September 21st, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
Tracy WolffTracy Wolff
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
COME BACK TO ME

Reviewer Application

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Great new reads in September

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
She is the only woman worth fighting - or dying - for...


slideshow image
Being irresistible isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.


slideshow image
After unspeakable torment, he's back to claim his bride


slideshow image
Morgan Dane’s new client has blood on her hands


slideshow image
With intelligence and wit, Kathy Lyons revolutionizes shifter romance


slideshow image
Another secret is revealed in Roseville...



Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by C.W. Gortner:

The Romanov Empress, July 2018
Hardcover
Marlene, June 2016
Hardcover
The Vatican Princess, February 2016
Hardcover
Mademoiselle Chanel, March 2015
Hardcover
The Tudor Vendetta, November 2014
Paperback
The Tudor Conspiracy, July 2013
Hardcover
The Queen's Vow, June 2012
Hardcover
The Confessions Of Catherine De Medici, June 2011
Paperback
The Tudor Secret, February 2011
Paperback
The Last Queen, May 2009
Paperback

The Romanov Empress
C.W. Gortner


A Novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna

Ballantine Books
July 2018
On Sale: July 10, 2018
464 pages
ISBN: 0425286169
EAN: 9780425286166
Kindle: B076GQKBCD
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Historical

For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar.

Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule.

Narrated by the mother of Russia’s last tsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russia’s most compelling women, who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in its final years.

Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage—as her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victoria’s eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie—now called Maria—must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love.

Her husband’s death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas’s strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache.

From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+