January 18th, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
Eloisa JamesEloisa James
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
THE BRIGHTEST FELL

Reviewer Application

Readers & 'ritas


New Year, New Books to love in January

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Someone in London is cooking up murder …


slideshow image
How much would you risk to turn your life around?


slideshow image
RT TOP PICK! What if your prime suspects in a hefty art theft are two men you simply can't resist?


slideshow image
In Nashville the music is louder, the dreams are bigger, and love can bring a cowboy to his knees.


slideshow image
A broken promise, a terrifying legacy


Dark Energy

Dark Energy, April 2016
by Robison Wells

HarperTeen
Featuring: Alice
ISBN: 0062275054
EAN: 9780062275059
Kindle: B0111ZUYG2
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"What happens when the aliens emerge from their UFO?"

Fresh Fiction Review

Dark Energy
Robison Wells

Reviewed by Debbie Wiley
Posted March 26, 2016

Young Adult | Young Adult Science Fiction

Alice Goodwin is not happy that the aliens crash landed in the Midwest. Rather than enjoying the warmth of sunny Miami, Florida, she's had to travel with her father to the cold of Minnesota. After all, Alice's dad is the director of special projects at NASA, and the aliens are currently his top priority. Now Alice finds herself enrolled at a boarding school, the Minnetonka School for the Gifted and Talented, while all the news is focused on the nearby alien crash landing site. What will they discover when the aliens emerge from their UFO?

Alice is a great heroine! She has just enough quirkiness to make her interesting, and I absolutely love her sense of humor! Her relationship with her dad is refreshing to see in young adult literature as the two of them are close and caring despite their very busy schedules. However, it is Alice's loyalty to her friends and her determination to do the right thing that I love the most.

DARK ENERGY takes some unusual twists, but I particularly love Robison Wells's approach to the aliens. I was a little worried when Alice enrolled at the boarding school, but Robison Wells does a marvelous job at engaging the reader in the plot and keeping the aliens relevant to the storyline, even as Alice is adjusting and making new friends. My only disappointment with DARK ENERGY is that the conclusion of the book is truly the end. I don't see any hint of a series, and I'm just not ready to let go of the wonderful characters Robison Wells has created in DARK ENERGY.

DARK ENERGY is an unexpected surprise! I've read a couple books by Robison Wells and thoroughly enjoyed them, but DARK ENERGY just blew me away. The twists and turns give us a whole new perspective on aliens, and I highly recommend DARK ENERGY to any reader who enjoys aliens or science fiction stories. Don't miss out on reading DARK ENERGY as Robison Wells has crafted one heck of a great story for readers!

Learn more about Dark Energy

SUMMARY

We are not alone. They are here. And there’s no going back. Perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the I Am Number Four series, Dark Energy is a thrilling stand-alone science fiction adventure from Robison Wells, critically acclaimed author of Variant and Blackout.

Five days ago, a massive UFO crashed in the Midwest. Since then, nothing—or no one—has come out.

If it were up to Alice, she’d be watching the fallout on the news. But her dad is director of special projects at NASA, so she’s been forced to enroll in a boarding school not far from the crash site. Alice is right in the middle of the action, but even she isn’t sure what to expect when the aliens finally emerge. Only one thing is clear: everything has changed.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

 

Fresh Fiction contests

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+