January 21st, 2019
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
A TIMELESS CHRISTMASA TIMELESS CHRISTMAS
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
THE NOWHERE CHILD

Reviewer Application

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


New Year, New Books!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A marriage is forever, isn't it?


slideshow image
"A heart-melting story of forgiveness and second chances.” -Booklist


slideshow image
In 1920s Appalachia, two women investigate murder and fight for their community.


slideshow image
Hunting for the bad guys has never been so dangerous...


slideshow image
He broke the Man Code rule


slideshow image
What mysterious curse binds them?


Scrublands
Chris Hammer

Touchstone
January 2019
On Sale: January 8, 2019
384 pages
ISBN: 150119674X
EAN: 9781501196744
Kindle: B07GNVG79K
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Thriller

In the vein of The Dry and Before the Fall, a town’s dark secrets come to light in the aftermath of a young priest’s unthinkable last act in this arresting and searing debut thriller.

In Riversend, an isolated rural community afflicted by an endless drought, a young priest does the unthinkable, killing five parishioners before being taken down himself.

A year later, accompanied by his own demons from war- time reporting, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend. His assignment is simple: describe how the townspeople are coping as the anniversary of their tragedy approaches. But as Martin meets the locals and hears their version of events, he begins to realize that the accepted wisdom—that the priest was a pedophile whose imminent exposure was the catalyst for the shooting, a theory established through an award-winning investigation by Martin’s own newspaper—may be wrong.

Just as Martin believes he’s making headway, a new development rocks the town. The bodies of two German backpackers—missing since the time of the church shootings—are discovered in a dam in the scrublands, deserted backwoods marked by forest fires. As the media flocks to the scene, Martin finds himself thrown into a whole new mystery.

What was the real reason behind the priest’s shooting spree? And how does it connect to the backpacker murders, if at all? Martin struggles to uncover the town’s dark secrets, putting his job, his mental state, and his life at risk as more and more strange happenings escalate around him.

For fans of James Lee Burke, Jane Harper, and Robert Crais, Scrublands is a compelling and original crime novel that marks Chris Hammer as a stunning new voice in the genre. A compulsively readable thriller of the highest order, Scrublands never loosens its grip, from its opening scene to the very last page.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+