April 20th, 2019
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
QUINNQUINN
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
BEACH HOUSE REUNION

No fooling, it's April books!

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Pick of the Day

 


Hills of Texas #2
Tule Publishing
August 2018
On Sale: July 30, 2018
Featuring: Rusty Walker; Williams Hill
ISBN: 1949068412
EAN: 2940162072225
Kindle: B07D3GR4WM
e-Book
Add to Wish List

Kindle

Read Kindle Preview

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple Books

Google Play

Rusty Walker has spent her entire life trying to earn her tough, ranching father's respect and approval by learning the business inside and out. But now her uncompromising parent has decreed she must marry if she wants to inherit. Worse, her husband has to be someone who can help her run the business. As if she needs it!

Williams Hill kissed Rusty in a bar in an act of temporary insanity, and lost his heart to her on the spot. Despite the complications to his own rodeo stock business, he agrees to marry the feisty red-head, hoping to woo her once they're hitched. But she only views him with suspicion and resentment.

Can this soft-spoken Texas cowboy convince his proud wife, who's never known unconditional love, that she is everything he wants?

Excerpt

Excerpt

"Hey."

Rusty caught a whiff of cigarette smoke hanging around the man who'd taken the stool beside her. She didn't bother to look over, keeping her eyes on her drink hoping he'd get the hint and go away.

No such luck.

He leaned forward and raised his voice. "Hey there, red."

She turned her head and could now see he was swaying slightly. He gave a slow blink, trying to focus, obviously drunk. Great. She didn't acknowledge the guy in any other way, but apparently looking at him was enough encouragement.

"Wanna drink?"

She held up her glass. "I'm good. Thanks."

"My treat when you're done with that."

"I'm leaving when I'm done with this." Maybe sooner at this rate.

He reached out and tugged on her arm. "Now don't be like that."

Rusty sighed. "I'm not interested." She couldn't be clearer than that.

The guy, who was good-looking enough—tall, blond, strong chin, and nice eyes—bristled visibly.

He straightened his back as his eyebrows lowered. "All I did was offer to buy you a drink."

She turned back to the one she already had. "Thanks, but no thanks."

"But—"

"Move along." She waved a hand as though shooing a fly.

He stood suddenly, his stool scraping along the wooden floor with a screech of protest loud enough to be heard over the music and chatter. In the mirror, several heads turned in their direction. Travis and Dave stood up, ready to intervene, but before they could do anything, and even before the jerk could say anything else, let alone touch her, a large hand landed on her shoulder and spun her around in her seat.

"Sorry I'm late, baby," the newcomer murmured.

Rusty only had time to register the new player in the scene was that Will guy with the blue, blue eyes before he leaned forward and kissed her.

She gave a little squeak of protest and he released her lips immediately. The sudden absence of warmth left her feeling slightly bereft, which was crazy since he'd barley brushed his lips across hers.

Before she could process what just happened, he leaned forward and whispered in her ear, "Follow along and we'll get rid of this guy."

Realizing he was now standing between her legs, she hid the shiver sliding down her spine by giving him a tiny nod. He pulled back and smiled down into her eyes. The blue of his eyes, up close like this, was nothing short of startling. The irises were rimmed in black which somehow made the blue even bluer. She could drown in those depths, like falling into the sky, or the deepest of oceans. She had the strangest urge to trace the cleft in his chin.

"Miss me?" he asked, loud enough for the ass on the other stool to hear.

"Of course," she purred.

Some small part of her brain registered that wasn't exactly a lie. She'd spent a ridiculous amount of time thinking about him given their two extremely brief shared moments. They hadn't even been properly introduced or exchanged more than a handful of words.

"Me too," he said as he lowered his lips to hers again.



Start Reading RESISTING THE RANCHER Now

Hills of Texas



Fresh Picks

Our Past Week of Fresh Picks


The Governess of Penwythe Hall THE GOVERNESS OF PENWYTHE HALL
by Sarah E. Ladd
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 19, 2019

In the first of a new series from beloved Regency romance author, Sarah Ladd, Delia, a governess to five recently orphaned children, would risk anything Read More »

A delightful story... Sarah E. Ladd is a sterling storyteller!

That Ain't Witchcraft THAT AIN'T WITCHCRAFT
by Seanan McGuire
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 18, 2019

The eighth book in the funny and fast-paced InCryptid urban fantasy series returns to the mishaps of the Price family, eccentric cryptozoologists who safeguard Read More »

The crossroads have come calling...

A Duke in Disguise A DUKE IN DISGUISE
by Cat Sebastian
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 17, 2019

One reluctant heir If anyone else had asked for his help publishing a naughty novel, Ash would have had the sense to say no. But Read More »

Even non-conformists deserve their happily ever after...

The Claiming Of The Shrew THE CLAIMING OF THE SHREW
by Shana Galen
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 16, 2019

What happens when a marriage of convenience isn't so convenient? Lieutenant Colonel Benedict Draven has retired from the army and spends most of his Read More »

How do you solve a problem like Catarina?

Gimme Some Sugar GIMME SOME SUGAR
by Molly Harper
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 14, 2019

A young widow returns to Lake Sackett, Georgia to face the ghosts of her past—and decide if she’s ready to take another chance Read More »

A perfect rom-com with Southern charm!

A Palm Beach Wife A PALM BEACH WIFE
by Susannah Marren
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 13, 2019

For readers of Elin Hilderbrand, a delicious and irresistible commercial novel set among the high society galas and gossip of Palm Beach. Amid the glamour Read More »

Palm Beach is no vacation for society dame

A delicious and irresistible novel set among the high society galas and gossip of Palm Beach!

The Memory House THE MEMORY HOUSE
by Rachel Hauck
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 12, 2019

Embracing the future means remembering the past . . . When Beck Holiday lost her father in the North Tower on 9/11, she also lost her memories Read More »

Bittersweet romances sparkle in the past and present...

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+