July 31st, 2015
Home | Log in! or Register

Fresh Fiction
Todays_Pick
Fresh Pick
A Wish On Gardenia Street

THE BARON'S BETRAYALTHE BARON'S BETRAYAL

On Top Shelf

Sign up for Fresh Press

 

Barnes & Noble

 

 

 

 

 

Buzz from Overnight

Books and Authors in National Media

Recent Events | Today's Events | Search Media Events


13 - 24 of 300 ( prev | more )


Featured July 27, 2015
on Daily Show with Jon Stewart

The Wright Brothers David McCullough

The Wright Brothers
by David McCullough

Buy Book

Two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize David McCullough tells the dramatic story-behind-the-story about the courageous brothers who taught the world how to fly: Wilbur and Orville Wright. On December 17, 1903 at Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, Wilbur and Orville Wright’s Wright Flyer became the first powered, heavier-than-air machine to achieve controlled, sustained flight with a pilot aboard. The Age of Flight had begun. How did they do it Read More »



Featured July 27, 2015
on The O\'Reilly Factor

End of Discussion

End of Discussion
by Mary Katharine Ham, Guy Benson

Buy Book

How the Left's Outrage Industry Shuts Down Debate, Manipulates Voters, and Makes America Less Free (and Fun)

They want to shut you up. But don’t let this be the End of Discussion. In this fresh and provocative new book, Mary Katharine Ham and Guy Benson, dynamic Fox News and Townhall Media duo, expose how the Left exploits fake outrage to silence their political opponents—in public, on social media, at work, and even in their own homes. You’ve felt it and “End of Discussion” can help you fight it. The Read More »



Featured July 26, 2015
on All Things Considered

The Pine Tar Game Filip Bondy

The Pine Tar Game
by Filip Bondy

Buy Book

The Kansas City Royals, the New York Yankees, and Baseball's Most Absurd and Entertaining Controversy

An award-winning veteran sportswriter who personally covered the Pine Tar Game looks back and explores one of the wackiest events in baseball history.

On July 24, 1983, during the finale of a heated four-game series between the dynastic New York Yankees and small-town Kansas City Royals, umpires nullified a go-ahead home run based on an obscure rule, when Yankees manager Billy Martin pointed out an illegal amount of pine Read More »



Featured July 26, 2015
on CBS Sunday Morning

Masters of Sex Thomas Maier

Masters of Sex
by Thomas Maier

Buy Book

The Life and Times of William Masters and Virginia Johnson, the Couple Who Taught America How to Love

Now a New Showtime Original Series

Showtime's dramatic series Masters of Sex, starring Michael Sheen and Lizzy Caplan, is based on this real-life story of sex researchers William Masters and Virginia Johnson. Before Sex and the City and ViagraTM, America relied on Masters and Johnson to teach us everything we needed to know about what goes on in the bedroom. Convincing hundreds of men and Read More »



Featured July 26, 2015
on CBS Sunday Morning

The Science Of Kissing Sheril Kirshenbaum

The Science Of Kissing
by Sheril Kirshenbaum

Buy Book

What Our Lips Are Telling Us

From a noted science journalist comes a wonderfully witty and fascinating exploration of how and why we kiss. When did humans begin to kiss? Why is kissing integral to some cultures and alien to others? Do good kissers make the best lovers? And is that expensive lip-plumping gloss worth it? Sheril Kirshenbaum, a biologist and science journalist, tackles these questions and more in THE SCIENCE OF KISSING. It's everything you always wanted to Read More »



Featured July 24, 2015
on All Things Considered

A Not Too Greatly Changed Eden James Schlett

A Not Too Greatly Changed Eden
by James Schlett

Buy Book

The Story of the Philosophers' Camp in the Adirondacks

In August 1858, William James Stillman, a painter and founding editor of the acclaimed but short-lived art journal The Crayon, organized a camping expedition for some of America's preeminent intellectuals to Follensby Pond in the Adirondacks. Dubbed the "Philosophers’ Camp," the trip included the Swiss American scientist and Harvard College professor Jean Louis Rodolphe Agassiz, the Republican lawyer and future U.S. attorney general Ebenezer Rockwood Hoar, the Cambridge poet James Russell Lowell Read More »



Featured July 23, 2015
on Daily Show with Jon Stewart

Between the World and Me Ta-Nehisi Coates

Between the World and Me
by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Buy Book

“This is your country, this is your world, this is your body, and you must find some way to live within the all of it.”
 
In a profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history and ideals to the most intimate concerns of a father for his son, Ta-Nehisi Coates offers a powerful new framework for understanding our nation’s history and current crisis Read More »



Featured July 23, 2015
on Morning Edition

Dust Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor

Dust
by Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor

Buy Book

From a breathtaking new voice, a novel about a splintered family in Kenya—a story of power and deceit, unrequited love, survival and sacrifice. Odidi Oganda, running for his life, is gunned down in the streets of Nairobi. His grief-stricken sister, Ajany, just returned from Brazil, and their father bring his body back to their crumbling home in the Kenyan drylands, seeking some comfort and peace. But the murder has stirred memories long left Read More »



Featured July 23, 2015
on Fresh Air - NPR

Among the Ten Thousand Things Julia Pierpont

Among the Ten Thousand Things
by Julia Pierpont

Buy Book

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.
 
Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn’t mean to plunge his family into crisis Read More »



Featured July 23, 2015
on Fresh Air - NPR

Billy Bathgate E.L. Doctorow

Billy Bathgate
by E.L. Doctorow

Buy Book

To open this book is to enter the perilous, thrilling world of Billy Bathgate, the brazen boy who is accepted into the inner circle of the notorious Dutch Schultz gang. Like an urban Tom Sawyer, Billy takes us along on his fateful adventures as he becomes good-luck charm, apprentice, and finally protégé to one of the great murdering gangsters of the Depression-era underworld in New York City. The luminous transformation Read More »



Featured July 23, 2015
on The Chew

Roc and Roe's Twelve Days of Christmas

Roc and Roe's Twelve Days of Christmas
by Nick Cannon

Buy Book

Nick Cannon and Mariah Carey's twins, Roc and Roe, decorate their Christmas tree with their "pip" version of "The Twelve Days of Christmas." From an angel with sparkly, shiny wings to four skiing snowmen to twelve chugging choo-choos, Roc and Roe have a frolicking time getting ready for the holidays Read More »



Featured July 23, 2015
on The Chew

The Chew

The Chew
by The Chew

Buy Book

A Year of Celebrations - Festive and Delicious Recipes for Every Occasion

The five hosts of ABC's hit show The Chew invite you to celebrate a full year of holidays, events, and special occasions. From Thanksgiving to Mother's Day, and Christmas to the Fourth of July, Mario Batali, Carla Hall, Clinton Kelly, Daphne Oz, and Michael Symon are here to provide you with mouthwatering recipes, useful entertaining tips, and creative crafts to make your gatherings unforgettable, original, and manageable. In this third companion book, the Read More »




13 - 24 of 300 ( prev | more )

Fresh Press monitors more than 65 nationally broadcast television and radio programs and delivers a comprehensive listing of the books and authors featured in a daily newsletter. Sign up for Fresh Press by subscribing today.


Celebrate Small Towns in July's books

 

 

 

 

 

© 2003-2015 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+