December 7th, 2019
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Melinda LeighMelinda Leigh
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
SERGEANT'S CHRISTMAS SIEGE

Holiday Giveaways

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
New York Times bestseller Cleo Coyle's "delightfully twisty" new Coffeehouse Mystery.


slideshow image
She’s hiding from killers. Can she find a safe haven in Amish country?


slideshow image
With a heart torn between two men and two cities, what’s a girl to do?


slideshow image
Goode girls don’t lie…


slideshow image
Will an abandoned child bring them together? Or tear them apart?


slideshow image
This SEAL turned sheriff realizes there’s no rule or regulation he won’t break to keep his love safe.


slideshow image
He’s Hollywood’s hottest heartthrob…and her son’s secret father.



Finish off the year with great December reads


Barnes & Noble

Fresh Fiction Blog
Get to Know Your Favorite Authors

Kat Martin | Researching Columbia for THE CONSPIRACY


The Conspiracy
Kat Martin

AVAILABLE

Amazon

Kindle

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple Books

Google Play

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

IndieBound

Maximum Security #1

February 2019
On Sale: January 22, 2019
384 pages
ISBN: 1335541896
EAN: 9781335541895
Kindle: B07C14Q9M2
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Also by Kat Martin:
The Deception, September 2019
Add to review list
The Conspiracy, August 2019
Shadows at Dawn, August 2019
The Secret, June 2019
Add to review list

YouTubetwitterfacebookpinterest

Sometimes what you think is going to be a great idea for a novel turns out to be a whole lot of work!  That’s what happens when you realize the idea you are now in the middle of isn’t going to work the way you thought it would.

In THE CONSPIRACY, I got the idea for a book that started in Texas, moved to the Caribbean, and ended up in Venezuela.  With all the trouble country is having, I thought it would be a great setting for a Romantic Thriller.

Unfortunately, after I was well into the book and started doing the necessary research for that segment of the story, I realized the geography I needed and the rural setting didn’t exist in Venezuela.  I

I spent days digging around in South America, looking for a rainforest that could be reasonably reached from the Caribbean island of Aruba.  Nothing worked.

Finally, I realized there actually was spot that exactly fit the image in my head.  (This happens to writers all the time. No one knows why.) The spot was in Colombia, a place I had no desire to write about, but fit the story exactly.  

So I went to work researching a remote area of Columbia accessible from Aruba.  

Chase Garrett, the hero of THE CONSPIRACY, with the help of Harper Winston, the woman who hires him to find her missing brother, wind up in extreme danger in the  Columbian tropical forest. It’s a very unusual place that required hours of research, but in the end, it was worth it.

I had my work cut out for me, finding which animals, reptiles, and birds lived in the area.  Reading about the customs of the indigenous tribes, and the politic. Rebel armies inhabit the forest and they don’t like intruders.  

The research made THE CONSPIRACY one of the most challenging books I’ve written, but hopefully its one of my most interesting.  I hope you’ll look for THE CONSPIRACY, the first of my Maximum Security series, and that you enjoy.

Until next time, very best wishes and happy reading, Kat    

SPECIAL CONTEST from Kat: https://www.katmartin.com/the-conspiracy-giveaway/

To CELEBRATE the release of THE CONSPIRACY, enter my new contest for a chance to win a KINDLE FIRE 7″ Display, Wi-Fi, 8 GB and a Kindle copy of INTO THE FURY, INTO THE WHIRLWIND and INTO THE FIRESTORM. Contest runs from Jan 1, 2019 through Feb 28, 2019.  

January Contest: https://www.katmartin.com/monthly-contest/

For January, Kat Martin is giving away a signed hardcover edition of Book 3 in the AGAINST series, AGAINST THE SUN to celebrate the release of THE CONSPIRACY on Jan 22nd. NOTE: THE CONSPIRACY is not part of the prize.

Be sure to follow Kat for more giveaways and information about her upcoming books!

THE CONSPIRACY by Kat Martin

The Conspiracy
Perennial New York Times bestselling author Kat Martin returns to her Harlequin home with a brand-new series doing what she does best! Maximum Security is full of larger-than-life heroes and whip smart heroines caught up in high-stakes, fast-paced romantic suspense. Fans of Sandra Brown, Linda Howard, and Julie Garwood will fall in love with The Max.

As the wealthy owner of Maximum Security, Chase Garrett has made his share of enemies managing a team of private detectives, bail enforcement agents and personal security experts. Although risk is his stock in trade, when Harper Winston hires him to find her missing brother, Michael—his former best friend— dealing with the Winston family goes against everything he knows. No matter how attractive his new client, Chase knows all too well that the Winston family patriarch is mixed up in some deadly business, and suspects there’s more to Michael’s disappearance than meets the eye. In a fast-paced thriller that takes readers from the jungles of South America to sultry Miami and the dry Texas heat, Kat Martin returns with her hottest novel yet.

Romance Suspense [HQN, On Sale: January 22, 2019, Hardcover / e-Book, ISBN: 9781335541895 / eISBN: 9781488098901]

About Kat Martin

Kat Martin
New York Times bestselling author Kat Martin is a graduate of the University of California at Santa Barbara where she majored in Anthropology and also studied History. Currently residing in Missoula, Montana with her Western-author husband, L. J. Martin, Kat has written sixty-five Historical and Contemporary Romantic Suspense novels. More than sixteen million copies of her books are in print and she has been published in twenty foreign countries. Her last novel, BEYOND CONTROL, hit both big lists … NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST as well as the USA TODAY BEST-SELLING BOOKS LIST. Kat is currently at work on her next Romantic Suspense.

Raines of Wind Canyon | Brodies of Alaska | BOSS, Inc. | Trask Family | Texas Trilogy

WEBSITE | YOUTUBE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | PINTEREST

 

 

Comments

1 comment posted.

Re: Kat Martin | Researching Columbia for THE CONSPIRACY

Curious as to how many places you visit for the research. I
like to read historical fiction so I can also "travel" to
these places.
I just downloaded The Outlaw Ghost and really liked it.
Thanks for the short read.
(Leona Olson 9:55am January 29)

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy