April 20th, 2019
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
SPARTAN PROMISESPARTAN PROMISE
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
BEACH HOUSE REUNION

No fooling, it's April books!

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Pick of the Day

 


A Novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna

Ballantine Books
July 2018
On Sale: July 10, 2018
464 pages
ISBN: 0425286169
EAN: 9780425286166
Kindle: B076GQKBCD
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Amazon

Kindle

Read Kindle Preview

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple Books

Google Play

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

IndieBound

Book Depository

Ripped Bodice

For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar.

Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule.

Narrated by the mother of Russia’s last tsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russia’s most compelling women, who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in its final years.

Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage—as her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victoria’s eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie—now called Maria—must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love.

Her husband’s death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas’s strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache.

From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it.



Start Reading THE ROMANOV EMPRESS Now



Fresh Picks

Our Past Week of Fresh Picks


The Governess of Penwythe Hall THE GOVERNESS OF PENWYTHE HALL
by Sarah E. Ladd
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 19, 2019

In the first of a new series from beloved Regency romance author, Sarah Ladd, Delia, a governess to five recently orphaned children, would risk anything Read More »

A delightful story... Sarah E. Ladd is a sterling storyteller!

That Ain't Witchcraft THAT AIN'T WITCHCRAFT
by Seanan McGuire
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 18, 2019

The eighth book in the funny and fast-paced InCryptid urban fantasy series returns to the mishaps of the Price family, eccentric cryptozoologists who safeguard Read More »

The crossroads have come calling...

A Duke in Disguise A DUKE IN DISGUISE
by Cat Sebastian
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 17, 2019

One reluctant heir If anyone else had asked for his help publishing a naughty novel, Ash would have had the sense to say no. But Read More »

Even non-conformists deserve their happily ever after...

The Claiming Of The Shrew THE CLAIMING OF THE SHREW
by Shana Galen
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 16, 2019

What happens when a marriage of convenience isn't so convenient? Lieutenant Colonel Benedict Draven has retired from the army and spends most of his Read More »

How do you solve a problem like Catarina?

Gimme Some Sugar GIMME SOME SUGAR
by Molly Harper
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 14, 2019

A young widow returns to Lake Sackett, Georgia to face the ghosts of her past—and decide if she’s ready to take another chance Read More »

A perfect rom-com with Southern charm!

A Palm Beach Wife A PALM BEACH WIFE
by Susannah Marren
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 13, 2019

For readers of Elin Hilderbrand, a delicious and irresistible commercial novel set among the high society galas and gossip of Palm Beach. Amid the glamour Read More »

Palm Beach is no vacation for society dame

A delicious and irresistible novel set among the high society galas and gossip of Palm Beach!

The Memory House THE MEMORY HOUSE
by Rachel Hauck
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 12, 2019

Embracing the future means remembering the past . . . When Beck Holiday lost her father in the North Tower on 9/11, she also lost her memories Read More »

Bittersweet romances sparkle in the past and present...

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+