October 17th, 2017
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
Rebecca ZannettiRebecca Zannetti
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
ONE SUMMER NIGHT

Schedule Call

Readers & 'ritas

Reviewer Application


Suspense, thrills and love in October Best Reads

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
If only life came with instructions.


slideshow image
There is nothing in the universe the cursed dragon, Falcyn, hates more than humanity . . . except Greek humans.


slideshow image
No bodices were harmed in this historical romance.


slideshow image
Together we'll save the world...Unless we kill each other first.


slideshow image
“The Wrath Is Coming.” But They Don’T Know Where—Or When.


slideshow image
PREORDER this sexy & emotional story about a single dad wild with grief and the strong survivor he hires as his nanny!


Beware That Girl

Beware That Girl, June 2016
by Teresa Toten

Delacorte Press
Featuring: Kate O’Brien
336 pages
ISBN: 0553507907
EAN: 9780553507904
Kindle: B015VAA7WO
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"A psychological thriller where no one can be trusted"

Fresh Fiction Review

Beware That Girl
Teresa Toten

Reviewed by Samantha Randolph
Posted June 29, 2016

Young Adult Suspense

Kate O'Brien is used to being the scholarship kid after she's moved around so many times. With her expert lying skills, she finds wealthy student Olivia at her newest school and plans to use Olivia for status, money, social rank, and maybe a little friendship on the side. When their school gets a new administrator, Mark Redkin, both Kate and Olivia's plans are thrown as it seems Mark isn't quite as charming as he seems. In a group of the privileged, it's hard to tell who is the best liar.

BEWARE THAT GIRL is a psychological thriller focusing on two girls, Kate and Olivia, who are more than they seem. Kate has a troubled history of a sociopathic father, and she worries that her lies and deceit make her just like him. Olivia has a history of mental illness, and she sometimes stops using her medication because it makes her feel flat. What starts as a mutually beneficial relationship, where Kate gets status and money and Olivia gets a friend she desperately needs, turns into something much more complex where readers will feel a strange mixture of sympathy, distrust, and even hope for both characters. Just when one of the characters seems fully formed and left with no surprises, another shocking discovery changes everything once again. Those who love a good plot twist may find their latest favorite with Teresa Toten's latest novel.

With a preying teacher, an elite school, and two young women who may or may not be as manipulative as they seem, BEWARE THAT GIRL is a fast paced, electric read where no one can be trusted, and the end will leave you in gasps.

Learn more about Beware That Girl

SUMMARY

For fans of We Were Liars, The Girl on the Train, and Gone Girl, this powerful psychological thriller with multiple mysteries is set against the backdrop of the megawealthy elite of New York City. Toten delves into the mesmerizing yet dysfunctional world of those who manipulate but seem ever so charming. With its gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists, Beware That Girl will keep readers guessing until the very last line.

The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O’Brien appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she’s had to snake her way out of—some more sinister than others. But she’s determined to change that. She’s book smart. She’s street-smart. Oh, and she’s also a masterful liar.

As the scholarship student at the Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: her plan is to climb the social ladder and land a spot at Yale. She’s already found her “people” among the senior class “it” girls—specifically in the cosseted, mega-wealthy yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she’s always needed, the sister she never had.

When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration, he immediately charms his way into the faculty’s and students’ lives—becoming especially close to Olivia, a fact she’s intent on keeping to herself. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can’t reveal—and can’t afford to ignore. How close can Kate and Olivia get to Mark without having to share their dark pasts?


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

 

Fresh Fiction contests

© 2003-2017 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+