November 19th, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
VAMPIRE'S FAITHVAMPIRE'S FAITH
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
DEATH AND DAISIES

Reviewer Application

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


November Must Read Books

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
The digital apocalypse has arrived...


slideshow image
One night can change everything.


slideshow image
Sexy and rebellious Master vampire Ian finally meets his match!


slideshow image
She can see the desire burning in his eyes…


slideshow image
When their quests collide, will their dangerous deal lead to love?


slideshow image
A demon without purpose - until he finds love


Midnight Blue
Simone van der Vlugt

William Morrow
July 2018
On Sale: June 26, 2018
352 pages
ISBN: 0062686860
EAN: 9780062686862
Kindle: B071GKVC92
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Women's Fiction Historical | Historical | Thriller Historical

From Simone Van Der Vlugt comes her European bestselling novel of a young woman's rise as a painter in Holland's Golden Age—perfect for readers of The Miniaturist, Tulip Fever, and Girl with a Pearl Earring.

Amsterdam 1654: against the backdrop of Holland's Golden Age, a dangerous secret threatens to destroy a young widow's new life.

Following the sudden death of her husband, twenty-five- year old Catrin leaves her small village and takes a job as a housekeeper to the successful Van Nulandt merchant family. Amsterdam is a city at the peak of its powers: science and art are flourishing in the Golden Age and Dutch ships bring back exotic riches from the Far East. Madam Van Nulandt passes her time taking expensive painting lessons from a local master, Rembrandt van Rigin, and when Catrin takes up a brush to finish some of her mistress's work, Rembrandt realizes the maid has genuine talent, and encourages her to continue.

When a figure from her past threatens her new life, Catrin flees to the smaller city of Delft. There, her gift as a painter earns her a chance to earn a living painting pottery at a local workshop. Slowly, the workshop begins to develop a new type of pottery to rival fancy blue-on-white imported Chinese porcelain—and the graceful and coveted Delft Blue designs she creates help revolutionize the industry. But when tragedy strikes, Catrin must decide whether to defend her newfound independence, or return to the village that she'd fled.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+