July 23rd, 2014
Home | Log in! or Register

Fresh Fiction
Good Morning Texas
We Connect On
Todays_Pick
Fresh Pick
Until We Touch
WHAT THE GROOM WANTSWHAT THE GROOM WANTS
On Top Shelf
Sign up for Fresh Fiction News

Hot romance, blistering suspense in July

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
From Shadow Warrior...to hostage


slideshow image
A win-win negotiation?


slideshow image
Sometimes falling in love means going through the worst kind hell


slideshow image
Her lifelong search for home might be closer than she thinks!


slideshow image
An Inside Out Novella in Mark's POV


slideshow image
Texas Hot Zone Boxed set


slideshow image
The guy from the wrong side of the tracks...


slideshow image
She's going to break all of his rules...


slideshow image
Is she a victim or a terrorist?

The Emperor's Conspiracy, December 2012
by Michelle Diener

Gallery Books
336 pages
ISBN: 1451684436
EAN: 9781451684438
Kindle: B007EDOSDG
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Buy at Powells Buy at Barnes&Noble.com

Fresh Fiction Review

"An exciting Historical Romance perfect for fans of The Tudors!"

The Emperor's Conspiracy
Michelle Diener

Reviewed by Lyn Nicholas
Posted January 3, 2013

Fiction | Historical

Napoleon? Thievery? Royalty? What an amazing plot is that?! THE EMPEROR'S CONSPIRACY is a romantic Historical Fiction with a twist of   intrigue.

Charlotte Raven is a strong smart and savvy woman. Once a lowly chimney sweep who was taken in by Lady Catherine Howe, Charlotte still feels for her friend and ex Luke Bracke, even though he is now involved in a major crime organization. Luke is dark and mysterious and Charlotte has a deep and complicated history with him.

But soon, Charlotte meets Lord Edward Durham, who is a secret agent for the Crown. The two share a strong and intense attraction, and can't seem stay away from each other. But suddenly Charlotte finds herself caught up in a conspiracy against England. Where does her heart lead her? Where does her mind lead her?

I find it so fascinating that that real facts and historical events were worked into this story. It was done seamlessly, and every part of it felt so real. The characters are so fully developed and the setting and background story are a perfect complement to each other.

THE EMPEROR'S CONSPIRACY is full of conflict and tension, both from within Charlotte's own mind and from the circumstances she finds herself surrounded by. It was so difficult to put this book down once I picked it up. I cannot wait to read more from Michelle Diener!

Learn more about The Emperor's Conspiracy

SUMMARY

Set in early nineteenth-century England, this vivid and romantic historical novel goes from the most elegant ballrooms of London to the city’s most tawdry slums, as a spirited young woman helps unravel a plot by Napoleon to bleed England of all its gold. Through good fortune, Charlotte Raven escaped the poverty of the London slums and is now an educated, wealthy Society lady. But she lives between two worlds, unable to completely turn her back on her old life—specifically Luke, her childhood protector and now a ruthless London crime lord.

When Lord Edward Durnham is asked to investigate the alarming movement of gold out of England, his search leads him to London, and his recent acquaintance with Charlotte affords him access to a dark world he barely knew existed. As they delve deeper into the underbelly of London, danger lurks at every turn, and Charlotte must navigate between her two worlds to save England. And soon she faces a defining choice: to continue in the familiar limbo she’s lived in for years, or to take a painful and risky leap toward a happiness she never thought possible.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

1 comment posted.

Re: An exciting Historical Romance perfect for fans of The Tudors!

Thank you for the lovely review~ Can't wait to read "The Emperor's Conspiracy"~ sounds like a Wonderful read! Happy Reading~ Cheers~ Elizabeth
(Elizabeth MacGregor 8:56am April 20, 2013)

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

Bookmark and Share

 

 

 

 

Fresh Fiction contests

© 2003-2014 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Book Reviews Blog Directory Google+