December 5th, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
LYON HEARTEDLYON HEARTED
Fresh Pick
AT THE CROSSROADS
AT THE CROSSROADS

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Holiday Giveaways


Your starred reads for December are here!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image


slideshow image
From one long-ago night…To a Christmas reunion!


slideshow image
He must guard her—but can he guard his heart?
Kindle Unlimited


slideshow image
Castles are built one stone at a time…


slideshow image
Her bachelors are charming and cunning when it comes to the ways of love—until the right woman captures their unsuspecting hearts…


slideshow image
Julie Ann Walker delivers perfect pulse-pounding romantic suspense!


The Hunting Party

The Hunting Party, February 2019
by Lucy Foley

William Morrow
336 pages
ISBN: 006286890X
EAN: 9780062868909
Kindle: B07B7LLJLZ
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Someone has a secret worth killing for..."

Fresh Fiction Review

The Hunting Party
Lucy Foley

Reviewed by Magdalena Johansson
Posted February 13, 2019

Thriller Psychological

A group of college friends is spending the Christmas break together at a hunting lodge. Spending time together welcoming in the New Year has long been a tradition for them, and this year the place is a remote estate in the Scottish Highlands. However, this year everything will change. This year, one of them will die, and one of them will be the killer.

I absolutely love reading books like this. Whodunnit books on remote places with people that seem friendly, but have dark secrets. THE HUNTING PARTY was a book right up my alley. Now, I don't want to spoil anything, so I will be pretty vague with the story. It's much more fun to read this book knowing next to nothing. The storyline moves between before and after the murder. And, you really get the feeling that these "friends" aren't really that friendly. And, being together, trapped together will lead to one of them being killed, the question is, who is the one killed and why? And, will the rest of them come away from the lodge alive?

THE HUNTING PARTY is a fabulous thriller, perfect for those that love intense, page-turning books where one learns that the people involved all have deep dark secrets.

Learn more about The Hunting Party

SUMMARY

Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect...

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy