May 26th, 2019
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Jennifer EstepJennifer Estep
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
THE SUMMER RETREAT

Reviewer Application

Summer Kick-Off

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Let your reading bloom in May

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
He's stuck in the Past. She shows him their future.


slideshow image
Can they succeed in 1920s Hollywood with only friendship to rely on?


slideshow image
Years ago, they were in love.


slideshow image
Life can change in the blink of an eye...


slideshow image
The stakes have never been higher


slideshow image
Start of a new series


Josephine Baker's Last Dance by Sherry Jones

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Sherry Jones:

Josephine Baker's Last Dance, December 2018
Trade Size
The Sharp Hook Of Love, October 2014
Paperback
Four Sisters, All Queens, May 2012
Trade Size
White Heart, April 2012
e-Book
The Sword Of Medina, October 2009
Hardcover
The Jewel Of Medina, October 2008
Hardcover

Josephine Baker's Last Dance
Sherry Jones

Gallery Books
December 2018
On Sale: December 4, 2018
384 pages
ISBN: 1501102443
EAN: 9781501102448
Kindle: B07CLBPNKB
Trade Size / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Historical

From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.

Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker—actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world—in Josephine Baker’s Last Dance.

In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page.

With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today.

Awards

Fresh Fiction Box Not To Miss, Selection, December 2018

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+