June 28th, 2022
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
THE LIES I TOLDTHE LIES I TOLD
Fresh Pick
WEST SIDE LOVE STORY
WEST SIDE LOVE STORY

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Video Book Club

Sign up for June's Fresh Contests

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good Morning Texas

Good Morning Texas - Buy the Book

WFAA Channel 8 Mondays through Fridays, 9am-10am

Next Show: Books Inspired by the Movies

Join us on Monday, February 25th at 9:00am Central Time on WFAA Channel 8, Good Morning Texas

As always you can find more at or follow Gwen on Twitter at @ReelVixen and Good Morning Texas at @WFAAGMT

Books Inspired by Movies

Glamour, excitement, red carpets popping up EVERY WHERE! It's the annual biggest party for movies and every one is talking about film! So why not change the subject just a bit and talk about some of the books that either inspired the films or are reading to continue to keep you in the mood? We've got everything from a suspense set in New Orleans after Katrina to the story of Mrs. Lincoln's dressmaker, to the real life adventures of Tony Mendez and a little something in between.

As always you can find more at FreshFiction.com/GMT, on Good Morning Texas or follow Gwen on Twitter at @ReelVixen and Good Morning Texas at @WFAAGMT


Hell Or High Water
Thomas Dunne Books
July 2012
On Sale: July 17, 2012
352 pages
ISBN: 1250004578
EAN: 9781250004574
Kindle: B007CJ8E3M
Hardcover / e-Book

Hell Or High Water

Joy Castro

A psychological thriller in the vein of Kate Atkinson and Tana French that introduces Nola Cspedes, an intense and spellbinding protagonist

Nola Cspedes, an ambitious young reporter at the Times-Picayune, catches a break: An assignment to write her first full-length feature. While researching her story, she also becomes fixated on the search for a missing tourist in New Orleans. As Nola's work leads her into darker corners of the city, a singular narrative voice emerges, and an even more compelling question surfaces: Who is Nola Cspedes? Vividly rendered in razor sharp prose, this novel is a riveting journey of trust betrayed—and the courageous struggle toward recovery.

Thriller | Suspense

Buy on Amazon Buy at Barnes&Noble.com Buy at Powells Kindle Buy at Independent Bookstore


The Painted Girls
Riverhead
January 2013
On Sale: January 10, 2013
368 pages
ISBN: 1594486247
EAN: 9781594486241
Kindle: B008U4BQWO
Hardcover / e-Book

The Painted Girls

Cathy Marie Buchanan

A heartrending novel set in belle poque Paris, inspired by the real-life model for Edgar Degas's Little Dancer Aged Fourteen and a notorious criminal trial of the era.

Paris. 1878. Following their father's sudden death, the van Goethem sisters find their lives upended. Without his wages, and with the small amount their laundress mother earns disappearing into the absinthe bottle, eviction from their lodgings seems imminent. With few options for work, fourteen-year-old Marie is dispatched to the Paris Opra, where for the scant salary of seventy francs a month she will be trained to enter the famous Ballet. Her older sister, Antoinette, finds work as an extra in a stage adaptation of mile Zola's Naturalist masterpiece L'Assommoir.

Marie throws herself into dance and is soon modelling in the studio of Edgar Degas, where her image will forever be immortalized as Little Dancer Aged Fourteen. Antoinette, meanwhile, descends lower and lower in society, and must make the choice between a life of honest labor and the more profitable avenues open to a young woman of the Parisian demimonde—that is, unless her love affair derails her completely.

Set at a moment of profound artistic, cultural and societal change, The Painted Girls is a tale of two remarkable sisters rendered uniquely vulnerable to the darker impulses of "civilized society."

Historical | Fiction

Buy on Amazon Buy at Barnes&Noble.com Buy at Powells Kindle Buy at Independent Bookstore


Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker
Dutton
January 2013
On Sale: January 15, 2013
352 pages
ISBN: 0525953612
EAN: 9780525953616
Kindle: B008BM4NFC
Hardcover / e-Book

Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker

Jennifer Chiaverini

New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Chiaverini illuminates the extraordinary friendship between Mary Todd Lincoln and Elizabeth Hobbs Keckley, a former slave who won her freedom by the skill of her needle, and the friendship of the First Lady by her devotion.

In Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker, novelist Jennifer Chiaverini presents a stunning account of the friendship that blossomed between Mary Todd Lincoln and her seamstress, Elizabeth "Lizzie" Keckley, a former slave who gained her professional reputation in Washington, D.C. by outfitting the city's elite. Keckley made history by sewing for First Lady Mary Todd Lincoln within the White House, a trusted witness to many private moments between the President and his wife, two of the most compelling figures in American history.

In March 1861, Mrs. Lincoln chose Keckley from among a number of applicants to be her personal "modiste," responsible not only for creating the First Lady's gowns, but also for dressing Mrs. Lincoln in the beautiful attire Keckley had fashioned. The relationship between the two women quickly evolved, as Keckley was drawn into the intimate life of the Lincoln family, supporting Mary Todd Lincoln in the loss of first her son, and then her husband to the assassination that stunned the nation and the world.

Keckley saved scraps from the dozens of gowns she made for Mrs. Lincoln, eventually piecing together a tribute known as the Mary Todd Lincoln Quilt. She also saved memories, which she fashioned into a book, Behind the Scenes: Thirty Years a Slave and Four Years in the White House. Upon its publication, Keckley's memoir created a scandal that compelled Mary Todd Lincoln to sever all ties with her, but in the decades since, Keckley's story has languished in the archives. In this impeccably researched, engrossing novel, Chiaverini brings history to life in rich, moving style.

Mystery Historical

Buy on Amazon Buy at Barnes&Noble.com Buy at Powells Kindle Buy at Independent Bookstore


The Whole Stupid Way We Are
Atheneum Books for Young Readers
February 2013
On Sale: February 5, 2013
384 pages
ISBN: 1442431555
EAN: 9781442431553
Kindle: B0088P0JD2
Hardcover / e-Book

The Whole Stupid Way We Are

N. Griffin

What happens when everything you've got to give isn't enough to save someone you love?

It's Maine. It's winter. And it's FREEZING STINKIN' COLD! Dinah is wildly worried about her best friend, Skint. He won't wear a coat. Refuses to wear a coat. It's twelve degrees out, and he won't wear a coat. So Dinah's going to figure out how to help. That's what Dinah does—she helps. But she's too busy trying to help to notice that sometimes, she's doing more harm than good. Seeing the trees instead of the forest? That's Dinah.

And Skint isn't going to be the one to tell her. He's got his own problems. He's worried about a little boy whose dad won't let him visit his mom. He's worried about an elderly couple in a too-cold house down the street.

But the wedge between what drives Dinah and what concerns Skint is wide enough for a big old slab of ice. Because Skint's own father is in trouble. Because Skint's mother refuses to ask for help even though she's at her breaking point. And because Dinah might just decide to...help. She thinks she's cracking through a sheet of ice, but what's actually there is an entire iceberg.

Young Adult

Buy on Amazon Buy at Barnes&Noble.com Buy at Powells Kindle Buy at Independent Bookstore


Circle Of Deception
Avon Red
February 2013
On Sale: January 22, 2013
400 pages
ISBN: 0062225340
EAN: 9780062225344
Kindle: B007UPDF96
Paperback / e-Book
facebookbloggoodreadstwitter

Circle Of Deception

Carla Swafford

Carla Swafford's erotic Circle series comes to an exhilarating finale as the team of sexy spies and assassins goes undercover—under the covers.

After disappearing days before her wedding to fellow Circle agent Rex Drago, Abby Rodriguez discovered that trying to reclaim a life—and a love—lost is a whole lot harder than she thought. When her family's safety is threatened by an arms dealer, Abby must go undercover with the one man who sees right through her as they play the scariest roles yet: husband and wife.

Mission or no mission, Rex Drago wants answers from his ex-fiancee. Forced to play along as a rival arms dealer and the husband he once wanted to be, Rex is finding it hard to stay professional—especially since Abby is just as hot as ever. And when they find themselves in a very intimate position, Abby and Rex must act the part—or risk blowing their cover entirely.

Romance Erotica Sensual | Romance Suspense

Buy on Amazon Buy at Barnes&Noble.com Buy at Powells Kindle Buy at Independent Bookstore


Argo
Viking
September 2012
On Sale: September 13, 2012
310 pages
ISBN: 0670026220
EAN: 9780670026227
Kindle: B007V65PLA
Hardcover / e-Book

Argo

Antonio Mendez, Matt Baglio

How the CIA and Hollywood Pulled off the Most Audacious Rescue in History

The true, declassified account of CIA operative Tony Mendez's daring rescue of American hostages from Iran that inspired the critically-acclaimed film directed by and starring Ben Affleck, and co-starring John Goodman, Alan Arkin, and Bryan Cranston.

On November 4, 1979, Iranian militants stormed the American embassy in Tehran and captured dozens of American hostages, sparking a 444-day ordeal and a quake in global politics still reverberating today. But there is a little-known drama connected to the crisis: six Americans escaped. And a top-level CIA officer named Antonio Mendez devised an ingenious yet incredibly risky plan to rescue them before they were detected.

Disguising himself as a Hollywood producer, and supported by a cast of expert forgers, deep cover CIA operatives, foreign agents, and Hollywood special effects artists, Mendez traveled to Tehran under the guise of scouting locations for a fake science fiction film called Argo. While pretending to find the perfect film backdrops, Mendez and a colleague succeeded in contacting the escapees, and smuggling them out of Iran.

Antonio Mendez finally details the extraordinarily complex and dangerous operation he led more than three decades ago. A riveting story of secret identities and international intrigue, Argo is the gripping account of the history-making collusion between Hollywood and high-stakes espionage.

Non-Fiction Memoir

Buy on Amazon Buy at Barnes&Noble.com Buy at Powells Kindle Buy at Independent Bookstore

Past Shows

Monday, February 4th, 2013

Valentine's Day Watch it now!

Thursday, January 23rd, 2013

Jumpstart Your Book Club Watch it now!

Thursday, January 3rd, 2013

13 Books to Read in 2013 Watch it now!

Monday, December 17th, 2012

Gifts to make you a star! Watch it now!

Monday, November 26th, 2012

Endings but a new beginning...perfect for holiday gifting Watch it now!

Monday, November 5th, 2012

Honoring our Veterans...in fiction Watch it now!

Wednesday, October 17th, 2012

Freaks, Shrieks and Scary Reads Watch it now!

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Heroes, Watch it now!

Thursday, September 5, 2012

Paranormal to Fantasy, summer reading beyond reality, Watch it now!

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Paranormal to Fantasy, summer reading beyond reality, Watch it now!

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Paranormal to Fantasy, summer reading beyond reality, Watch it now!

Wednesday, July 2, 2012

Suspense, Get Your Heart Pumping: from cozies to thrillers, Watch it now!

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Books to Keep Your Teen Reading All Summer Long, Watch it now!

Monday, May 21, 2012

Gwen Reyes talks about Memorial Day books on Good Morning Texas on 5/21. Watch it now!

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Gwen Reyes talks about "hot books" on Good Morning Texas on 5/2. Watch it now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2022 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy