January 17th, 2019
Home | Log in! or Register

Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
SPARTAN PROMISE

New Year, New Books!

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Pick of the Day

 


A Novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna

Ballantine Books
July 2018
On Sale: July 10, 2018
464 pages
ISBN: 0425286169
EAN: 9780425286166
Kindle: B076GQKBCD
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Amazon

Kindle

Read Kindle Preview

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple Books

Google Play

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

IndieBound

Book Depository

Ripped Bodice

For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar.

Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule.

Narrated by the mother of Russia’s last tsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russia’s most compelling women, who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in its final years.

Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage—as her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victoria’s eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie—now called Maria—must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love.

Her husband’s death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas’s strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache.

From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it.



Start Reading THE ROMANOV EMPRESS Now



Fresh Picks

Our Past Week of Fresh Picks


To Ruin A Gentleman TO RUIN A GENTLEMAN
by Shana Galen
Featured as Fresh Pick on January 16, 2019

The true story of the Scarlet Pimpernel... Angelette, the recently widowed Comtesse d'Avignon, only invited Viscount Daventry to her country house party as a Read More »

Shana Galen dazzles with a true historical romance

The Magnolia Inn THE MAGNOLIA INN
by Carolyn Brown
Featured as Fresh Pick on January 15, 2019

New York Times bestselling author Carolyn Brown brings together two wounded hearts in a Texas romance of second chances and twice-in-a-lifetime true Read More »

A charming story set in a country B&B...

No Mercy NO MERCY
by Joanna Schaffhausen
Featured as Fresh Pick on January 14, 2019

Police officer Ellery Hathaway and FBI profiler Reed Markham take on two difficult new cases in this stunning follow-up to The Vanishing Season. No Read More »

Ellery Hathaway is back and she will show no mercy to those that have done wrong...

The Paragon Hotel THE PARAGON HOTEL
by Lyndsay Faye
Featured as Fresh Pick on January 13, 2019

The new and exciting historical thriller by Lyndsay Faye, author of Edgar-nominated Jane Steele and Gods of Gotham, which follows Alice "Nobody" from Prohibition Read More »

The Paragon Hotel offers her refuge, but for how long?

The Big Empty THE BIG EMPTY
by Stan Jones, Patricia Watts
Featured as Fresh Pick on January 12, 2019

Police Chief Nathan Active investigates a plane crash out in Alaska’s Big Empty—and what he finds there casts suspicion of murder on several Read More »

A bush pilot crashes on an Alaskan mountainside - pilot error or sabotage?

Just Once JUST ONCE
by Lori Handeland
Featured as Fresh Pick on January 11, 2019

What do you do when you are forgotten by the man you’ve loved for twenty years? What do you do if you are the Read More »

Coming to terms with the past is never easy, but what if part of the past can't remember?

The Uncompromising Lord Flint THE UNCOMPROMISING LORD FLINT
by Virginia Heath
Featured as Fresh Pick on January 9, 2019

Imprisoned by her past Set free by her enemy! Part of The King’s Elite. Charged with high treason, Lady Jessamine Fane’s under the Read More »

An exquisite and realistic romance between mortal enemies

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+