshow image
Ho. Ho. No…dead body at th Santa House


slideshow image
Can the magic of mistletoe bring together two busy single parents?


slideshow image
Barcelona—exquisite architecture, masterful artists, and just down the coast, an ancient fortress where an old and powerful vampire lives…and rules all of Spain.


The Unfinished Life Of Addison Stone

The Unfinished Life Of Addison Stone, August 2014
by Adele Griffin

Soho Teen
Featuring: Addison Stone
256 pages
ISBN: 1616953608
EAN: 9781616953607
Kindle: B00IHMBW2I
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Fictional documentary so good that it will have you questioning whether or not it's real!"

Fresh Fiction Review

The Unfinished Life Of Addison Stone
Adele Griffin

Reviewed by Debbie Wiley
Posted August 6, 2014

Young Adult

Addison Stone's death at the age of eighteen shocked the world. Was the young artist murdered, a victim of suicide, or was it simply an accident? Through interview snippets, Adele Griffin shows us the story of Addison Stone's tumultuous rise to fame as well as her dramatic end.

Wow! THE UNFINISHED LIFE OF ADDISON STONE is a fictional documentary but don't be surprised if you find yourself repeatedly questioning whether or not it's fictional. I must have googled the people, places and events half a dozen times as Adele Griffin does such a marvelous job at making the story seem real. We meet a plethora of characters and yet it is neither overwhelming nor do their personalities seem flat. Instead, Adele Griffin offers readers snippets of interviews that both shed light on the personality and events of Addison's life but also provide us insight into the actual interviewees. And who can't help but love the mystery of Ida and her impact on Addison's world?

Addison is a very emotional and passionate character. She throws herself wholeheartedly into anything and anyone she has contact with. Consequently, the love triangle she's involved in is perhaps the most chaotic and dangerously obsessive one I've ever read. So many times I wanted to close my eyes from the mayhem that was about to ensue and yet the story is so compelling that I couldn't put it down!

Adele Griffin takes the concept of epistolary fiction and turns it upside down! From the marvelous artwork to the very distinct voices of the people interviewed, THE UNFINISHED LIFE OF ADDISON STONE offers readers a unique and captivating fictional documentary. The strong cautionary message about mental health, medication, and obsession is quite powerful. I can't recommend THE UNFINISHED LIFE OF ADDISON STONE highly enough!

Learn more about The Unfinished Life Of Addison Stone

SUMMARY

For fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Girl, Interrupted, and A.S. King, National Book Award- finalist Adele Griffin tells the fully illustrated story of a brilliant young artist, her mysterious death, and the fandom that won't let her go.

From the moment she stepped foot in NYC, Addison Stone’s subversive street art made her someone to watch, and her violent drowning left her fans and critics craving to know more. I conducted interviews with those who knew her best— including close friends, family, teachers, mentors, art dealers, boyfriends, and critics—and retraced the tumultuous path of Addison's life. I hope I can shed new light on what really happened the night of July 28.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy