May 10th, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
BOUND BY SHADOWSBOUND BY SHADOWS
Fresh Pick
THE LADY HAS A PAST
THE LADY HAS A PAST

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Events

Reviewer Application


Books to enjoy in May! Let your reading blosson!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A prim bookseller and her hardboiled ghost team up to catch a cunning killer in…


slideshow image
Welcome to Bushwhack, New Mexico: home to tourists, the great outdoors, and murder…


slideshow image
Friendship. Second chances. Lots of dogs!


slideshow image
A secret no one dared whisper...


slideshow image
In service to His Majesty, one must be prepared for Hell.


slideshow image
RESCUE: COWBOY STYLE by REBECCA ZANETTI


The Hunting Party

The Hunting Party, February 2019
by Lucy Foley

William Morrow
336 pages
ISBN: 006286890X
EAN: 9780062868909
Kindle: B07B7LLJLZ
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Someone has a secret worth killing for..."

Fresh Fiction Review

The Hunting Party
Lucy Foley

Reviewed by Magdalena Johansson
Posted February 13, 2019

Thriller Psychological

A group of college friends is spending the Christmas break together at a hunting lodge. Spending time together welcoming in the New Year has long been a tradition for them, and this year the place is a remote estate in the Scottish Highlands. However, this year everything will change. This year, one of them will die, and one of them will be the killer.

I absolutely love reading books like this. Whodunnit books on remote places with people that seem friendly, but have dark secrets. THE HUNTING PARTY was a book right up my alley. Now, I don't want to spoil anything, so I will be pretty vague with the story. It's much more fun to read this book knowing next to nothing. The storyline moves between before and after the murder. And, you really get the feeling that these "friends" aren't really that friendly. And, being together, trapped together will lead to one of them being killed, the question is, who is the one killed and why? And, will the rest of them come away from the lodge alive?

THE HUNTING PARTY is a fabulous thriller, perfect for those that love intense, page-turning books where one learns that the people involved all have deep dark secrets.

Learn more about The Hunting Party

SUMMARY

Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect...

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy