April 1st, 2015
Home | Log in! or Register

Fresh Fiction
Todays_Pick
Fresh Pick
Cowboy Heaven

A SOUL FOR ATONEMENTA SOUL FOR ATONEMENT
On Top Shelf

Join Our mailing list:

April Best Reads

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Can a convicted criminal be trusted to help solve their case, or will he lead them straight into a double cross?


slideshow image
Can she restore his reputation or will he jeopardize hers?


slideshow image
Family, second chances--and the connections that bring women together in hope and healing. . .


slideshow image
Will this unlikely match prosper or fall to the shoals of the ton?


slideshow image
The Irresistible Italian: Married for Business


slideshow image
You'll never be the same


The Emperor's Conspiracy, December 2012
by Michelle Diener

Gallery Books
336 pages
ISBN: 1451684436
EAN: 9781451684438
Kindle: B007EDOSDG
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Kindle
Buy at WalMart.com


"An exciting Historical Romance perfect for fans of The Tudors!"

Fresh Fiction Review

The Emperor's Conspiracy
Michelle Diener

Reviewed by Lyn Nicholas
Posted January 3, 2013

Fiction | Historical

Napoleon? Thievery? Royalty? What an amazing plot is that?! THE EMPEROR'S CONSPIRACY is a romantic Historical Fiction with a twist of   intrigue.

Charlotte Raven is a strong smart and savvy woman. Once a lowly chimney sweep who was taken in by Lady Catherine Howe, Charlotte still feels for her friend and ex Luke Bracke, even though he is now involved in a major crime organization. Luke is dark and mysterious and Charlotte has a deep and complicated history with him.

But soon, Charlotte meets Lord Edward Durham, who is a secret agent for the Crown. The two share a strong and intense attraction, and can't seem stay away from each other. But suddenly Charlotte finds herself caught up in a conspiracy against England. Where does her heart lead her? Where does her mind lead her?

I find it so fascinating that that real facts and historical events were worked into this story. It was done seamlessly, and every part of it felt so real. The characters are so fully developed and the setting and background story are a perfect complement to each other.

THE EMPEROR'S CONSPIRACY is full of conflict and tension, both from within Charlotte's own mind and from the circumstances she finds herself surrounded by. It was so difficult to put this book down once I picked it up. I cannot wait to read more from Michelle Diener!

Learn more about The Emperor's Conspiracy

SUMMARY

Set in early nineteenth-century England, this vivid and romantic historical novel goes from the most elegant ballrooms of London to the city’s most tawdry slums, as a spirited young woman helps unravel a plot by Napoleon to bleed England of all its gold. Through good fortune, Charlotte Raven escaped the poverty of the London slums and is now an educated, wealthy Society lady. But she lives between two worlds, unable to completely turn her back on her old life—specifically Luke, her childhood protector and now a ruthless London crime lord.

When Lord Edward Durnham is asked to investigate the alarming movement of gold out of England, his search leads him to London, and his recent acquaintance with Charlotte affords him access to a dark world he barely knew existed. As they delve deeper into the underbelly of London, danger lurks at every turn, and Charlotte must navigate between her two worlds to save England. And soon she faces a defining choice: to continue in the familiar limbo she’s lived in for years, or to take a painful and risky leap toward a happiness she never thought possible.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

1 comment posted.

Re: An exciting Historical Romance perfect for fans of The Tudors!

Thank you for the lovely review~ Can't wait to read "The Emperor's Conspiracy"~ sounds like a Wonderful read! Happy Reading~ Cheers~ Elizabeth
(Elizabeth MacGregor 8:56am April 20, 2013)

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

 

Fresh Fiction contests

© 2003-2015 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+