May 20th, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
SPIDER AND FROSTSPIDER AND FROST
Fresh Pick
MIND GAMES
MIND GAMES

New Books This Week

Fresh Fiction Box

Video Book Club

Latest Articles


Discover May's Best New Reads: Stories to Ignite Your Spring Days.

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
"COLD FURY defines the modern romantic thriller."�-�NYT�bestselling author Jayne Ann Krentz


slideshow image
Romance writer and reluctant cop navigate sparks during fateful ride-alongs.


slideshow image
Free on Kindle Unlimited


slideshow image
A child under his protection�and a hit man in pursuit.


slideshow image
Courtney Kelly sees things others can�t�like fairies, and hidden motives for murder . . .


slideshow image
Reunited in danger�and bound by desire


slideshow image
Journey to a city that�s full of quirky, zany superheroes finding love while they battle over-the-top, evil ubervillains bent on world domination.


The Burning Island

The Burning Island, February 2019
Charlie Cates #3
by Hester Young

G.P. Putnam's Sons
Featuring: Charlie Cates
416 pages
ISBN: 0399174028
EAN: 9780399174025
Kindle: B07CR3T912
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Charlie Cates is once against disturbed by dreams of a missing child..."

Fresh Fiction Review

The Burning Island
Hester Young

Reviewed by Magdalena Johansson
Posted February 13, 2019

Thriller Psychological

In the third book about journalist Charlie Cates she goes with a gal pal to Hawaii. She needs some time away from home after newspapers have gotten to know that she has a supernatural talent; she can find lost children. And what better way is there then to accept an interview job on Hawaii? Well, she hardly has landed before she got the first dream vision of a child in trouble.

With THE BURNING ISLAND I have now read all the books there are about Charlie Cates. I do love to read mystery books that add a paranormal angle to it. That was what attracted me to the first book in the series. Charlie has been through a lot. It was after her first child had died that her "gift" manifested. She has always been keen on keeping everyone, but those very close to her, from knowing this. However, now everyone that can read knows about her ability. I think that relocating this book story to Hawaii was a brilliant move. I've not read many mystery books set on Hawaii so that made this story extra interesting to read. As the story involves children there is always a tone of sadness in her cases. It is just something really heartbreaking about reading about children going missing. The girl she tries to find has been gone for weeks. Her father thinks she has run away, but others think that she's dead. Can Charlie find her, alive?

All the Charlie Cates books can be read as stand-alone, but they are so good that I would recommend going back and start with the first book, THE GATES OF EVANGELINE to get the full back story.

Learn more about The Burning Island

SUMMARY

The newest haunting mystery from the beloved author of The Gates of Evangeline, featuring Charlie Cates, a headstrong heroine who must confront her unwanted supernatural gift and bring dark secrets to light if she ever wants to leave the Big Island . . .

Journalist Charlie Cates has always believed in facts, in what can be proved--her career depends on it. Which is why she has never truly accepted the supernatural visions that guide her to children in danger. After her work on a high-profile missing-child case brings unwanted fame, she reluctantly flees to the lush Big Island of Hawaii with her best friend, Rae. Determined to avoid her disturbing visions, Charlie begins writing what seems to be a harmless interview of a prominent volcanologist, Victor Nakagawa. But her hopes for a peaceful vacation are soon dashed by haunting dreams of a local girl who went missing six weeks earlier.

In the small and sleepy town of Kalo Valley, Charlie and Rae come to realize that even paradise has its ugly secrets, and the Nakagawa family is no exception. In order to find the missing teenager and stop a dangerous predator from striking again, Charlie is forced to embrace the gift she has always tried to conceal. Meanwhile, someone is watching her every move, and the closer Charlie gets to the truth, the more distant her chances of ever leaving the island alive.

With a deliciously eerie and fast-paced story told in vivid prose, all with an overlay of supernatural suspense, The Burning Island is a pulse-pounding mystery perfect for fans of Jennifer McMahon and Kate Atkinson.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy