August 29th, 2014
Home | Log in! or Register

Fresh Fiction
Good Morning Texas
We Connect On
Todays_Pick
Fresh Pick
Caroline's Secret
TWO WEEK SEDUCTIONTWO WEEK SEDUCTION
On Top Shelf
Sign up for Fresh Press
Bookmark and Share

 

 

 

 

 

Buzz from Overnight

Books and Authors in National Media

Recent Events | Today's Events | Search Media Events


13 - 24 of 300 ( prev | more )


Featured August 24, 2014
on Weekend Edition Sunday

The Long Way Home Louise Penny

The Long Way Home
by Louise Penny

Buy Book

Happily retired in the village of Three Pines, Armand Gamache, former Chief Inspector of Homicide with the Sûreté du Québec, has found a peace he’d only imagined possible. On warm summer mornings he sits on a bench holding a small book, The Balm in Gilead, in his large hands. “There is a balm in Gilead,” his neighbor Clara Morrow reads from the dust jacket, “to make the wounded whole.” While Gamache doesn Read More »

Gamache is back.... as past times and sins circle like deep dark treacherous whirlpools!



Featured August 24, 2014
on Weekend Edition Sunday

Kill My Mother Jules Feiffer

Kill My Mother
by Jules Feiffer

Buy Book

When three daunting dolls intersect with one hapless heroine and a hard-boiled private eye, deception, betrayal, and murder stalk every mean street in...Kill My Mother. Adding to a legendary career that includes a Pulitzer Prize, an Academy Award, Obie Awards, and Lifetime Achievement Awards from the National Cartoonist Society and the Writers Guild of America, Jules Feiffer now presents his first noir graphic novel. Kill My Mother is a Read More »



Featured August 23, 2014
on CBS This Morning

Blue Mind: Surprising Science That Shows How Being Near, In, On, or Under Water Can Make You Happy

Blue Mind: Surprising Science That Shows How Being Near, In, On, or Under Water Can Make You Happy
by Wallace J. Nichols

Buy Book

A landmark book by marine biologist Wallace J. Nichols on the remarkable effects of water on our health and well-being. Why are we drawn to the ocean each summer? Why does being near water set our minds and bodies at ease? In BLUE MIND, Wallace J. Nichols revolutionizes how we think about these questions, revealing the remarkable truth about the benefits of being in, on, under, or simply near water. Combining cutting-edge neuroscience Read More »



Featured August 23, 2014
on CBS This Morning

The Latin Road Home Jose Garces

The Latin Road Home
by Jose Garces

Buy Book

Savoring the Foods of Ecuador, Spain, Cuba, Mexico and Peru

Spanning cultures and continents, The Latin Road Home is a look back at the many food traditions that have shaped Garces’ culinary life. Beginning in Ecuador, ancestral home to his family and the foods nearest to his heart, Garces celebrates the traditional recipes of his childhood. The book makes its way through Spain, Cuba, Mexico, and Peru—extraordinary cuisines Garces has come to know, love, and master. He shares not only recipes, but colorful memories Read More »



Featured August 23, 2014
on Today

I'll Be Back Right After This

I'll Be Back Right After This
by Pat O'Brien

Buy Book

Pat O’Brien was a skinny South Dakota kid with long hair, a rock and roll band, divorced parents and an alcoholic father. In all the familiar ways, he was on the road to nowhere until a professor, who envisioned his future as the household name he would soon become, dramatically changed his life. From that day forward Pat’s life took turns that were both spectacular and destructive: from the Huntley-Brinkley Report and Read More »



Featured August 23, 2014
on All Things Considered

How We Learn Benedict Carey

How We Learn
by Benedict Carey

Buy Book

The Surprising Truth About When, Where, And Why It Happens

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives.
 
From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success. We’re told that Read More »



Featured August 23, 2014
on Weekend Edition Saturday

Kinda Like Brothers Coe Booth

Kinda Like Brothers
by Coe Booth

Buy Book

Jarrett doesn't trust Kevon. But he's got to share a room with him anyway. It was one thing when Jarrett's mom took care of foster babies who needed help. But this time it's different. This time the baby who needs help has an older brother -- a kid Jarrett's age named Kevon. Everyone thinks Jarrett and Kevon should be friends -- but that's not gonna happen. Not when Kevon's acting Read More »




Featured August 22, 2014
on CBS This Morning

Away from the White House

Away from the White House
by Lawrence Knutson

Buy Book

Presidential Escapes, Retreats, and Vacations

Larry Knutson's in depth and illustrated history tells the story of the presidential time spent "away from the White House." For 18th- and 19th-century presidents, a return to their plantations and farms signalled a "vacation." Our modern notion of a vacation emerged in the 19th century, when together with the desire to escape summertime Washington, presidents enjoyed the outdoors, train travel, and the presidential yacht on their escapes. In the 20th-century presidential Read More »



Featured August 22, 2014
on Today

Unretirement

Unretirement
by Chris Farrell

Buy Book

How Baby Boomers are Changing the Way We Think About Work, Community, and the Good Life

The budget battles of recent years have amplified the warnings of demographic doomsayers who predicted that a wave of baby boomers would bleed America dry, bankrupting Social Security and Medicare as they faded into an impoverished old age. On the contrary, argues award-winning journalist Chris Farrell, we are instead on the verge of a broad, positive transformation of our economy and society. The old idea of “retirement”—a word that means withdrawal, describing a Read More »



Featured August 22, 2014
on Morning Edition
50 Cent Challenge

Harry Potter And The Sorcerer's Stone J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter And The Sorcerer's Stone
by J.K. Rowling, Kazu Kibuishi

Buy Book

In Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, Harry, an orphan, lives with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley.

One day just before his eleventh birthday, an owl tries to deliver a mysterious letter the first of a sequence of events that end in Harry meeting a giant man named Hagrid. Hagrid explains Harry's history to him: When he was a baby, the Dark wizard, Lord Read More »



Featured August 22, 2014
on Morning Edition

The New Geography Of Jobs Enrico Moretti

The New Geography Of Jobs
by Enrico Moretti

Buy Book

We’re used to thinking of the United States in opposing terms: red versus blue, haves versus have-nots. But today there are three Americas. At one extreme are the brain hubs—cities like San Francisco, Boston, and Durham—with workers who are among the most productive, creative, and best paid on the planet. At the other extreme are former manufacturing capitals, which are rapidly losing jobs and residents. The rest of America could go Read More »




13 - 24 of 300 ( prev | more )

Fresh Press monitors more than 65 nationally broadcast television and radio programs and delivers a comprehensive listing of the books and authors featured in a daily newsletter. Sign up for Fresh Press by subscribing today.


Sizzling Hot August Reads

 

 

 

 

 

© 2003-2014 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Book Reviews Blog Directory Google+